Ratings based on 1,048 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located motel close to downtown.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
The Thunderbird is a throwback to times gone by. The decor is dated but the beds were comfortable and the staff was very helpful. It is centrally located with easy access to downtown Savannah.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Mark - General Manager, Hotel Management
We are about done with our renovation so nothing will be dated. I hope you come back to see us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pensacola

Wonderful for visiting the historic district.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Southern '60's Retro theme -- RC Cola and Moonpies in your room, popcorn and lemonade in the lobby, Krispie Kreme donuts for breakfast.
Cons: We arrived during remodeling, so any issues are probably resolved by now.
Location: The historic district is all around you; lots of museums and restarants.
We are an elderly couple, and we traveled by Greyhound Bus. The Thunderbird is directly across the street, so convenient. The Visitors Center and all the tour trolleys are just blocks away. They sent a shuttle to pick us up and brought us back; we never needed a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Mark - General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry you were here during renovation. We try very hard to have as little of impact as possible for our guests. I hope you'll come back and see all of the wonderful changes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Unique

Posted Jan 31, 2016
We booked because of the price and proximity to the historic district and waterfront area. We arrived super early and were allowed to park in the lot with no issues. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Our room was completely renovated, with lovely retro/mod touches. One note I must mention - the TV is HUGE. New, wall mounted flatscreen, and massive. We layed and bed watching tv, felt like we were at the movies! We also enjoyed our RC colas and Moonpies. I love this place, I would recommend it to everyone, and we will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Great locatiin but dirty and loud

Posted Jan 17, 2016
The location was great for the price but the room is very dirty. Our bathroom had hair everywhere and the tub had not been cleaned at all so we slaked twice to have it cleaned and it was never done. You also have to pay for parking which Expedia said parking was free? The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything - we had to leave the tv on at night just to drown out the neighbours.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I tried to save a buck

Posted Jan 17, 2016
I DID NOT like the idea of a hotel CHARGING me to park $7.50 a night to park there! Furthermore I did not like the pet stained carpet. I paid $91 par night; I feel like a complete idiot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pdx

Better than you think.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Convenient. Super convenient. Comfortable. Clean. Excellent water pressure. Donuts for breakfast! I will never forget this place for 2 reasons. It was cool; and just as I was about to take a picture of the Thunderbird sign I found out David Bowie died.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

did not expect to pay for parking

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Had frig.
Cons: Better breakfast
Location: Pleased to be near the distillary
with parking added I could have stayed closer to the river
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Quirky little place close to most historic Savannah has to offer. Air conditioning couldn't keep up with unseasonably humid and hot December. Seems my room was the only one not refreshed during my stay or for quite a while before apparently. We watched housekeeping refresh all other rooms but ours was skipped for no reason. Day of checkout we got a call and hang up an hour before checkout. We were already up and had seen housekeeping pacing outside our door along the corridor before and after the call. Not hospitable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. The parking is too tight.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Smelled a little musty in the room but otherwise great location and a great deal. The parking spaces are way too tight though
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Although the staff is nice, the hotel is dirty and smells bad.