Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf, Germany

Nice hotel, but...

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Pros: Breakfast was great. Great convenient location.
Cons: See description above.
Location: Bonnefanten museum was very close by. Old part of town very close.
Generally the hotel was nice, clean, and we had a nice stay. However, the staff was not so friendly. For instance, when I told the guy at check out "Happy Easter", he literally scoffed at me. Scoffed! Nothing else. Even if you don't want to work on Easter Sunday, you're supposed to pretend like you want to. Come on. Also, when I received an upgrade to two connecting rooms, because the room I booked had a sofa bed that only fit one person (although they said it would comfortably fit two people), the said the upgrade would cost 40 Euros extra per night. So I agreed. Once we moved our room, got settled, I came to give back the old keys. The lady then said that her manager said she made a mistake and the upgrade would now cost 65 Euros extra per night. And although this was HER mistake, they expected me to pay it. I don't quite find that ok. Also, my daughter ordered Ceasar Salad and asked for it without the chicken (she's vegetarian). The waiter looked at her funny, took the order, and then walked to over to the cook to and said loud enough for us to hear, "One CEASAR SALAD".. while putting his hands in quotation marks. Very sarcastic. So, besides the staff some of whom seemed quite sarcastic and not so generally glad to be there, the hotel was nice. One day the cleaning people did not clean our room. They just tucked in the toilet paper. I made the beds myself. But it was obvious that no actual cleaning had been done. Oh well. Maybe this was a bad weekend for the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Hotel in good order. No complaints. Good base for visiting the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

New Years visit to Maastricht

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Nice hotel within easy reach of the city centre. If you don’t want to walk the 20 minutes to the centre, the hotel provides a shuttle service every hour but you need to book this in advance. There is no return shuttle, but they suggest using a local taxi with a special rate of €8.50 which we did on a few occasions. The one time we really needed the return taxi, we couldn’t get through on the phone so we picked up a local taxi from outside the main station and it only cost €7.50 on New Years Eve, go figure. Overall, it was a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Mitchell Dieteren, Front-Office Welcomer, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for this review. We really appreciate it! We hope to see you again one time in Novotel Maastricht :) Best wishes,
4 out of 5
by Dominicus

Posted Dec 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Mitchell Dieteren, Front-Office Welcomer, Hotel Management
Thank you very much!
4 out of 5
by Vitaly

A good place to stay if visit the city by car

Posted Dec 20, 2017 on Hotels
A good place to stay if you visit Maastricht by car. The biggest minus: 7.50 EUR parking per day is too much, seriously. The staff is friendly and professional, the breakfast is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Mitchell Dieteren, Front-Office Welcomer, Hotel Management
Dear Vitaly, Thank you for your good review. Kind regards,
1 out of 5
by Gunchul

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
So dirty...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Good location, clean and fairly modern. Nice food and great staff.would benefit for converting a meeting room to a gym.
1 out of 5
by Sabrina

Find another hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
There was fecal matter on the wall in the bathroom! The bed wasn’t comfortable and the air conditioning didn’t cool the room properly. The hotel isn’t located conveniently either so do yourself a favor and book another hotel. The one ok part was the bar area. Had a few beers in the bar/lounge area.
3 out of 5
by David

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Generally very good. Room a little cramped and dirty mark on carpet. Food excellent. Staff very good and helpful.mm
4 out of 5
by Pam

Wonderful staff, comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff are very helpful, and the property is very clean and comfortable. the property is some distance from the historic part of Maastricht. We chose it because it is in walking distance of the convention center.