Ratings based on 593 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Good location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Hotel is within walking distance to the centre of town. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful too. Thank you for making our stay pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near tram stop in quiet location

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Finding the Hotel Mercure caused a bit of confusion. If you take tram 2 it is stop Bayerhamerstrasse! There were different instructions online and on the website (which caused 30mins of unnecessary wandering with luggage). But once at the hotel it was very nice. The staff were friendly and received a complimentary upgrade upon arrival. The room was small but well suited. The amenities were nice. Breakfast was good. The location is about 15 minute walking distance from the City Centre which isn't bad with adequate directions. Overall I would recommend. The hotel was quiet at night, but busy during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The room is a bit outdated, however, it was clean and tidy. Great facilities, friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The hotel location is a bit far from tourist spots (15 mins walk) and the hotel is kind of aged. The room is dark and not able to adjust the room temperature. It was too warm and stuffy, got to open the window from time to time to cool down the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The hotel room is newly renovated offering a comfortable stay. Not much view is available from the room, just facing the road and nearby shops. The hotel staffs are helpful and friendly. The only draw back is the hotel location, need to spend about 20 minutes walk to the old town area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with basic room interior

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable although not very modern. Don't expect to find something like bathrobe, slippers... in your room. The hotel lobby is spacious and offers comfy seats to hang around there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna, Austria

Good value for a nice hotel in a great town.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Value was great for the location, short walk to major attractions and a helpful staff means I will stay here again.
Cons: I wish they had bathtubs not just a shower. Other than that everything was great.
Location: Check out Becofcno Italian restaurant and the 'Eagles Nest' Panorama tours trip. Try a real Mozart Ball, they are tasty.
We just spent three nights here and enjoyed our stay. The hotel was nice, clean, and with a helpful staff. The room we had was fine and at the back of the hotel with a view of the mountain nearby, nice but not much to look at really. The staff recommended a great Italian restaurant nearby to try, we did 2 out of 3 nights, it was that good. Beccofino is the name of the place and worth checking out. It was only a short 12 min walk to get to the river and touristy parts of town and so worth walking all over this great town. Bring good walking shoes and a decent camera. We also booked a 4 hour bus trip to see the 'Eagles Nest' just over the border in Germany with Panorama Tours. They picked us up at the hotel and to the center of town to meet the rest of the group on the bus. It was so worth the money. If you don't know about the place, google it. I will try to include photos from the place. It was so cool to go there, they also have a longer all day tour that gets you into the salt mines and to an alpine lake, people say it is also good but at 9 hours was too long for us. Just make sure the weather is nice, no point going if is cloudy as you will not see anything. There is a web cam from there you can find and see how it looks before deciding to go. Also it's colder up there so bring layers to put on as needed, depending on time of year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Russell from U.K.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly and helpful. 5-10 mins walk to bars and restaurants, 10 to 15 minute walk to main centre. Wi-fi good and tea and coffee in room was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
I had a real hard time !!!!