Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Very close to beach. Friendly helpful staff

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Arrived with a group of two other friends. We brought two cars since one of us came for business in savannah. Apparently you can only get one parking permit per room which kinda sucked. Had to pay for street parking for four days even though it says free parking under info (not limited). Microwave in the room didn't work and the 2nd night our fire alarm started beeping at the crack of dawn. Staff was very friendly and helpful however.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Pools are in the parking lot; room wasn't cleaned

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The room we were assigned hadn't been cleaned - there were towels strewn all over and there was still a cot sitting out by the beds. When we returned to the front desk, the attendant switched our room assignment while talking with his coworker on the phone and didn't offer an apology or anything to make up for the inconvenience. The pools are in the middle of a sad parking lot, definitely not on the beach as the photos would lead you to think. We got out of there as soon as we could. The housekeeper lady who we saw on our way out was very friendly, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: The bathroom/shower needs remodeling. Sheets were worn out.
View of the beach was great. Weather was winter like so we didn't make it to the beach. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. The bathroom shower/bath needs updating. The bathtub area and the caulking is disgusting. Our housekeeper was very nice. She helped a roaming toddler to find her parents. Two other housekeepers helped. The little girl felt safe. The office staff was very helpful. Thank you for our visit. We were disappointed the weather ruined our visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Across a parking lot from beach

Posted Mar 17, 2017
They have a nice website. The photos look really good. There are some interesting playtime eat nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, Tennessee

Wonderful View, Pleasant Hotel, Good Experience

Posted Mar 16, 2017
This was a nice comfortable hotel with a great view of the beach! Not the BEST hotel due to renovations, but VERY clean, quiet, and enjoyable. Good for someone looking for a place to sleep and lay off the beach of the town life!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Disappointed for the money!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
so very disappointed, no restaurant (like the sign at the road indicated), no laundry on premises, bath room smelled like soured water in the drain until we rain water in sink, shower and toilet, shower head was miserably lacking, balcony door locked with a bar in the tracks ... for the money per room expected way more than this ... if it was half the price might have understood some of it ... motel 6 probably had the same to offer at half the price ... will not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Nice hotel. Room was a little musty smelling when we entered the room. But overall..not a bad hotel. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient and clean

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Very convenient to the beach and a great price for the location. Hotel staff were all friendly... everyone, not just the front desk, but room service and maintenance. All had a smile on their faces and were very pleasant. It's not the most up to date hotel, but definitely worth it! I enjoyed my stay and will definitely be going back! Thank you Hotel Tybee! You all worked very hard to make our stay comfortable. Thank you all for being so friendly and helpful! That makes a huge difference when looking for a place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ga

Loved the location. Right next to the pier.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: close to the pier
Cons: bathrooms need updating. A letter from the owner said it was planned but with the hurrican last year the update was delayed. I would stay again
Location: not much to do but be on the beach. like the crab shack for carb boil dinner 4 miles away. If you park in any city lot be sure to pay for parking.
Nice hotel next to the pier. we stayed in a partial room oceanview which means your onthe 2nd of 4 floors. if you want to see the beach just above the dunes and save a little money this room works. if on the 1st floor no view and in front of the city parking lot. overall the room was clean. the hotel is trying to update and i would stay again if in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by donna, Hotel Management
Steven..thank you so much for staying with us. On July 31st, we celebrated our second anniversary of owning Hotel Tybee. Since purchasing the hotel, my team and I have been working around the clock making huge improvements and re-inventing the entire hotel. Yes, Hotel Tybee suffered more than two million dollars in damage during Hurricane Matthew. Money we had set aside to upgrade our bathrooms went toward repairing and opening the hotel. Our goal is to attack our bathrooms this coming November and move closer to our original vision for Hotel Tybee. More now than ever, Hotel Tybee is a genuine labor of love for my entire team. We still have plenty of "opportunities" for improvement, but are thrilled with our accomplishments. We would really appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and helping spread the word of our progress. I hope to serve you and your family for years to come! Thanks again...safe travels. Donna, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Beds are very comfortable room was clean right on the beach. I would stay here again no complaints