Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delhi NY

Pleasant

Posted Jan 22, 2018
The hotel is lovely, with a modern and spacious entrance and very courteous staff. Our room is very pleasant though I was surprised that it is smaller than hotel rooms I have stayed in in the past. The area around the hotel is not pretty (parking lots, buildings, etc.) but it is only a couple of blocks from the Science Museum and Union College. The pool is nice too, but we missed a jacuzzi. For our family this was an easy way to stay over and go to the Museum of Innovation and Science the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly luxurious

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Went for one night visiting area colleges. Dreary cold gray weather and met with warm chocolate chip cookies and a friendly face. Our room was clean with two nice, comfy queen beds and cool bathroom door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by tg, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotelto other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care! Regards Tom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Problem with Expedia

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel was fine, recently renovated, nice lobby and pleasant personnel.
Location: Lots to do in Schenectady and they have a good map of downtown locations, restaurants and activities.
My stay should have been booked for 12/10-12/12 which I had initially entered. Then, probably went to a different site and when I returned to Expedia did not notice my date error. Arrived, with no reservation, but they had space and the facility was fine. However, I paid them separately,l an amount BETTER than the Expedia rate, and would like not to be charged for the incorrect date. I am a 72 yr old woman, not very handy with computers and living on a miniscule pension and Soc Security. It was a major effort for me to drive 400 miles each way to visit an old and ailing friend in Schenectady. Please do not charge me for dates I did not stay. Thank you. Eleanor Finn
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, We are happy to hear that the hotel was able to make it right for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Horrible experience with hotel staff. Very inconsiderate
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by GM, Hotel Management
We apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your stay with us. Our main goal is to exceed our guests expectations. Please contact the hotel's AGM or GM if you would like to discuss the matter further. We would appreciate the opportunity to Make it Right for you. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Holiday visit overnighter

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: New. Clean. Modern.
Cons: Bathroom layout.
Location: Walking distance to Proctor's Theater.
Only stayed for a short overnight and had no time to use the pool, exercise equipment, and dining facilities, which from only a short glance looked appealing. The staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel was from my recollection a former Holiday Inn and has been renovated. Immediate impression is that everything was very clean and modern, but some shortcuts were taken in the construction. I am 6'5" and had to duck under some of the "Exit" signs in the hallways. The room had all the newest extras like TV, microwave and refrigerator built into and hidden in the cabinets. My only complaint was the bathroom which was very small but has all the look of a modern bathroom with a walk in shower and sliding glass door. The new toilet was obviously mounted in the same spot as the old during renovation without bothering to change the drain location. If you must sit on the toilet, it is placed so close to the shower glass that you must lean to the side while your shoulder and upper arm rest against the glass. There is also a 6 inch gap between the toilet tank and the wall behind it. Wasted space in an already small bathroom. The door to the bathroom itself is a sliding door, and provides little privacy as it does not seal. There is about a 3/4 inch gap between the inner door surface and the wall on either side, big enough to see through and provides no sound insulation at all. Any bathroom use, be it running water, toilet use, etc., is completely audible to anyone else in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Dtree, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that your room didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used to make necessary improvements. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.
4 out of 5
by Scott

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
A little pricey for what it is; redone a few years ago but recent additions to the hotel scene in the area have larger rooms. Ours was quite small, especially the bathroom. Parking is limited; there's a lot next door, but no sidewalk or paved path from that lot through an area with stones that isn't easy to navigate at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Double Tree Schenectady

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Hotel was beautiful and convenient location for us. Only complaints were the music for the bar a block away while trying to sleep and the wifi not connecting.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Outstanding stay!!!

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was excellent, clean , comfortable, and very nice. Highly recommend this Double Tree Hilton.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good trip everybody at the front desk was great the poor service came in the bar and restaurant at night and breakfast in the morning
4 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels