Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Our regular Leipzig stop

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Proximity to family is top priority, but hotel is ok.
Cons: They charge 11 euros p/p for a breakfast that is not as good as what other hotels include without extra charge. Way overpriced.
Location: Nearby trams provide transportation.
My son lives in Leipzig and this is the closest hotel to his apartment. Fortunately it is a reasonable option, since we stay here every year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Torsten Schulz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and your review . Visit us soon again. Best regards. Your Team from the Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Exceeded expectations in every aspect.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Modern fitout in rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and good location.
Cons: The breakfast offering could be improved ( German breakfast offerings are usually very good), plus some of the chairs were in need of repair.
Location: Located in a quiet street, yet very close to tram stop that had a direct line into the city centre. It was perfect.
Wonderful small hotel. Arrived early evening in a strange city and reception staff friendly and helpful with immediate local information. The room was large and modern with windows that opened for fresh air. Buffet breakfast was basic but had everything one needed. Again staff friendly and attentive. Excellent value and can highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by T. Schulz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and your review . We are happy to welcome you again. Ihr Team from Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

nice hotel, good location, nice reception

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: location mainly, breakfast also-OK
Cons: maybe the reception area...just a little bit of imporovment but again - nothing you will see or really feel when you are there.
Location: bars are very close, walking distance to the city center (about 15 minutes).
well, we stayed 2 nights there, was OK. small hotel, reception is closed at 23:00, still, there is an automatic machine for check-in (we didnt need to use it but it looks ok). everything we needed from the reception was delivered very good. rooms are ok, not too big, but still ok. value for the money was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Lovely, quiet hotel. Yards from the famous 'Karli' nightlife street. Customer service was flawless and the bathroom was spotless. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

A quiet location with good transport.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Very modern and extremely clean and bright.Polite English speaking staff. Very extensive choice of food in buffet breakfast.
Location: Two minutes walk to bars, restaurants and tram lines 10/11 to city centre in 5 minutes. I ate in "Lulu Lottenstein" two nights running. Superb food.
This hotel is in a very quiet street between two roads with regular tram service. The room was immaculate. Clean, quiet and with superb central heating, but which you have to turn on! The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on and I would have liked to take the mattress home with me! Trams 10/11 to city centre are two minute walk. I highly recommend "Lulu Lottenstein" restaurant close by as suggested in hotel brochure. Potato soup with truffles (4.90!!) and a goulash of venison with tiny dumplings and a glass of excellent local RED wine. Total 24 Euros. Went back next night and had the soup again but with Wiener Schnitzel as big as your shoe...and two glasses of wine. 24 Euros again! Worth visiting via Tram 9 just one stop( go right out of hotel to main road) is Bayerisher Hbf with its brewery and restaurant. Superb in house beers and food looked good. For beer lovers I also suggest the brewery opposite Bach's church, Thomaskirche. Also great German food here. The church itself and Bach museum (free) are a must as is the Mendelssohn House and Grassi Museum, with the finest collection of musical instruments I have ever seen.Stunning....and free! The rail fare to Dresden was excessive at 54 Euros (£44) for a one hour journey. Hotel receptionist was born there and told me, on my return, that the bus takes on hour and is 6 Euros!!! Dresden has been rebuilt extensively since the appalling and unnecessary allied bombing in Feb 1945. Worth a visit just too see Opera House
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean-Yves from France

Excellent value for money

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The warm welcome, profesional staff.
Cons: - Deal including breakfast - Use of the sauna (you need to book in advance, never had the time to enjoy the facility)
Location: Very easy access from the airport and to historic downtown. Situated in a quiet, safe, but lively neighborhood
I 'll book this hotel again for my next stay in Leipzig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from uk

Good hotel close to the Karli for nightlife

Posted Dec 12, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from uk

Good hotel close to the Karli for nightlife

Posted Dec 12, 2013
2 out of 5
by Bob from Miami, FL, USA

Never again!

Posted May 31, 2013
One year ago, I stayed in this hotel and, while it was clearly a discount hotel, I had a pleasant and comfortable stay. On this most recent trip, I was assigned to a very tiny room in an adjoining building. The room had no space for me to put my luggage and there wasn't even a table or a chair where I could sit! To top everything off, the weather was terrible and I had to walk outside through cold, rainy weather to have my breakfast every morning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lithuania

Good and clean hotel in a nice area.

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Everything was awesome. Though the breakfast was not included to the hotel price. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The wifi is free!