Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Private Beach

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Mixed reviews the private beach and view from my room was awesome. However, my bed was very uncomfortable, torn curtains, torn patio furniture, damaged ceiling, faulty TV, and room furniture need updating. The food was not good except for breakfast, salads, pastries and their burger dishes everything else no no no!!. Do not exchange currency at the hotel their rate is unfairly low and they end up making way more money on your foreign dollar very shameful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Remote location 5 min ride to Scarborough 25 min ride to good shops and restaurants Bed was horrible. Stairs to beach were hazardes after a rain Enjoyed the beach Facility was unkept Checked in for 7 , stayed 3 nights Moved to crown point area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from markham

Not even a 1 star hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Stayed here for a 3 day getaway while visiting Trinidad. The hotel was difficult to find as there was no sign with the hotel name on the outside. Hotel staff we talked to for directions was lost herself. Thankfully the residents we spoke to on the streets was helpful. Everything about the hotel is OLD. The sheets and towels was worn out with stains and rips. It rained the first 2 days and the sewer smell was horrible. The beach is a 65 stair climb down from the hotel. The foreign staff was friendly and helpful. The local staff made sure you knew they were the "boss". Wi-Fi was spotty. The Tv had 5 channels 3 was sports. been to better 2 star hotels in the other islands. Will not recommend this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Hotel Close To The Beach

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The restaurant is lovely and our waitress was exceptional.
Cons: The cleaning staff should be better trained and more diligent in cleaning and preparing the rooms between guests.
Location: We had the most amazing time on daily tours with Edith Thomas Tours - she was incredible and made our stay totally memorable!
This hotel has its own tiny beach. They have 3 pools and have many loungers for each. The water is like bathwater and continuously recycled. During our stay, the internet was shut off, which the front desk could not provide an explanation. Near the end of our stay, we were provided with a modem by one of the supervisors, as it was essential for us to have access to the internet prior to leaving. Our daily breakfast and waitresses were wonderful! The cleaning staff are pleasant, but they only do the basic such as change towels, leave soap and make the bed. Our linen was never changed and we found a cockroach and HUGE worm like centipede in the bathroom towels - But it's an island in the Caribbean - so you have to turn a blind eye to these things. When we arrived, the floors and balcony were dirty and not washed until we finally had to ask days later. Mid week, a bathing suit from the previous occupant was found in the bathroom, behind a stool and a bracelet was found under the bed - these items were given to the front desk. Had the room been properly inspected/cleaned prior to any new tenants arriving - these items would have been found. From our room, we did hear music across the way which signaled that the night life was alive and well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Bacolet Beach Club: A good hotel in Scarborough

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The pictures of the hotel online reflect the beauty you see. Only visited 1 of the 3 pools but it was nice. The price was worth what i got.
Cons: A more skilled staff. Everyone i talked to at the front desk seemed to be new to the job. Staff could make sure each room had the basic necessities.
Location: It is near Fort King George for those that want to see some of Tobago's history. Hotel is about 25 min away from the airport and popular beaches.
Check in took about 5 minutes. We were escorted to our rooms. Lovely layout. We had a view of the pool from our 1st floor balcony. The net that covered the bed was needed because mosquitoes are around. The balcony doors can be opened really wide so that would explain how mosquitoes can get in so easily. I didn't make it to the private beach that was past all those steps so I can't judge the beach. Positives: The price was great for what we got. The view was wonderful. The restaurant was decent - free breakfast for guests, pay for lunch and dinner if needed. We ate dinner one night at there and it was good. We did a tour for Argyle Waterfalls, our tour guide was great, it was a great experience. Negatives: I overlooked the fact that this hotel didn't have a microwave in the room. Any food we wanted to reheat, we had to go to the restaurant next door and have them heat it for us. We had to ask for a water heater/kettle because ours was missing. (got it within 2 hours) We had to ask for a phone because ours was missing. (got it the next day) We had a leaky faucet. I did enjoy my stay though. I hope they upgrade the rooms and provide microwaves for everyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TT & Florida

Was average to say the least

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The pool and being close to the beach are really the 2 things to look forward to at Bacolet. The staff is friendly but the WIFI IS HORRIBLE IN THE ROOMS. Some of the channels didn't work due to the weak wifi signal and that was the biggest disappointment for both my fiancé and I. Overall I would say it's OK but lots of improvements can be made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Nice place to stay

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Very nice room with all the necessities. Felt very comfortable. Staff was friendly and everything was smooth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Nice Hotel would stay again for sure.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
It was just an overnighter but was comfortable and would definitely stay again. The staff was helpful and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice pool and private beach. Restful rooms.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Main restaurant cafe Havana very pleasant excellent staff very helpful, meals such as breakfast was self serve With muliple choices. Lunch and dinner menus changed every day. Food is very tasty with wonderful presentations.as well as nice portions. Nice Bar. With happy hours .Helpful staff in re ception area. Overall nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Nice hotel, beach not so good

Posted Jun 27, 2017
It was overall a good experience. Nice and clean rooms with very friendly staff. Dissapointments, our room was out of the reach of the wi fi signal and no data reception. And the beach's sand is muddy. So, the options are to use the very nice and clean pools and drive 20 mins to Pigeon Point when you want to soak on a nice beach.