Ratings based on 1,064 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Excellent Location and Experience

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Helpful Staff, Clean rooms
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent restaurants and shopping all within the Historic District of Savannah.
My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at The Marshall House. The experience far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were clean and spacious but what really impressed us the most was the courteous staff. I will not hesitate to return and would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel close to everything!

Posted Jan 3, 2016
My husband and I had a lovely 2 night getaway to Savanah during the Christmas holidays. After struggling between staying at a B&B and a mainstream hotel, we settled on The Marshall House and were so glad that we did! It has the charm and attention to detail of a B&B, but gives guests the autonomy of a mainstream hotel. From the moment we set foot on the property to the moment we left, the hotel staff made us feel special and made sure that our every need was met. The only drawback for me was the lack of a fitness facility on the property. Although there was a gym with a daily rate down the street, I would have preferred an elliptical machine onsite to get in a short workout before indulging in all of the lovely Savannah restaurants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest Savannah stay ever

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Staff was incredible. Best service and kindness. Great valet service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best in Savannah

Posted Dec 31, 2015
We recently stayed at The Marshall House and it was better than expected. Rooms were very clean, beds very comfortable and the perfect location to be able to ealk everywhere. The continental breakfast was amazing as well as the wine and cheese in the afternoon . The staff was very friendly and nolegable about the area, can't wait to go back .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, AL

A very unique stay.

Posted Dec 29, 2015
A nice place to choose if you enjoy the character and uniqueness of a old and historic hotel. We brought a fan/noisemaker to mask the bustle I read about on other reviews. I'm happy I stayed here and had a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Lovely ambience in the heart of Savannah

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: The location of this hotel is perfect. It is in the heart of the historic district making it incredibly convenient to walk everywhere.
Cons: Breakfast selection and cleanliness of dishes.
Location: Tons to see and do nearby including historic homes, River street, shopping and a wealth of dining locations of all meal styles.
Great experience at this hotel. We made reservations for this hotel the day prior to arriving. Incredible staff at this hotel from the doormen, front desk, concierge and cleaning staff....everyone was very pleasant and accommodating. Our party size needed two beds and unfortunately, they were having trouble with the lock on the door for our room prior to our arrival. However, they immediately offered us two King rooms instead and we were only charged the original price communicated during our reservation process. In addition, they comped the valet fee as well. The two rooms worked out well for our party although if you had small children, this may not have been a great solution. The breakfast was plentiful with some hot items that changed each day and cold items like fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, oatmeal and other bread products. We did encounter some dishes that were not quite clean from prior uses. There was a hotel staff member visiting the breakfast tables to ensure everyone had secured their plans for the day and offering suggestions to those that needed them. I found this very hospitable and a great bonus. There is a great charm to this hotel that you do not get with the chain locations. We had a great visit to the Marshall House and would not hesitate to visit again the next time we find ourselves in Savannah.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville North Carolina

If you want convenience and history, stay here!

Posted Dec 23, 2015
I lived a few blocks from The Marshall House during college, so I was familiar with how convenient it is and was very excited to stay a night there on my visit. The room was much nicer than I expected, and free wine/cheese/Breakfast was a nice surprise! I absolutely loved it and will stay there every time I'm in town from now on if it's available. You really can't beat the value and convenience. If you're unfamiliar with the area, Broughton St puts you very close to all the best shopping, restaurants, and entertainment . Staying on this end of town is typically safer as well. My only complaint would be that the front desk staff was not as professional and hospitable as I would have expected. I was thinking service here would be more on par with places like The Mansion on Forsyth, etc., which is typically my favored place to stay. Bell staff was friendly, but the rest just seemed a little in their own world and not ready to engage with guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect downtown location.

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Internet
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Perfect location
Would definitely return, wonderful place to stay, relax, and ideal location for lots of walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Perfect

Posted Dec 8, 2015
We fell in love with the hotel the minute we walked in. Not only is it absolutely beautiful, but the staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming. Upon check in, we were asked if we were celebrating anything special. We informed them that it was our 5 year anniversary. Approximately 30 minutes after we were settled into our room, there was a knock at our door. The manager delivered a bottle of champagne on ice, with 2 glasses, and a card signed by all the staff who were working! Beyond that, all were very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations, and tours. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Charming hotel in middle of the historic district

Posted Dec 5, 2015
The Marshall House is a beautiful old building in excellent condition. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice warm feel to it. Breakfast included with the room was a nice addition. It was an ideal base for visiting Savannah.