Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Beach Valentines getaway!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Location is great! Amenities could be better. The pool was closed for renovation, and no hot tub,the restaurant was closed too. Also, ocean view rooms should be made available upon request during off season at no charge! We had come down to Tybee Island for our 35th Valentines and asked if there were any ocean view rooms available. We were told yes, but it would be more money. I could see if it was pick season and all the amenities were available, but it was practically empty. Also the light bulb in our room doorway was missing, had to turn on bathroom light to get things out of closet. Told the maid, who said to inform front desk. Spoke to the front desk, who said it would be replaced. Never got a bulb! Other than that very convenient to local eateries and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta, Ga

Rest and relax.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: We really didn't get out, we just rested.
My wife and I went for a restful l get-a-way and that's exactly what we got. We will be going back, often.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from waterloo ontario

A upgraded would have been appreciated

Posted Feb 11, 2017
I arrived and was checking in and ask for the best room possible and as high as possible and was given what I paid for, but as the hotel was empty and only a few car in parking lot it felt that they did not appreciate my business of a five day stay in not upgrading my room as this is their off season and would not been a inconvenience to their business and would of made up for lack of restaurant that was closed due to repairs being needed from hurricane in the hotel. The hotel itself was fine with easy access to the beach and being in a good state of repair with comfortable beds and balconies but could use better coffee makers. So on the whole I would recommend this hotel if you want to be on the beach and have easy access to Savannah a 20 minute drive away
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Staff and rooms

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Bed was good
Cons: Clean Clean
Location: Location was good as far as being close to the peir
The staff did not clean bathrooms good. They didn't leave new soap, and one day didn't leave us rags. The shower curtain was moldy. And last for the one's that have kids and will understand, there is public parking between the beach and hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Close to beach

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Cons: Hotel staff attitude
Hotel staff was not accommodating to a simple request to have a 1 hour extension late check out. This was not prime season for their business and the wanted to charge 1/2 day for the room. So had to check out since was participating in the CRITZ 1/2 marathon and could not depend on that would be able to get back in time without being charged. I would not recommend to stay there in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pooler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
We found trash in the room. The view was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phenix city, Al

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The hotel was great. Close to the beach close to great places to eat. The staff was awesome. The bed was very comfortable. My only complaint is no back doors. Its on the beach but doesn't have doors leading to the beach. So you have to go to the front of the building and then walk around the building to get to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Big hotel by the beach

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Great place to visit, about two blocks from the Marine Science Center. FYI the hotel was damaged during the hurricane and the onsite restaurant is closed, but several other restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Perfect location for beach lovers

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect for beach enthusiasts and bike rentals are available nearby for exploring.
Cons: A breakfast should be available either complimentary or for purchase.
Location: The hotel is located on Tybee Island, so dolphin tours or a trip to Fort Pulaski are on the island.
The hotel is located right at the beach which is very confinient. The room was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Complimentary coffee was available in the reception area. Restaurants and shops are in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Brett, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing all your positive feedback. On July 31st, we celebrated our second anniversary of owning Hotel Tybee. Since purchasing the hotel, my team and I have been working around the clock making huge improvements and re-inventing the entire hotel. Unfortunately, Hurricane Matthew was a major step backwards for us. The hotel suffered more than a million dollars in damage. More now than ever, Hotel Tybee is a genuine labor of love for my entire team. We still have plenty of "opportunities" for improvement, but are thrilled with our accomplishments. We would really appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and helping spread the word of our progress. I hope to serve you and your family for years to come! Thanks again...safe travels. Brett, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The hote was centrally located to the beach and restaurants. The bathroom needed updating.