Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional hotel overlooking the bay

Posted Jan 6, 2018
If you've stayed in hotels in traditional British seaside resorts, you've probably stayed in something like the Crown Spa, built in the C19 and retaining most of the original features, both good and bad. Its location is perfect if you want to step out of the hotel front door, breathe in the sea air and walk down to the Spa or over the bridge towards the Grand Hotel into town. The cliff tram to the beach is conveniently placed and a novelty. The staff are really friendly and helpful in our experience and there is a friendly atmosphere in the hotel lobby/lounge, particularly when the pianist is playing. We've stayed twice, the first time we were in a small room with a view of the inside of a box through the window (seriously!) We didn't mind since we spent the entire time exploring the coast and just used the room to crash, but it was a bit weird. The second time we had a lovely big room with a pleasant view of the adjoining streets (it's a very nice area). It's a bit pricey but worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Beutiful building with nice view and fantastic spa

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: fantastic spa facilities
Cons: I've been here 3 nights which 2 evening I needed to parking so far from the hotel, because wasn't enough parking place for hotel guests.
Location: Nice harbour, rich in nature coast with excellent walkways.
I've been here 1.5 years ago and than was better organized and more friendly the staff. We waited long time for a coffee in a coffee bar or for a Martini in the restaurant about 15 minutes. The restaurant meals are excellent. The spa facilities are really unique and the staff is very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks

A smart and impressive hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay in an impressive room with balcony overlooking the sea. A magnificent view greeted us in the morning. The waterproof TV set into the wall above the bath taps was a first for us! We had a surprisingly good evening meal in the dining room, although the service was too slow, although friendly. We felt that it was a pity that the rather bare and basic tables did not have white tablecloths to match the otherwise high standard of presentation of the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was very well done. We had the continental option which included a hot dish - eggs Benedict, which meant that we were quite satisfied without having to upgrade to ‘full Yorkshire’!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by MatthewLees, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Crown Spa Hotel. I was very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The TV's in the bathrooms of our executive rooms are a very popular feature. I was also very happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast so much, the eggs Benedict is a favourite of mine as well. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Matthew Lees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel, amazing views & fantastic restaurant

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Only stayed one night but had a lovely time, staff were very helpful and food in the restaurant was excellent. Only issue we had was the temperature in our room. We had a room on the fifth floor with beautiful sea views but there was no way to adjust the room temperature, even opening all the windows did little to cool down the room. So our sleep was not perfect but we managed. We did raise this to the reception the next day and she explained fans could be provided but we struggle to sleep with air blowing directly at us. Must be from the high level of heating below seeping through, a small blemish on a lovely few days in Scarborough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by MatthewLees, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Crown Spa Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind comments to our team in the kitchen. On occasion it can become warm in the Hotel however usually we manage the temperatures well. We look forwards to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Matthew Lees.
5 out of 5
by Mrs P M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Poor customer service

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Customer service Tell people that you issue discs so you can park on the street for free Wash up the cups before guests go in the room, dust cobwebs
We stayed here for one night only to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had emailed ahead to inform them and to request a nice room and enquire about the parking . They emailed back to say all rooms were nice and the hotel had its own car park ,plus there was a public car park near by that would best suite our longer vehicle .On arrival we found a lot of the parking spaces had disc parking for free all around near the hotel ,but we did not know what the the disc was . There were spaces too ,very near to the hotel! We found the car park which was £6 for 24hrs . On check ,in we noticed another guest was given a free parking disc to park her car ,which we were not made aware of in our original email which we were annoyed at , as we could have parked very near to the hotel ,which would have helped us ,as I have a bad back ,so my husband had to take my luggage as well as his own! On checking in ,,we discovered in conversation ,that our room was not in the best part of the hotel which we were very dissapointed in. We were given other options of what other rooms were available and what extra cost was involved. We looked at our allocated room first ,and as expected we were very dissapointed, it was dark and small and with not a great outlook. The mini suite we looked at was awful just two very small rooms . Eventually ,we had a large room with a very nice sea view, and at an extra cost of £40 a night but we could have it for £20 to which we agreed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by matthewlees, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Crown Spa Hotel. I was very disappointed to read about some of the issues during your stay with us. As a Hotel which is renowned for our great customer service and attentive staff this was obviously of great concern. We do offer on-street parking permits free of charge and we also have our loading bay to unload luggage should parking be busy around the hotel. Whilst this information is all relayed upon check-in I can appreciate it should have been passed on during your parking enquiry and I will speak with the Reception staff regarding this. Whilst we feel all of our rooms have their own appeal we do believe they are priced accordingly with their advantages, with the differences between room types available to view on our website or with our sales team over the telephone. We do have our advantages package, for guests who book with us. However we do not penalise guests for not doing so and we make a great effort to keep all of our guests happy. We pride ourselves on great customer service and our position as a Hotel to celebrate the special moments in peoples lives. I would like to extend our apologies in this instance and I truly hope we are able to welcome you back through our doors in the future. Kind regards, Matthew Lees Customer services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Helmsley

Perfect location if visiting the Spa

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Nicely furnished and kept very well. The breakfast was exceptional. Also the scones were fabulous. Probably one of the best hotels in Scarborough.
Cons: Maybe a check of the rooms occasionally to see if things like the heating etc. are working O.K.
Location: There is a cliff lift a couple of hundred yards away that will take you down to the sea front and Spa if you are going to a show.
We have stayed here before and like the ambiance. The room allocated to us was an upgrade but unfortunately the window was wide open, the room was cold and the heating wasn't very good. The bathroom heating (towel rail) did not work at all. However, the hotel staff were wonderful and to cut a long story short we were upgraded yet again to an executive room which was lovely and warm. So no complaints at all. Well done to all of the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by MLEES, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review and was overjoyed to find we had provided such a great stay. Our maintenance team do periodically check each room for any issues however occasionally things can become faulty without us finding out this way, we always work as quickly as possible to resolve any matters and I was glad to read we managed that in this instance. Kind regards, Matthew Lees
5 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed here several times.Beautiful hotel clean and well maintained. Good breakfast for £8.Excellent spa and swimming pool. Would recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was glad you enjoyed our Hotel and thought us worthy of a 5 star rating. I will pass on your kind comments to the spa and kitchen team and we will look forwards to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Matthew Lees
5 out of 5
by Matt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels