Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Quiet getaway!

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Fireplace, spa tub, comfy, walking, hiking area
Location: Located in the mountains, no retail stuff nearby, yea! 9 miles from Highlands, NC, 5 miles from Clayton GA which we preferred.
Peaceful, wonderful relaxation at this most busy time of year! Fireplace with wood, spa tub in cabin, no TV! Breakfast delivered to our room. Aaah! Great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Everything - the hosts are extraordinary. Friendly, gracious, informative, and welcoming. It was beautiful, comfortable, and peaceful.
Cons: They're adding a dining room, so guests won't have to leave the property. That will make it even more heavenly.
Location: Nantahala National Forest filled with hikes, waterfalls galore, tiny placid mountain lakes, biking/hiking/kayaking/zip-lining/fishing.
We were looking for somewhere we could escape from the world for a couple of days, except my partner also needed cell coverage and wi-fi (that's how we pay for these escapes, of course). Fire Mountain Inn was absolutely perfect. The setting is stunning and - best of all - quiet. Birds, frogs, and the wind in the trees. We could have spent weeks here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Mountain getaway

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The view, surrounding land, the accommodations, the breakfast, the staff...everything. It is truly intended to be a peaceful getaway.
Location: Highlands, NC for dining and shopping. All around the area for hiking and scenic views. Golf is nearby as well.
Fire Mountain is located about 15 minutes outside of Highlands, NC, which gives you access to all the fine restaurants and shopping while at the same time offering it's own mountain top seclusion. They take the time to get to know you and suggest the local activities that will appeal most to you with all of their local knowledge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Awesome resort in North Carolina Mountains

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Awesome views, Great hosts, wonderful breakfast, very clean, plenty of acreage to enjoy walks. Away from busy towns but close enough for a drive.
Cons: Awesome as it is!
Location: In the mountains of NC, a short drive to Highlands, NC and beautiful waterfalls.
Wonderful get away in NC mountains with awesome views and fabulous sunset! Minutes away from Highlands, Cashiers, Franklin, and nearby Georgia mountain communities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenny from ms

Perfect mountain getaway at Highlands

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Rooms, staff, views/scenery, quietness, food
Cons: Not much---if anything, maybe slightly earlier breakfast
If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful mountain escape with spectacular views then Fire Mountain is the place for you. We stayed 2 nights in June in the Satohla room. It is about a 20 minute drive outside of Highlands due to winding mountain roads. But the drive was scenic and was not an inconvenience for us. We checked-in at 1 p.m. with Matthew who was very informative and attentive to any specials needs or requests we had...restaurant reservations and activities we were interested in. We appreciated the earlier check-in time, as opposed to 4 p.m. check-in time at most places. This gave us time to enjoy the afternoon there. The Satohla room was excellent---very clean and spacious with a comfy bed and a fireplace (we used both nights even in June). Several sitting areas to enjoy inside and out, and it had 2 porches---1 on sunrise and 1 on sunset side. Porch had great chairs for lounging and even had a hammock for naps. The views from the sunset porch were spectacular. For our 2 night stay we spent hours there just reading and enjoying the views. For dinners we drove into town, but hurried back to to enjoy the sunset views. Breakfasts here were wonderful....fresh fruits/juices/jams, tasty pastries, meats, biscuits....everything gourmet and plenty to fill you up. Had a bonfire Saturday in a grove-type area with excellent sunset views...this was also a great spot for relaxing during the day. Awesome mountain-top Inn for couples looking to get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fox from Brunswick Co, NC

Absolutely perfect

Posted Nov 10, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More amenities

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location, friendly, responsive staff
Cons: Offer coffee and tea service throughout late afternoon and evening. Have microwave available.
Location: Close to hiking
I would like to see coffee and tea service available for guests. Also, microwave to heat meals since dinner is not served.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nan from N.C.

Relaxation at it's best!

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: The staff was friendly. The breakfast was great.
Location: Hiking and sightseeing was close. Downtown Highlands was about 30 minutes away.
Our stay at this mountaintop setting was very quiet and peaceful. The perfect spot if relaxation is your goal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy

The place to get away from it all

Posted Feb 21, 2013
Pros: It was so clean and homey. The mountains surrounding the site are lovely.
Cons: My husband and son wouldn't come because there's no TV, wifi, or phones in the room!
Location: Make sure you have directions, because there is no signage!
If you are looking for a natural and pristine area, this is the place for you! Lovely and isolated. Close enough to Highlands when you want some 'action'...then go back up the mountain for peace and quiet. Matthew and Hiram are attentive without being intrusive. Had a wonderful weekend with my daughters, playing board games, drinking wine, and enjoying each other's company without all the noise and clutter of home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jack & Gwen from Metairie, LA

Wonderful retreat from hustle & bustle

Posted Nov 18, 2012
Fire Mountain is truly a place for peaceful relaxation. Keep in mind, however, that it is about 15 minutes of dark curvy mountain road from restaurants, so plan your dinners accordingly! (This was not a problem at all for us.) We stayed in Red Thunder, and couldn't have been more pleased; the inn's website doesn't exaggerate when it describes the views from this room, which are just about the same from the dining area. We LOVED having the library with its comfy sofas and great fireplace just outside our room. We lit the fire every night when we got back from dinner and enjoyed reading, knitting, and just sitting. Breakfasts were delicious and very filling. Don't miss the walk to the "secret waterfall" on the property. Be sure to have lunch at the grocery store in Highlands at least once, and dinners at Madison's and Paoletti's are a must!