Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: The location is very convenient.
Savannah is an exquisitely beautiful city. Personally, I prefer the architecture to its sister city, Charleston. The density of interesting architectural stock is high, and the town's layout and tree lined streets only adds to its charm. The experience was also one of visiting a great aunt who was trying to hold onto the family's social position even though their finances had long ago run dry. This characterized the stay at The Marshall House. The mattress was beyond the point of needing to be replaced, the bathroom sink had a large crack, etc. It was even difficult to find an outlet to recharge the cell phone. Each outlet was either inaccessible, or already loaded to a degree that the multiple extensions felt like the place could be a fire hazard. The staff was attentive, but not in the satisfying way. They incessantly asked about the experience, but the tone of voice indicated that they sought praise. This was particularly true at the morning breakfast where the table clothes were vinyl, the same could also describe the food, and the artwork was on loan and reminiscent of a school's students display. The experience was that of being representational, or borrowed, rather than being authentic. I found that sad in a town that's valued for its own rich history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel location & extremely pleasant staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Marshall House was a great experience - very friendly staff, perfect location - no complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Tradional, historic and elegant

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Sign in staff, bellmen, room quality
Wonderful experience with exceptionally warm, welcoming staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brady, ne

Posted Nov 17, 2016
It was perfect! The staff, the history, the room...all perfect! It's definitely a do-over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Charming hotel, the oldest in Savannah

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Great location in the heart of the historic district.
This hotel had lots of southern hospitality as well as being a part of Savannah's history. The first night we arrived the hotel had a complementary wine and cheese party with an interesting guest speaker who gave us all kinds of background on Savannah's history. Our room had a balcony overlooking the street, which was very nice. And the staff was extremely helpful as well as friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Plano, TX

Uh, did WE leave those lights on?

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Beautiful room, easily walkable - we didn't use our car for 2 days!!
Cons: There was nothing to dislike
Location: Across the street from Leopold's Ice Cream, Olde Pink House restaurant, just a few blocks to River Street and fun bars on Congress Street
This is a wonderfully elegant hotel in the heart of the Historic District... and considered to be highly haunted!! Easy valet parking, breakfast is served and conveniently located to all of the walkable attractions of this beautiful city. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, when we left to go out for the evening we came back and there were lights on that we didn't turn on - evidence of extremely thoughtful hotel staff or kind 'guests' who wanted to make our stay more incredible?! Book a room and enjoy your stay - it's worth the trip!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Amazing historic hotel! We stayed in a petite queen room and it was perfect for two people. My husband swears he heard ghosts in the middle of the night! Perfect location because everything is within short walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Centrally located, one block from Leopold's, the best ice cream ever!! The Pink House Restaurant is right around the block. Ate there twice!!!
The Marshall House was a perfect place to stay. Location was within 2 1/2 blocks from the river. You can basically walk to everything. The only downside was that I booked the Queen Petite, and boy the room was petite. Tried to upgrade, but they were booked. Valet parking is $24 a day. There is parking on the street, but you have to keep moving your car until 5pm when it than becomes free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hilton head island

The staff made us feel like family

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The entire staff worked with pride together making our stay such a memorable occasion.
Cons: There were such wonderful items I'd never even thought of, like the black washcloth for makeup and the nice robe,
Location: Location is perfect & the staff helped us find whatever we desired
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Lovely Old WORLD Charm

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Wonderful breakfast and wine and cheese hour with fellow guests.