Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Key Largo FL

Inconvenient location and amateur owner

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Views from the windows
Cons: Prices could be halved to be competitive.
Location: Location is up many, many stairs. The Antico Borgo restaurant is the only feature except for views. Amalfi is not too far away.
Problem One is finding the hotel. The address in Expedia is not correct. It is in Pontone, a part of Scala, but the GPS will not get you there if you use the Expedia address. You must park illegally once in Pontone, then ask how to find Antico Episcopio, which is at least 100 steps above the parking. The owner is not very good with languages other than Italian, but in the summer, her niece and nephew from big cities help her. The nephew helps get the bags from the car up to the inn. The room was spacious, with a queen size bed in a loft reached by a ladder. The air conditioning does not come on before 7:00 (it came on at 7:10). Since we were parked illegally and there were no legal spaces within nearly a kilometer, we had to rent a space in the owner's personal garage for 10 Euros. The Antico Episcopio was a bishop's house in the Middle Ages, and the town has some charm. The main square is smaller than my living room. There are two restaurants in town, a pizzeria and Antico Borgo, which was good. Because of the huge number of stairs involved in getting to and from the hotel, I would only recommend it for younger people. The Catch 22 is that most of them cannot afford its high charges, which are not a good value. I suggest that Expedia remove this from their list.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem overseeing Amalfi

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
This is a well refurbished place located on top of a mountain overseeing Amalfi. It's very quiet location called Pontone. Amalfi is reachable on foot through a very, very scenic 20-30 min walk down the mountain. You can go back up on foot if you're in shape, otherwise take the bus - but make sure to ask for the timetable because there aren't that many of them. The hosts there are very friendly and very welcoming. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Be aware the AC only works as of 8pm in the evening but it was perfectly ok for us. They served us refreshments and a delicious coffee on the roof in the afternoon - there's an outstanding view, a few lounge chairs and hamacs. Be aware this is a quiet place - probably not for you if are looking to be in the middle of the amalfi mightlife. Overall i would strongly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by Wayne

Lovely Family run B and B

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our stay! Only issue was the wifi was not available in our room which is very inconvenient when you're traveling to only have access near the office. We loved our stay in Pontone where the B and B is located , but the bus service to Amalfi is infrequent . Many days we took the steps down - over 1,000 stairs. It was fine, but getting back up at night is not a good option.. We would stay here again because Anna and Raphel were very kind and helpful. The room s are spotless. And the breakfast was wonderful. The lack of wifi in your room is the only real issue at this lovely B and B. Authentic Italian stay!
5 out of 5
by Gilda

The view makes up for it

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful quiet town away from all the tourist hubbub. Gruff proprietor was helpful, but the advertised wifi and air-conditioning was very intermittent, and thats generous of me to say. Lots of steps and inconvenient bus service, plus rip off taxi charges make it essential you be in good enough shape for the fifteen minute hike down to Amalfi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from thunderbay ontario canada

High above the coast above the village of Amalfi

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Five ladies for five days ! Wonderful experience in Pontone - the bus rides up th steep hills were thrilling , the scenery stunning and the stairs down into Amalfi were safe and well done . We had two lovely restaurants up here to choose from. We used the buses to get back up to L'Antico at the end of the day though many walked the stairs up and down . Anna, our hostess, showed much concern for our needs and was very good with the full breakfasts - homemade juices, baking , and yogurt - superlative coffee too ! We were initially disappointed as there was no pool as advertised but we swam in the sea and enjoyed many other activities including a ferry ride to Positano ! Excellent accommodations and wonderful hostess ! Go there for an authentic stay not a generic hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing view and traditional ambiance

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The stay at this little hotel was just amazing! I loved the simple but delicious breakfast and the staff was super helpful whenever I had questions or needed help/advice. Keep in mind that buses do not frequently drive from this location in this particular village. There is a shuttle (about 1.50 €) that stops about 5 times a day, but other than that you will need to prepare for taking the cab home if you return in the evenings. And those are costly and will be anywhere between 35-60€! Even though I highly recommend this hotel for its charm and comfort, the cab drives where an added cost, that definitely need to be added to your trip, if considering to stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel ok but access is an issue

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The hotel was very close to the tiny town square where the locals gathered in the evening and we enjoyed being part of that. Shower was good.
Cons: Access to the internet could be improved as there was no signal in the room, and our own preference is to not sleep in a loft bed as it was very hot.
Location: The local restaurant was excellent and had a lovely family feel about it. Given, the distance to Amalfi, this was a godsend.
The hotel itself is ok, however without a car the hotel is difficult to get to. Although only 2.2kms from Amalfi, it is almost all uphill with hundreds of steps (one estimate from a local was 900). The bus to Pontone, the closest town, is sporadic, doesn't appear to adhere to a timetable and even the locals can't agree what times it runs on Sundays. As for the taxis, the requested amout on Saturday evening for the 5km drive was obscene, only to become more obscene on the Sunday when the price for the same drive was an additional 30%. Because of the poor bus service, the taxis are holding people to ransom, and the losers will be the B&Bs further up the mountain. That would be a shame.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Charming Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Cons: Wifi to be working and more towels to be available.
Location: If you're up for the trek, take the plentiful steps down to Amalfi which the journey provides many beautiful views of this area of Italy.
This is set in a charming area of the town Scala. The room was clean and comfortable with many pros. Only cons were the Wifi was down during our one night stay and there weren't enough towels available for the five us staying in the room (all five of us ended up having to share two towels). Overall, the staff was friendly and helpful. They provided a great and plentiful breakfast and the hotel is set in an old church which makes this hotel even more charming.
5 out of 5
by sergio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

A beautiful gem with incredible view

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Fridge Hot water for tea Room with view Sun deck with chairs and a hammock Wifi area
Location: Lots of hiking, nature, history Swim at beach not far
Once i finally found it, it was worth all the effort. I was greeted with the best fresh lemon water in a pitcher to quench my thirst! Beautiful, comfortable, lovely staff, and big window with wonderful view fromup above in Pontone village. Appreciated the nice tile washroom, the refridgerator, and the kitchen in which i could boil water for my tea. Fresh fruit for breakfast every day a delight!