Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake district

As ice

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Very busy hotel lots of nice people we were there only two nights but good comfortable beds nice and warm excellent bathroom and very good food! Hope to come again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Good sized room and great location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Entrance, helpful staff, other guests seemed friendly and enjoying themselves.
Cons: Bed/mattress. Hotel generally needs a makeover.
Location: Very convenient for shops and South beach. Struggled to find anywhere that served a good big breakfast on the Sunday morning. Pubs rough.
Just one night. Splendid old hotel although it's a bit shabby. Our double room was comfy with a nice big ensuite bathroom - plenty of hot water. The bed was disappointing - quite small double on a creaky old base. Room was at the rear - no sea view, but it got plenty of sun. On the whole we enjoyed our stay. I would say, even at a reduced rate, the room was over-priced. Possibly paying for the old hotel charm of the lobby etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottm

good location close to town and beach

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: everything,decor etc
Location: good location right in town centre
room very small,windows nailed closed to about 3 inches.broken window in bathroom covered with peice of mdf,paint flaking off window and very noisy at night someone moving bins and a pallet truck
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brittani hotels are a disgrace and being run into

Posted Aug 23, 2017
In my opinion, Expedia should remove all Brittani hotels from your site immediately. This is not a 3:star hotel and you are misrepresenting the facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Grand building which has been let go

Posted Aug 15, 2017
The Royal Hotel is a grand building and when you step in the door you get an idea of how special it would have been in the 1930s. Unfortunately buildings like this require a lot of love and care and it is clear this one has been let go. There was only one small lift with maximum 5 people to serve over 100 rooms, many of the staircases were roped off and unusable, the fire alarm went off several times during our stay, the bedroom floor was so wonky my head was much higher than my feet. I am surprised this building meets safety regulations. Breakfast was disappointing as well, many of the hot food items were cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed over for 1 night in standard double room. Felt like all we paid £150 for was for a fancy hallway and a location. Room wasn't otherwise worth £150 for just 1 nights stay. Didn't use the pool area because even though you are a guest you still have to pay for it to use it, £4 each, that's £16 for 2 days, we had been to a lot of hotels and never known anything like this. To go to have dinner at the hotel restaurant you have to have a piece of paper with you which is presumably your key card...or you get sent away to "get it", no one told us that if we want to have a nice diner the requirement would be to have that with you. To check in you are standing in a que for like at least 15 mins and check out is at 10am which we thought is too early. Overall-we won't be staying there anymore.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel out dated dirty and well over priced

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Hotel dirty , out dated expencive., will never use Brittain again .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel close to town

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Room was ok but the hotel is ready for a refurb.situated close to town and beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sherburn in elmet

Friendly helpful staff

Posted Jun 29, 2017
we came first a 3 night stay we were in rooms 3 and 4 very different old and basic rooms compared to when we stayed the time before,staff were great only problem was that we paid ten pounds each room for a 12 o'clock checkout and the cleaners were knocking on the door and trying to get in at 930 in the morning which woke us up and they were quite rude saying they would be back as we weren't up and then came back saying people take the mickids when checkout is at 10 so we reprated that we had paid for a 12 o'clock checkout so they shouldn't be waking us up at 930 anyway,so they did say they hadn't been told that but still it wasn't very good trying to kick us out when we had paid that we the only downside