Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great stay

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Good location just away from the city centre, and again - the breakfast!
I had a great, comfortable stay - really good value for money and the breakfast was so tasty... I'd definitely stay again : )
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Misleading Free Parking Claim - Needs Refurbish

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good. Good location. WIFI was good. Was clean despite needing refurbishment
Cons: Accurate parking description and refurbishment
States"Free Parking" - But does not say that this is on street disc parking limited to 3 hours max in the day (free overnight) so don't bother arriving 3 hrs before 5pm or stay 3 hrs after 9am otherwise you need to find a pay park which is useless if you intend to stay in Scarborough for the day and have to come back to the car just to move it again. This is not Free Parking as implied/claimed by this headline, it is misleading and this should be clearly clarified on the description. I chose this hotel because it stated Free Parking and so thought could just leave the car and not have to mess about like this and pay to park anyway. I noted that some hotels in the area give a parking permit which allows their guest to park all day in the disc zone. Not this hotel yet claims free parking !. Found Albion Road car park was cheapest and just a short walk up the road £6 for 24hrs so parked there for the day. Also needs refurbishment and this was stated by the hotel owner as soon as arrived before being taken to room. In which case this should be stated on the description not once you arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Glenn Royston, Hotel Management
Dear Sir Thank you for your review regarding your stay on 30/10/17 firstly our apologies for any misunderstanding regarding parking. All guests on arrival are asked either by myself or my wife if they have a car and need parking. You dispute our free parking? This is our policy.. Arrival at the Hotel is from 2:00pm one night stays like yours are given a free parking disc this covers three hours until restrictions end at 5:00pm. Check out is at 10:00am the next morning again your disc covers this. Guests staying two nights or more are given parking permits for the duration of the stay free of charge. We are in a very good area for on street parking nearby even if outside is full and this rarely happens. All I can think is that you arrived well before the check in time of 2:00pm and the three hours disk wasn't enough for you, so you chose to source your own parking arrangements. Certainly no need to pay £6.00, where you parked is more for short stays. If you had communicated your concerns with us we would have gladly helped you sort this problem with a two day permit. It is much better to communicate at the time of your stay then we can try and resolve the issue. Regarding your comment about refurbishment needed, yes the room you stayed in is closing for redecorating at the end of season. You give the impression that it's the whole hotel. That is not the case it is certain rooms that are being done with new en suites and decoration The hotel is clean and well kept and certainly is not shabby. Other reviews back up this claim. On a positive note thanks for staying and the positive comments regarding breakfast and cleanliness. Thank you Glenn
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay!

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely breakfast and very accommodating owners! Room was nice and spacious. Good location with cliff lift directly at bottom of the road which takes you straight down to the beach and main area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louth, Lincolnshire

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Lovely b&b situated near the Scarborough sea front - just a short walk to view the sea. We had a family room which was nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast was a large selection of cereals, fruit, toast and cooked items - excellent!! Highly recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire uk

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Excellent hotel, room was very clean beds were comfortable, excellent food I would highly recommend this hotel as it also had a very friendly atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northumberland

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Absolutely amazing stay so friendly rooms spotless and breakfast amazing definitely stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
top floor room to far if your old or infirm . the room was clean but well used
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely welcome. Room clean and bed very comfortable. Breakfast and service exceptional. Went just as the hotel had changed hands, nothing was too much trouble. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very clean, towels were changed daily and the tea & coffee was also replenished daily. The room itself was a bit on the small side but this was not an issue as everything else was fabulous. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and nothing is too much trouble for the owners, they really look after their guests. They do offer a bar meal service which unfortunately we didnt use but the menu looked great. The location was just what we wanted far enough away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to all the amenieities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

A clean, comfortable B & B, near the sea front.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was top notch. Local produce, home-made bread, nicely cooked, unlimited coffee - heaven!
Cons: The electric shower was a bit temperamental.
Location: Didn't stay long enough to get the know the area, but the beach is only about 5 mins walk away.
We only stayed one night but were very impressed. Would certainly use Esplande Gardens again when we return to Scarborough. Staff were very friendly and helpful.