Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Laura from Macon, GA

Chosen because of location

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels
We choose this hotel because we were attending a concert in the area and wanted to be walking distance. Our room was roomy and clean, beds comfortable. Breakfast was good, huge selection. Only negative was street noise, our room was street level on the front of the building. I'm sure rooms on the courtyard are quieter. The neighborhood is interesting, you can tell it is in transition and will probably be quite vibrant in the next few years.
4 out of 5
by Allyson from LDN/NYC

Comfortable but dated

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is quite comfortable, the breakfast very reasonable with alot of choice and the staff are friendly but the interior is dated. The neighbourhood is definitely for the more seasoned traveler (a 10min tram ride from the city center) and does not offer a wealth of conveniences. But it is a great place to stay if you want an off the beaten track, local experience, which was exactly what we were looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from UK

A great value hotel.

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Breakfast and the fact there's free wifi - which is great value for the price I paid.
Cons: The decor could maybe do with updating.
Location: Great for canal walks/coypu spotting; the Spinnerei is worth seeing and the best bakers in Leipzig just around the corner.
I stayed here for three nights in November 2013. The room was small and reasonably comfortable. Breakfast was great value and there was plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and the place was easy to find. I really recommend this place to anyone on a budget.
4 out of 5
by L from San Francisco

A bit out of the way

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
In a industrial neighborhood that artists will appreciate. Visit the Spinnerei and the Printmaking Museum while you're there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK

Not the most picturesque area but good value

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: Parking Breakfast train
Cons: Basic room
Location: Great for train into town but generally a little run down
The hotel is not in the most eye catching location, in fact the area was a little run down. Having said that there is a local train station 10 mins walk away with a regular service to Leipzig centre 15 mins trip in. The staff at the hotel were great and very helpful, they allowed us to leave the car in their parking area even after we had checked out a day earlier. The room was basic but clean and functional. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise in quality and content. In truth the stay was enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by Ros from British Midlands

Budget hotel in Leipzig suburb

Posted Oct 18, 2012
Pros: Nice breakfasts, in a bright room - a low-price way to see Leipzig, a wonderful city with an extraordinary history.
Cons: Faded decor - felt like the 1970s. Bathroom fittings poor.
Location: Very run-down - was industrial suburb, now some modernisation going on. Good tram service into city.
I have just spent four nights at the Hotel Plagwitzer Hof, in a very small single downstairs room - the bed was comfortable, the heating was efficient. The tiny shower room had plenty of hot water, but the shower was grotty; the towel rail was falling off the wall, and the towels were thin (I know it's a budget hotel, but it wouldn't cost much to replace them !) The breakfast was included in the price, and was plentiful. The decor is very outdated. The staff were helpful - eventually. There is courtyard parking if you arrive by car. The hotel is a long way from the centre of Leipzig, but there are handy trams - or it is interesting to walk it, which takes about an hour. The Plagwitz area is very run-down, with derelict factories and overgrown empty sites. Because I did not know the area, I took a taxi from Leipzig-Halle airport, and was charged 36 euros; a better way is train to Leipzig main station, then tram to Plagwitz. I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by JC

Business Review

Posted Sep 19, 2012 on Hotels
It offered a clean room, internet service in the rooms, and breakfast...all the basics one needs for a business trip. They do not provide shampoo and lotion....but that wasn't issue. I had my own :)
3 out of 5
by Frank

Cheap European Hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2012 on Hotels
Accomodation adequate for short staywifi baasically. Inconvenient location, especially when using public transit. Advertised WiFi basically unusable.
5 out of 5
by Jesse

Quiet and nice

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels
Don't let the side of town fool you. This is a really nice, not that far out of the way hotel with wonderful service and breakfast. Brush up on your German a little though, as none of the staff speak English.
4 out of 5
by iain

good hotel bad area

Posted Apr 22, 2012 on Hotels
hotel ok but in run down area. It's only 10 minutes from centre by tram 14. Not suitable for single women or families