Ratings based on 1,277 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Last minute overnight

Posted May 9, 2017
We did not plan on staying overnight in Savannah so we were unprepared. The staff was so incredibly nice and put together a few toiletries for us. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. Will visit again and start here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Old Hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Wood floors, cabinets, updated electronics. The hotel had free drinks and snacks every afternoon. They have done a good job of restoring the hotel and the service was excellent. The a/c was loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Great service. Beds a little hard.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Good location. Great service. Beds a little hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Good location, historic building, close to everything you need to visit in Savannah. Good breakfast buffet for the price. Service at the bar was not good and we could not have dinner at their restaurant at 8:30pm the day we arrived, it was half empty but since they had a wedding going on they could not accomodate us. We had 2 hungry children. Not a good service at the hotel overall. People are not very nice here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Hugh Osborne, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review. Much of what you are critiquing is the 45 Bistro, separate from the Marshall House. I will pass these comments on to the owner and management there. Have a wonderful weekend, Hugh / GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blue Ridge, GA

Savannah's Beautiful Historic District

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff were efficient and friendly. Rooms had historic charm and everything was fresh and very clean. Wine & cheese in the afternoon was classy.
Cons: Some careful restoration.
Location: Great location: Broughton St. Close to shopping, restaurants, and squares filled with huge moss-covered trees and flowering azaleas. Walking-friendly.
This was a stop-over because of an important side trip. Only two days in the hotel. Love the city and met great people (other visitors) at the lively Collins Quarter restaurant, bartender Andrew, and the friendly and very accommodating GM. Also really enjoyed Vic's on the River with superb service (Drew) and wonderful lamb. Both walking distance to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you Dr Don! We really appreciate you staying with us and taking time to rate us on this site. When you can please help me with some specifics regarding your thoughts on the restoration. Best, Hugh / GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, historic hotel in a perfect location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
This hotel was perfect for our savannah stay. I was extremely pleased with the staff, who made us feel very comfortable and well taken care of. There is a historian that comes to talk to guests twice a week which was very interesting, and how we learned the Marshall House is the oldest hotel in Savanah! There is also complementary wine and cheese every night which just put this hotel over the top. It was also in a prime downtown Savanah location and was extremely gorgeous outside and in. The only downside was that you have to pay for parking ($15 a day) but for how much we payed compared to what we got with this hotel, we were fine with that! Also, I have a feeling other hotels in the historic district are the same way. Overall this hotel was a perfect combination of elegance, history, convenience, and comfort and I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in savannah! I was vacationing with my boyfriend and this hotel was perfect for a romantic getaway for a couple; it turned our stay from nice to wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Perfect downtown location

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The history of hotel - like Savannah itself, it is full of history and beauty.
Cons: The fan from the air conditioning was a little loud and never turned off. Also, the breakfast buffet was good, but wish it had been complimentary
Location: Within walking distance of all of the historic district, City Market and River Walk.
If you appreciate history, you will love this hotel. It has a long history and is in the perfect location to see all of the historic district, the City Market and the River Walk. We didn't rent a car and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel itself is just beautiful and has a lot of unique charm to it. The room was comfortable, the staff super friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice 19th century style building near good shops

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Cons: By the time you pay for meals and parking it's a little bit pricey for what is offered.
This is a pleasant facility situated close to lots of shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Convenient location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Convenient location in the heart of historic district
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Lots of upscale shopping, many excllent restaurants within walking distance, touring the historical district and riverfront.
As much as we loved the central location for dining, shopping, and touring, as pleasant as the staff was, we had issues with room cleanliness and housekeeping. However, we alerted management on this issue and expect that the housekeeping shortcomings will be resolved shortly as management was very responsive to our complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Room was uncomfortable due to large air conditioner on the roof next to our window. Both my husband and I had trouble sleeping. I think expedia has responsibility to warn those who use your service of possible problems with rooms. What is the point of a competitive rate if you are unable to sleep