Ratings based on 2,581 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from clearwater, fla

nice historic hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: historic district
Location: river walk, old historic buildings and homes. Touring rides
We love to stay at old historic hotels, and this one fits the bill. Located next to the river and beautifully decorated. They let us park for free, which we appreciated. We walked to the old streets and riverwalk. The room was not cleaned when we walked into it, but the staff quickly had it cleaned for us. I recommend this hotel. Priced reasonably.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ladera ranch ca

Loved it!

Posted Dec 6, 2016
This hotel encompasses the whole feel of Savannah. It was warm and cozy and the decor made me feel like I was back in time. We had a river view room with a balcony. Although the balcony was small it was perfect just to step out and see the river walk below and the view of the river. The bed was comfortable and the room was roomy. The lobby and common areas were really nice with antique furniture and it was decorated for the holidays. We loved it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Historical hotel in perfect location on the river

Posted Dec 2, 2016
This hotel has some beautiful architectural details throughout, including lots of exposed brick, stone walls, antique furniture, hardwood floors, and floor to ceiling windows with amazing views. Our room was facing the river. Walls were very thick and made for nice quiet nights. Beds and pillows were super comfortable. There was a manager's reception each night we were there, which included free wine and appetizers. We enjoyed bacon wrapped quail, crab dip, shrimp salad, and spiced chicken kabobs with peanut sauce. There was an adjoining room with a pool table and a game table with a chess set which we enjoyed also. The things we didn't enjoy (but still didn't ruin our experience): 1) they ran out of regular coffee and only had decaf to distribute to the rooms the whole time we were there. 2) the hair dryer in our room was very weak, I would definitely bring my own next time. 3) No iron and ironing board in the room, but you could request one from the desk. 4) you have to use your card key to go anywhere in this hotel - and ours quit working multiple times, and took multiple passes to work each time. They need to give you a card key on a lanyard, because you have to use it every time you use the elevator or go in any door from the outside except the main lobby. i would still recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys hostoric buildings and wants to be able to be in the center of all the action in downtown Savannah.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Very lovely historic hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location, view, staff.
Location: So close to everything. Walk to all the squares that make Savannah unique. So many great restaurants and sites to see within a short walk.
The staff was immediately gracious and helpful on check-in. The room was a pleasure. Very large, nicely laid out with a cozy seating area and very comfortable bed and linens. The balcony gave an incredible view of the river and River Street below. It was truly spectacular and romantic. I can't wait to return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Our first trip as a couple!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
First trip togeter to Savannah! We love historic buildings, and to be right downtown was perfect for us to walk ,explore, experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great riverfront location

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Beautiful room. And the complementary happy hour is a nice plus!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Charlotte, United States of America

Great hotel...we will go back

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: just about everything, shops and restaurants were right there. No need to get your car.
wonderful charming old hotel. We had a little trouble with the room temperature but the hotel staff was so great in making sure we were comfortable. It's an old building so anything can happen, but the best part of this hotel besides the excellent staff was the old charm of the building. We loved it and will stay again on our next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Hotel is nice, a little confusing inside. Not a lot of hot water plus when neighbors showered you could hear, room was clean but had a musty smell.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando, FL

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Had a great experience from the welcoming staff and friendly smiles. The bellman especially stood out to us everytime we saw him he would greet us and offer any assistance! Outstanding service and we appreciate the hospitality. The hotel was very historic and definitely added to our Savannah trip. The rooms were clean and housekeeping was great during our 2 day stay. The location was perfect and within walking distance of all the great shops and the history that Savannah offers! Definitely will be coming back to Savannah to explore some more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta, ga

Disappointed since my previous visit was better

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I hate to give such a mediocre review but after staying at this hotel at least 5 times and absolutely loving it, this was the first dissatisfied stay. Reasons... Usually it's just me and my husband and our room was huge & beautiful but when I booked for 4 people the room was very small & not so nice. 3 roaches found in bathroom & mold on shower curtain. Also had no parking passes so we had a long walk to & from car. This was the only place we would stay but unfortunately we feel we must find another hotel for our next stay.