Ratings based on 1,247 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff who are helpful in every way.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Lovely atmosphere and a well appointed room. Convenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Augusta, SC

Great hotel with lots of history.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: History, location and price.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location is superb. Walked everywhere.
We loved this place. Very simple and perfectly priced. The staff is very knowledgeable of the history and actually provided a short lecture on The Marshall House and how it survived the Civil War. Loved our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary weekend

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The most beautiful and comfortable hotel I've stayed in is The Marshall House. It was romantic and warming. It had an old vintage, romantic, rich feel. Although online states The Marshall House offers complimentary breakfast, they don't anymore. Other than that great! I'd like to see more hotel deals for this place. It was right on the busiest street downtown so no cars needed. Walking is great. The parking garage behind The Marshall House was safe and cheap ($1 per hour or $2 for the whole day on the weekend).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel, with all the modern amenities

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Warm welcoming staff, great location. Very clean and comfortable. Great bed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Hotel oozing charm and character.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The Marshall House is a great stay for those who are looking for a place with history! Rooms are not huge obviously since the place was built in the mid 1800s, but the hotel makes up for it in their staff which are the real Stars of the show! Great location in the heart of historic Savannah close to lots of restaurant options. Breakfast is fantastic with homemade quiche and was only around $10. My wife and I especially enjoyed our hostess Nikki at the wine and cheese receptions in the evening. Can't say enough about the staff who went out of their way to treat us like royalty!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in a charming city!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Location: There are museums highlighting area and international art, history, architecture, literature. Some places are closed during the winter. Check!
Everything about Marshall House is quintessentially charming! This is certainly old school. Located in downtown Savannah, the hotel was close to most locations. The lobby somehow bridges the gap between modern and old, and makes it a special place. The history of Savannah and the Marshall House is tied together, and it shows. The rooms might be a little tight, especially in the part of the hotel in which we stayed, but they show the character that is not found in the "airport" type of modern chain hotels. Amenities included wi-fi, $10.00 breakfasts (full breakfast including eggs, protein, grits, oatmeal, toast, coffee, buns.....)! This price could not be matched by any of the eateries around the area. The hotel provided twice-weekly lectures on Savannah, the hotel, and local history. In addition, wine, cheese, crackers were provided free of charge(!) every evening between 5 and 7 PM. One late afternoon, after extensive walking around Savannah, we returned to the hotel and discovered that the room had not yet been serviced. I called up just to find out by which time the rooms were supposed to be cleaned. The housekeeping person apologized and assured us the room would be cleaned up immediately. The next afternoon, we returned to find that the hotel had gifted us with a bottle of sparkling wine on ice, and two tulip glasses.The staff couldn't have been friendlier, more efficient, more acommodating. This is the kind of experience you can't find in modern hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: The location is very convenient.
Savannah is an exquisitely beautiful city. Personally, I prefer the architecture to its sister city, Charleston. The density of interesting architectural stock is high, and the town's layout and tree lined streets only adds to its charm. The experience was also one of visiting a great aunt who was trying to hold onto the family's social position even though their finances had long ago run dry. This characterized the stay at The Marshall House. The mattress was beyond the point of needing to be replaced, the bathroom sink had a large crack, etc. It was even difficult to find an outlet to recharge the cell phone. Each outlet was either inaccessible, or already loaded to a degree that the multiple extensions felt like the place could be a fire hazard. The staff was attentive, but not in the satisfying way. They incessantly asked about the experience, but the tone of voice indicated that they sought praise. This was particularly true at the morning breakfast where the table clothes were vinyl, the same could also describe the food, and the artwork was on loan and reminiscent of a school's students display. The experience was that of being representational, or borrowed, rather than being authentic. I found that sad in a town that's valued for its own rich history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel location & extremely pleasant staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Marshall House was a great experience - very friendly staff, perfect location - no complaints!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Tradional, historic and elegant

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Sign in staff, bellmen, room quality
Wonderful experience with exceptionally warm, welcoming staff