Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Gute Lage, unaufdringlicher Service, saubere Zimmer und angenehmer Frühstücksservice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Luxurious hotel in prime location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Perfect location for visit to Leipzig historical sights and classical concerts. Quiet and luxurious rooms.
Cons: Service at breakfast.
Location: Between Bach's Thomaskirche and Nikolaikirche, a few blocks from the Gewandhaus, in the midst of the shopping district and beside the market square.
Luxurious hotel, handsome and comfortable room -- but top-floor room had a diagonal beam near the bed on which I kept bumping my head. I would also have preferred a bathtub to the shower provided. Excellent service in the hotel. The breakfast was also luxurious and enjoyable, but service there was mediocre. I had to ask for coffee, for instance, and when it was brought 10 minutes later it was lukewarm. Nobody offered to take my order for the egg dishes advertised on the table-top menu. The hotel needs to rethink its combination of buffet and served breakfast to make sure all needs are met.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Kein Internet auf Zimmer möglich

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Perfekte Lage im Zentrum
Internet auf Zimmer ist nicht möglich weil die Signale so schwach sind. Dem Hotel ist das bekannt, die Rezeption meint "man kann ja auch in der Lobby oder Lounge Internetempfang haben". In dem Punkt ist dieses Steigenberger leider doch noch "im Osten" wo man eine gut funktionierende Internetverbindung nicht als Standard wie saubere Handtücher empfindet. Daher für mich als Geschäftstrip oder längerer Aufenthalt leider ungeeignet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by anja.zech@leipzig.steigenberger.de, Hotel Management
Liebe(r) Eilander, wir danken Ihnen dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit für eine Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes bei uns im Haus genommen haben. Ich möchte mich aufrichtig für die nicht reibungslos funktionierende Internetverbindung entschuldigen. Die Wortwahl unseres Empfangsteams war zugegebenermaßen nicht sehr glücklich. Unser Vertrag mit dem momentanen Internet Provider läuft zeitnah aus und wir hoffen daher sehr, dass in 2017 eine Verbesserung für unsere Gäste eintritt. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld. Schön, dass Sie unsere Lage positiv erwähnen. Wir wünschen Ihnen alles Gute und würden uns über eine erneute Chance in der Zukunft sehr freuen. Herzliche Grüße aus Leipzig, Anja Zech-Bohm, Direktionsassistentin
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hervorragendes Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Direkt im Zentrum, zur Oper oder Gewandhaus in wenigen Minuten. Fast direkt an der Thomas- und Nikolaikirche. Lokale und Bars rund ums Hotel.
Super Lage direkt am Markt mit direktem Anschluß zur Bahn in 15 Minuten zum Flughafen, in wenigen Minuten am Bahnhof. Hotel großartig, große komfortable Zimmer, Betten mit sehr gutem Schlafkomfort. Absolut ruhig. Leider kein hoteleigener Parkplatz, Auto wird aber ins Parkhaus gebracht und geholt.Frühstücksbuffet sehr gut aber zu teuer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very good hotel right in the center of Leipzig

Posted Oct 26, 2016
The hotel is great, I have never been disappointed. Spotless, great staff, great location. It is a bit complicated to reach the place by car, as it is in the pedestrian zone. Although having a GPS in the car, I circled a couple of times before being successful. Another detail: instead of pushing two small beds together, a single king size would be better. I had a little fight with the beds moving away from each other and me in the center.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood UK

Well recommended.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Breakfast. Ridiculously expensive. Fortunately the location gives plenty of other choices to eat elsewhere
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Super Hotel, sehr zu empfehlen. Die Zimmer sind sehr geräumig und gemütlich eingerichtet. Sehr zentral gelegen. Der Service ist freundlich und sauber
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Anja Z.-B., Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, wir freuen uns sehr über Ihre positive Bewertung und darüber, dass Sie uns weiterempfehlen. Hoffentlich dürfen wir Sie schon bald wieder willkommen heißen. Herzliche Grüße aus Leipzig, Anja Zech-Bohm, Direktionsassistentin
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel central location

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The hotel is in the old city centre very new great interior helpful & friendly stuff Excellent breakfast buffet Lobby bar has a great ambience The rooms are big & beautiful decor big bathroom too Would go back again nicest hotel on our Europe trip
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Anja Z.-B., Hotel Management
Dear guests, we have been thrilled to read your wonderful review about your stay with us. It is lovely to hear that you have memorized our members of staff, the breakfast buffet as well as the room so positively. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Handelshof very soon and wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Anja Zech-Bohm, Personal Assistant to the General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Cons: Frühstück war von der Organisation eines Steigenbergers Hotels eher mangelhaft, insbesondere in Hinblick auf Preis. Qualität der Speisen war OK.
war schön insbesondere Wellness- und Fitnessbereich
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adorf

Tolles Haus in bester Zentrumslage

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Das freundliche Personal
Cons: Nicht nachlassen
Location: Mitten im Zentrum
Wir haben während einer tagung dienstlich im Handelshof gewohnt und waren rundherum begeistert!