Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Good Hotel with Great Staff but Spotty Wifi

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff, clean, cozy rooms, nice gym
Cons: WiFi for sure, toiletries
Overall, our stay at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City was quite good, aside from WiFi issues. The staff was very helpful with all of our questions, and the room was really nice too. We appreciated the location, which felt like it was right in between the train station and the old part of the city, and also right by a few good restaurants and grocery stores. The only bad thing about this hotel that we found was the WiFi was incredibly spotty, and although we brought the issue up with staff a few times, it never got resolved during our four night stay. We are living and travelling far from family, and as we were staying at the hotel over Christmas, it would have been nice to not have to have calls and video chats dropped constantly due to the poor WiFi connection. For example, we woke up early on Christmas morning to call my parents in Colorado, but after losing the connection and the call repeatedly, we gave up after 45 minutes. Similar things happened when calling other family members, much to our disappointment, and my husband also had quite a bit of difficultly doing necessary work while we stayed at the hotel although he found the WiFi a bit improved in the bar area. So, be aware be considering this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by L. Wilfing, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Family Everett, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us. We are very grateful for your feedback. We are very pleased that you liked it and you had a nice time. We are very sorry that you had problems with the Wifi. We will check if we can improve our connection with our technician. We hope you will come back soon. Best regards, L. Wilfing Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex England

Nice hotel made nicer by staff

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Welcoming friendly and very helping staff. I felt comfortable. Nice location. No surprises no excuses- everything were up to expectsation. I will stay at this hotel again and will recommend it. Very good for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by L. Wilfing, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Muhammad Rahman, Thank you so much for your great review about the Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We appreciate your comments and are very happy that we met your expectations. We will share your prais with our staff. Thank you for your recommendation. We hope you will visit us again soon. With kind regards, L. Wilfing Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Stay was very pleasant. The staff were extremely nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by L. Wilfing, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Anonymous, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. With best regards, L. Wilfing Quality Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Reasonable hotel on main road.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts were very good.
Cons: Air conditioning, and full availability of the dining room every evening.
Location: The location was out of the main town centre, but on a good bus route, the bus stop was just down the road from the hotel. Nit much to do nearby.
The hotel was ok, but we were disappointed on the first night that we were unable to eat in the hotel as they had a private function booked and told us they only had one chef. As the hotel was slightly out of town, and we had travelled since 2am in the morning for an early flight, the last thing we wanted to do was to go out for a meal. I feel they should really put their hotel guests first. The only other complaint is that we were unable to use the air conditioning in the room. As it was really warm, we wanted our room cooler to sleep, and the only way we could accomplish this was to leave the window open, as we were on a main road, the traffic noise was quite loud. We were told by the hotel that all the rooms were on a controlled system, and would only activate at a certain temperature, which we think is not really acceptable. The rooms were tho, very clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by L. Wilfing, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chris and Paul, Thank you for your feedback about the Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We regret that we could not met your expectations. The more we are glad that you found our breakfast very good. Thank you for your valuable feedback about the air-condition. Austrian, German and Swiss hotels has strength requirements of scheduled maintenance. We regret the room-temperature was not to your satisfaction and we will transfer your experience to the air-condition producer. They are thankful for any feedback. Thanks for letting us know. We are very sorry that we did not have a free table on your first evening. We offer our guests outside the restaurant a 24 hours snack menu. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. With best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham, UK

Disappointing hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Unfortunately this hotel was pretty disappointing and we wished we'd stayed but somewhere else. We wouldn't recommend this place to other people. Negatives: - Not very clean - toilet seat/lid had stains on it!! - Woken early every morning as the cleaner's cupboard was outside our room & they kept letting the cupboard door slam shut & talked loudly to each other outside our room door. - Hotel was mis-advertised: description on Expedia said there were 'coffee makers' in all rooms along with a photo of coffee machines. This was not the case & I showed this to the reception staff who admitted that was a mistake. - Location: too far from town centre. - I think it is extremely overpriced for what you get. It's not a 4 star hotel. Positives: - comfy bed and mattress. - reception staff were friendly/helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by L. Wilfing, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Natalie, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by Joan

Mixed review

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel accomodation was OK. Front desk was OK. Kitchen was not so good. Both service and quality of cooking were poor. Breakfast coffee was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017
Dear Guest Joan, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, L. Wilfing Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017
Dear Anonym, Thank you very much for your great 4* review about the Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will see you again. With kind regards, L. Wilfing Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by Santiago

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017
Dear Guest Santiago, Thank you very much for your great 4* review about the Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are very happy that we met your expecations and hope you will visit us again. With kind regards, L. Wilfing Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Convenient reliable hotel for city break

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The staff were really welcoming and helpful.
Location: Good quite location for a short walk into main tourist Salzburg
My stay was en route into Austria and beyond from France. Although in a not attractive part of Satzburg itself this is a conventienlyt located, easily found hotel within easily walkable distance of central tourist Salzburg but without the hassle of car parking as the hotel has its own secure underground car park. THe hotel was very peaceful and I had a really good night's sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by L. Wilfing, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Anonymous, thank you very much for your great review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We have parking for our guests in our garage for 14 €. From the hotel you can walk or take a bus to the old town. The nearest bus station is about 5 minutes away from the hotel. You could walk in about 15-20 minutes in the old town. We hope you will visit us again. With kind reagards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gordon

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Nice hotel but the room was fairly dated. Restaurant was quite nice I'd recommend eating here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by L. Wilfing Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Sam, Thank you very much for your 4* review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are very thankfull that you recommend our restaurant. We hope we will see you again. With kind regards,