Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from thunderbay ontario canada

High above the coast above the village of Amalfi

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Five ladies for five days ! Wonderful experience in Pontone - the bus rides up th steep hills were thrilling , the scenery stunning and the stairs down into Amalfi were safe and well done . We had two lovely restaurants up here to choose from. We used the buses to get back up to L'Antico at the end of the day though many walked the stairs up and down . Anna, our hostess, showed much concern for our needs and was very good with the full breakfasts - homemade juices, baking , and yogurt - superlative coffee too ! We were initially disappointed as there was no pool as advertised but we swam in the sea and enjoyed many other activities including a ferry ride to Positano ! Excellent accommodations and wonderful hostess ! Go there for an authentic stay not a generic hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing view and traditional ambiance

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The stay at this little hotel was just amazing! I loved the simple but delicious breakfast and the staff was super helpful whenever I had questions or needed help/advice. Keep in mind that buses do not frequently drive from this location in this particular village. There is a shuttle (about 1.50 €) that stops about 5 times a day, but other than that you will need to prepare for taking the cab home if you return in the evenings. And those are costly and will be anywhere between 35-60€! Even though I highly recommend this hotel for its charm and comfort, the cab drives where an added cost, that definitely need to be added to your trip, if considering to stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Charming Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Cons: Wifi to be working and more towels to be available.
Location: If you're up for the trek, take the plentiful steps down to Amalfi which the journey provides many beautiful views of this area of Italy.
This is set in a charming area of the town Scala. The room was clean and comfortable with many pros. Only cons were the Wifi was down during our one night stay and there weren't enough towels available for the five us staying in the room (all five of us ended up having to share two towels). Overall, the staff was friendly and helpful. They provided a great and plentiful breakfast and the hotel is set in an old church which makes this hotel even more charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

A beautiful gem with incredible view

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Fridge Hot water for tea Room with view Sun deck with chairs and a hammock Wifi area
Location: Lots of hiking, nature, history Swim at beach not far
Once i finally found it, it was worth all the effort. I was greeted with the best fresh lemon water in a pitcher to quench my thirst! Beautiful, comfortable, lovely staff, and big window with wonderful view fromup above in Pontone village. Appreciated the nice tile washroom, the refridgerator, and the kitchen in which i could boil water for my tea. Fresh fruit for breakfast every day a delight!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For something off the beaten paths

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Lovely B&B if you are looking for something far from the commercial Amalfi area. Hard to find at first but once we figured out our way around the Amalfi, Pontone area, and have figured out how to use the public transit and shuttles, it was very pleasant. The breakeast served was excellent, rooms are clean and staff very friendly. A couple of convenient excellent restaurants near by with a friendly bar close by to get our daily coffee and refreshments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Beautiful landscape but poor customer skills

Posted Sep 4, 2011
London family. Arrived in Ravello.The hotel is not in Ravello but in Pontone. no buses to take you there. So get a taxi. Charged us £35 for ten minutes driving.The hotel is1and 1/2 hour walking distance from the nearest beach and at least 25 minutes walking from the nearest bus station. no shuttle service to and from the hotel.So we spent every day the whole day in the city of Amalfi. impossible to return at the hotel due to the long distance.NO AIRCON. Breakfast,included, but poor.Same thing everyday.can't feed your children only carbs and sweets every morning. No eggs,no cheese,no pancetta,no salami,no butter,no bread even.Just cereals (cheapest), some pastries, milk and fruits, juices made from concentrates. peaches and milk?They expect you to keep the room clean. a matter of common sense. We travelled with an infant, a child of 3 and a child of 11.not easy. got told off when our infant dropped some juice on the bed cover. It culminated with the last day when we were told off when our daughter dropped some yoghurt on the floor. stone floor, no carpets.Abandon hope to visit Punta Campanella,Baia de Leranto fakely advertised on the hotel website. only by private boats for £500/day or rent a car for £200/day. Amalfi: restaurants have double prices: for the italians and for the others.Come from UK? the price will be disgustingly higher,overcharged by at least £30 for a meal. a freshly squeezed orange or lemon juice would be £2.50 for an italian, and £5 for a foreigner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Croydon, UK

We would definitely return!

Posted Aug 21, 2011
This is a quite unique property, having been converted from its original use as a priest's house, connected as it is to the old church. The welcome and service had just the right balance of friendliness without intrusion. All of the things you would expect from a professionally run hotel were there with the added charm and atmosphere of a cottage bed and breakfast.. It is also very good value for money and although there were only two of us, would very well suit families of 3-6. There is a good restaurant down the steps and a local bar which gives on to the village square. We enjoyed thoroughly having a beer among the locals during the evening "passegiare" and all of the attractions of the Amalfi coast are within easy driving distance, bearing in mind that driving on the Amalfi roads can be hair-raising, though exhilarating! The address, entered in the Sat Nav dod not quite take us all the way! Keep on driving up until you reach the parking "square". One euro will get you an hour so you can take the steps to the main square. Cross this and continue up about twenty steps to the gate of the property, where the entryphone will admit you. The proprietress will supply a free parking permit for your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Delightful hotel in beautiful location - slightly tricky to find!

Posted Aug 10, 2011
Our satnav (usually v reliable) could not locate the address. Ravello is actually quite large, and the road name quoted is in effect a footpath in a outlying village. As you approach Ravello from the direction of Amalfi, follow the signs to Pontone, park within the blue lines (the hotel will provide you with a ticket for car parking ) - then head for the central square/ blue bar/ restaurant. Be warned you cannot drive right up to the hotel door and to get to the restaurant you need to climb a fairly steep footpath and from there to the hotel are a series of around 15-20 steps. Pontone is tiny (there is only 1 restaurant but it is superb) but lovely and set in a beautiful location not that far from the more overtly touristy districts in Ravello and Amalfi. The hotel was perfect for a family of five and the room was beautifully decorated. There was a roof terrace (in the process of being extended) with a small pool with a view of the cliffs above and sea and valley below. Breakfast was excellent - a selection of fresh yoghurt, fruit, cereal and toast our host made fresh tea, coffee, cakes and pastries and would have provided more if we needed. The whole place is smothered in lemon trees. The restaurant is absolutely fantastic. Be aware that they don't do child portions and in fact some of of the dishes are too large for an adult (the T bone was unbelievably generous and very tasty). The food was of a very high quality and good value for money. We are definitely going back......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

grazioso b&b a 15 minuti a piedi da Amalfi........

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Un primo impatto discreto poi pero' ci siamo trovati molto bene e ben accolti dalla padrona .....di casa. ottima colazione e gradevole la stanza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dax

Superbe bed and breakfast!

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Bed and breakfast absolument superbe, niché à côté d'une église, dans un village médiéval, à seulement 2 km de la côte mais loin du tumulte d'amalfi. Les chambres sont très bien équipées, climatisées. La décoration est sobre tout en étant charmante et accueillante. Le petit déjeuner est varié, les boissons chaudes sont préparées à la demande, nous avons été très bien accueilli malgré notre arrivée tardive. Vous trouverez à 50 m du B et B une pizzeria qui pour un prix dérisoire et un accueil chaleureux vous fera des pizzas extraordinaires. Lieu que je recommande chaleureusement.