Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Good spot for a few nights

Posted Jan 12, 2017
We booked two nights and stayed a third as it is about an easy 10 minute drive to downtown Savannah and the price is right. The room is large and clean. The only comment I would make is that the bathroom (cigarette burns in tub and starting to mould in corners) could use an overhaul. The water and pressure were great so no real complaints. Overall a decent place to stay. Breakfast included oatmeal, toast, bagels, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea and staff is very friendly. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Breakfast quality not good, top up very slow so end up no food available on he table.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
I would prefer not to be forced to write a review just so that I can submit the brief review above.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NW Florida

Non Efficient

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Arrived 10PM after 8 hour Drive. TV in first room didn't work. Waited hour for Person to come to room. They decided to move me to next room. Waited another hour for key to that room before it arrived. I lost 2 hours plus needed sleep. That was explained. Phone in room #2 didn't work. I could not leave the room to go to front desk. Could not call. Staff was nice but not considerate of this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
We truly regret that our accommodations did not meet your expectations but mostly we regret that we were unable to resolve the issues to your satisfaction while staying with us. Your review will be shared with our management staff. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from savannah ga

Nice hotel very close to the hospital

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Carpet needs updating and the back wall is red that I feel may look better with a light brown color but overall I was satisfied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The location, price and friendly staff.
Cons: Microwaves in quest rooms would be GREAT.
Our overnight stay was great. The room was clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a decent hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The front desk associate was EXCELLENT! Very happy and welcoming.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from savannah ga

Location is good. Upkeep quite poor.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Was given a room on the very last row in the last block of rooms. Luggage got wet with so many potholes. Entering room I felt the awful smell of mold. Thought I could ride it out but after half an hour I was ready to leave! I was dead tired so I called the front desk. The man in charge of front desk that night was excellent! He totally understood and gave me another room upstairs in front building. I then used vending machine. Put in the money and product got stuck. It didn't drop so I could not have it. Went back to the room to call and couldn't! The phone cord was detached and did not work. So I had to go downstairs in pj's to see the front office man. He came up with me and proceeded to bang and shake the machine to no avail. The product kept hanging without dropping into the chute to pick up. Down I went with the guy who proceeded to give me my money back. I wish, however, to commend this man whose name I did not memorize. Had it not been for him, I would just have forfeited my payment and would have gone to a different place. I have stayed at several La Quinta in the country and in general my experience has not been grand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your compliments of the front desk staff. We are happy that you were provided great service. However, we are very sorry that you had such a negative experience while staying with us. Please note that this information has been passed on to our management staff. Rest assured we are doing everything we can to improve our hotel. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

used this hotel while in savannah on business.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: location was good
Cons: With a good location I would tear it down and build another hotel.
Location: Tourist but in my case the Coast Guard Base was not far away,
This is a very old hotel that is not very well furnished. I would put this hotel at the same level as a Motel 6. It is nowhere near the standards for this chain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that this information has been passed on to our management staff to ensure improvements are made. We very much appreciated your business and thank you for staying with us. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne , FL

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Nice hotel - Clean rooms - Pets stay FREE ! A+******++++++