Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Great time! Awesome location in the heart of the historic district!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by Wanell (Nell) Guyette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time in reviewing our property, we appreciate the feedback. And we hope to see you the next time you visit Savannah.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
lovely courtyard and hotel. very welcoming staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Wanell (Nell) Guyette, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate our guests and their comments. All of our guests are very important to us. We totally agree the courtyard is lovely and so welcoming. The staff wants every guest to have the best stay possible, thank you for mentioning them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Lovely. Great staff. Wonderful time during daily gatherings. Perfect location. Completely charming. We are planning to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by Wanell (Nell) Guyette, Hotel Management
Thank you for the time you took to write a review. We appreciate the feedback, we are so happy you enjoyed our daily gatherings in the parlor. Looking forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayce

Step back in time

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The service was wonderful. We felt like honored guests! Couldn't ask for a better weekend!
Location: In walking distance to everything in the historic district. We enjoyed dining at the Olde Pink House, sight-seeing, shopping, and visiting River St.
My husband surprised me with a weekend stay at the Eliza Thompson House. What a great antebellum Inn! On the prettiest street in the historic district. Beautiful oak trees, cobbled streets, and gracious homes surrounded us! I loved the historic ambience of our surroundings and our room complete with fireplace and canopied bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by Wanell (Nell) Guyette, Hotel Management
We are happy you enjoyed your surprise and that we could be part of the experience. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write a review, our guests are very important to us and we value their input. Again, Thank You.
5 out of 5
by Gwyn

Spending my Honeymoon at The Eliza Thompson House

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at The Eliza Thompson House. Everything was perfect!! I had stayed there once before, and enjoyed it so much. That is why I chose it this time to spend my Honeymoon. We will definitely stay there again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy that you chose to stay with us for your Honeymoon, and that we did not disappoint you. Our returning guests are more like family than guests, we strive to make each stay a little better than the last. See you again on the 1st Anniversary celebration or sooner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ossining, NY

Charming inn - would return

Posted Jan 31, 2017
We had a very pleasant experience at the Eliza Thompson and would return. The staff are incredibly gracious and helpful. The main house parlor room is beautiful and seemed to exemplify what we had envisioned for a Savannah inn. (Don't know if that would help all readers, but perhaps you get the point.) We very much enjoyed spending time and chatting with the other guests at the early evening wine and cheese hour. The Eliza Thompson attracts a nice and friendly type of traveler. The inner courtyard is also quite pretty. The breakfast is substantial. The rooms are a little dated, but comfortable. You will have a nice experience here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by Wanell (Nell) Guyette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review and mentioning the staff. And also for taking time out of your day to post it. We appreciate each of our guests and want them all to feel at home with us. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Savannah
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Perfect weekend getaway

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Southern hospitality at it's finest. Wanell, Kelly, and the rest of the staff were so warm and friendly you felt more like family than guests. They definitely helped make our stay in Savannah a cherished memory. They honestly will exceed your expectations. Great service, great accommodations, great people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by Wanell (Nell) Guyette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time in reviewing our property, we strive to make each guest feel like family, because to us you are. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Savannah.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

Charming and Well-Located

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The location and atmosphere.
Cons: Room temperature was a little difficult to regulate, bathroom could use some updating.
Location: The inn is located within walking distance of everything in the historic district. You can be anywhere within a 20-minute walk (at most).
I would definitely stay at the Eliza Thompson House again. The location is excellent, the property is well-taken care of and comfortable. The staff is wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Wanell (Nell) Guyette, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we truly appreciate the feedback, and we look forward to your return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

A gorgeous place to experience historic Savannah!

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, charm, concierge, wine & cheese and dessert.
Cons: Staffing
Location: Tour every historic mansion, visit Mickve Israel, dine at The Olde Pink House (and make sure to take time for the Tavern and the entertainment)!
The Eliza Thompson House was located at the perfect address for walking, touring, dining, sightseeing..you name it. The opportunity to meet other guests over wine and cheese each evening and then dessert later on was quite a nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful, but not good for vegetarians or lactose-intolerant diners (think cheese eggs, sausage/bacon and buttery grits). Kelly, the Concierge, was an absolute delight! She was cheerful and helpful and really seemed to care about us. She was focused on making sure we had the best time possible during our stay, at the Inn and everywhere in Savannah. Unfortunately, the customer care employee who took over for Kelly was disinterested, lacked caring and was downright rude. Every time we walked in she asked if we were checking in - after the FOURTH TIME, it was really apparent that her job was not to serve as a concierge nor even to pay attention to the guests. She couldn't answer our questions (actually, she seemed not to want to be helpful) and she seemed totally depressed. The contrast was striking and really soured the end of our experience. I hope the management recognizes this and finds a more welcoming staff all around. The bellman was also wonderful - he's a keeper!
5 out of 5
by Jolene

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful statement about our staff. We are happy that we could be of assistance. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Savannah.