Ratings based on 2,136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel with a convenient location

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Update the bathrooms and the dining room
Location: See above
I stayed at Planters for a three-day weekend. It worked out well. It has more local charm than a chain hotel. The location in the historic district was excellent--it's close to so many things. When I saw the less convenient locations of some of the more posh, and expensive hotels, I was happy that I had picked Planters. Yes, it's next to a parking garage and most of the rooms have that view--but I didn't go to Savannah to sit in my hotel and look out the window. No, the breakfast isn't gourmet--but it hits the spot for a day of walking around the beautiful city and there are many restaurant options They offer wine and cheese in the evening and warm cookies--an nice touch. Planters is across from beautiful Russell Square and next door to a popular historic restaurant. I felt it was a fine place, offering good value. I got my weekend of southern cham with the conveniences of New York. I'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

A hotel with distinct character

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Friendliness, convenience, cleanliness
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Located in the middle of the historic district there are parks, museums, restaurants, and shopping all within easy walking distance.
Exceptionally clean, comfortable and convenient, the Planter's Inn is located within walking distance of most of Savannah's downtown attractions. From the online check in, which offered arrival before noon, to a smooth and effortless checkout everything was of the highest standard. A hearty breakfast was included with the room and valet parking provided at a reasonable rate. Most highly recommended. We look forward to our next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location and staff

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Staff was great as was location. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to attractions

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Picked the hotel because of its location so we would have the ease of walking to all the sights. You have to pay for parking and the free breakfast was horrible. Room was comfortable and staff nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, MA

Convenient for walking

Posted Jan 13, 2016
The exterior of the Planters' Inn is not particularly attractive, but once you enter it is very different. The lobby is very inviting and we enjoyed talking to other guests during the wine and cheese service in the pre-dinner hour. The room was clean but rather cold, and it was hard to get the heat regulated. The bathroom had a vent, but very little heat was produced. The halls and breakfast room seemed to have no heating. In January (when we stayed) this is a problem. Our room with its view of a parking garage, didn't have the charm I was led to expect, but the bed was comfortable which is what counts. Although this is an old hotel, the curtains, carpeting, upholstery, and other fabric items seemed fresh and relatively new. The staff were very accommodating- making dining suggestions and reservations and storing our luggage after check out so that we could spend the day touring the historic district. The concierge will also make tour arrangements if needed. The buffet breakfast, although not gourmet, was very good. Over all, I enjoyed my stay at the Planters' Inn. The price was reasonable for the convenience of staying in the middle of the historic district and I would recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

The price of convenience

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Access to the primary tourist areas
Cons: Remove the parking garage if not too much to ask. NIMBY svp .
The effort to preserve older waterfront Savannah and the walking neighbourhoods of historic public squares is essential to their tourism income. To manage the traffic influx and preserve the street scenery the city has constructed several semi high-rise parking facilities, some of which they have managed to minimally disguise with brick and masonry facades, so as not to be overly intrusive. Unfortunately the least attractive of all has landed directly beside the Planter's Inn and dominates its entire block of 6 or 7 floors of windowed rooms. Location is still convenient to the Riverside and older city core but is unfortunately overshadowed by this concrete and steel mesh eyesore, even though carefully not seen in the on-line photos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laramie, WY

Great hotel in Historic Savannah

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Wonderful hotel in walking distance of Historic Savannah, and river front. Staff was very friendly and informative!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great area for viewing beautiful Savannah

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Quaint, lovely area and well decorated and restored
Cons: Heat in reception area,
Location: Location excellent near most of the squares, shops cinemas etc
Very friendly and helpful, but reception area for the lovely complimentary wine was much too cold otherwise the stay well worth it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Perfect, quiet getaway

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
This was everything I wanted in our hotel. It was a nice building right on Reynolds square, close to both River Street destinations as well as historic downtown/city market. The hotel staff was nice, the room was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was very quiet... even with it being a hectic new years holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel . Perfect location

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Nice hotel. Spacious rooms . Good breakfast and cocktail. Close to restaurants, shops and historical sites. We would stay there again for sure.