Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macon Georgia


Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: .
I enjoyed my stay at Howard Johnson's. It was nice........
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah, Ga.

Hotel close to I-95 and 204. Ideal location.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The cleanliness of the room. They need pest control.
Location: There is an outlet across the street and countless restaurants to choose from.
When we walked into the first room we were given we were met by countless roaches at the door. We went back to the front desk and requested another room. We went to the second room we were given and did not see any roaches crawling around in the room, We opened the mini-refrigerator and there they were. We were disappointed because we thought Howard Johnsons was a great hotel. The staff was very nice but the rooms were not. The bathrooms were not very clean either.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mold on furniture

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Used sheet. Mold. Sex stains on mattress cover. Hair at the foot of the bed on used sheets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario


Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to from the highway
Cons: See above
Location: Too far from Savannah and close to a major highway.
Breakfast was poor not very much to choose between mostly sweets. I had a lot of trouble with my vi-fi connection and asked the front staff several times to help me but got no help. I had to go to the breakfast area to use my lpad the vi-fi would not work in my room. Also it is far away from Savannah about 12 miles and if you don't have car to get around I am not sure how you would get in there maybe taxi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from savanah ga

Don't stay there

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Room was dirty and had a bad odor. Had to purchase Febreeze to deal with the odor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah Georgia

Had power during hurricane.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Rims are accessible outside of the hotel which is a little disturbing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Needs to step it back up.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Hotel check in was easy. The young lady at the front desk mad the check in fast and that's never been a problem. I was put in a room that had handicap access however, and didn't understand why. I didn't know until I used the restroom and by then it was too late to swap rooms. The room was clean but the bathroom was my main issue. The toilet leaked when you flushed it (yuck!) and the shower left water EVERYWHERE after use because they didn't build it properly for clean drainage. I had to keep towels on the floor so it didn't go everywhere. And the owners weren't too happy to give away towels at all. So I had to have cold wet towels on the floor for the time I was there and that was disturbing. This place is usually good because it's a great value for the price. But now I'm rethinking if I should come to this property at all anymore.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever. Mold and roaches in bathroom

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Bathroom was dirty, rooms are being renovated but there was debris all over the place. Breakfast was the worst. Bad coffee and stale bread. The front desk person had an attitude when we asked for bread. She was busy with her phone. i would never ever stay there even if it was for a few hours of sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
There was no shower curtain or stopper for the tub and roaches crawling on ac unit and on the wall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL & NJ

They lost my reservation

Posted Aug 14, 2016
When I got to the hotel they said that they had no rooms and no reservation for me. I had to drive to another state to get another hotel that evening. The woman at the reception was not at all nice about it either. HoJo has never been a nice experience for me and they always seem to claim that nothing is their fault. This is the last time I ever make a reservation at this chain since every time it has been a disaster and now it is just courting fate. Expedia got me another hotel room at another chain that was nicer and less expensive.