Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia , Usa

Beautiful place in the mountains

Posted May 28, 2016
This place is awesome ! Nature is refreshing, room was comfortable and food was excellent (of course is not a luxury hotel) but I will recommend this place for everyone who wants to have a great experience with nature and Italian food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the last bastions of authenticity

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Agriturismo Al Marnich is one of the few remaining authentic, family-run agriturismo, serving locally grown, homemade food both at breakfast and dinner. I travel quite a bit around the world and every year I find there are fewer and fewer authentic, family-run hotels/restaurants. Unfortunately, many close and are replaced by hotel chains that all look exactly the same, more or less like an airport terminal. So it is truly refreshing and gives me hope when every once in a while I am still able to come across a place like Al Marnich, which is still anchored in its historical, geographical and cultural surroundings. In addition the staff was most kind and welcoming. They served us delicious food even though we arrived late due to a long drive. The breakfast included local jam, cheese and cold-cuts. I plan to return as soon as I get the chance...
4 out of 5
by Mohammad from manchester, uk

good expirance

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
it was very good. will stay agian
5 out of 5
by Alexandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Bury St Edmunds

Very disappointing.

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointing. We expected a good-sized character room after studying the photos - we were allocated the tiny Room 11 as "we don't give the bigger rooms to guests staying only one night". The room was a single room with a double bed in it - I had to climb over my husband to get into bed! We were looking forward to the usual good food you find in an Agriturismo, but it was mediocre at best - very basic salad buffet (grated carrot, sliced tomatoes, cold pasta salad, etc) and the hyped "mixed grill" was thin strips of meat, a kebab etc(and a hamburger!). The "fixed price" for the meal was much too high, and drinks were extra. The views were good, but over the valley - you can't see the lake. Not worth the half hour drive up from Como to the hotel on a dreadful road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Antonino Bonfiglio, Hotel Management
Dear Madame Elizabeth, first of all, you have booked a standard double room and not a superior double room (it's the cheaper and smaller room that we have and we have only 3 rooms, of this cathegory...: on the website is indicated the approximate size of this room's cathegory and that the standard double rooms are without balcony or terrace...). However, normally the standard double room and in particolar the room n° 11 (where you have stayed...), is appreciated by our guests, for shorts stays...: 1/2 nigths... About the dinner, i have personally and correctly explained you, during the check-in, that on Wednesday the Chef is in day off and that we guarantee the restaurant's service however, but with a fixed menu "Barbecue", with a "cold Buffet" + a main dish based on local grilled meat (Alias...: "barbecue" on a local stone...: very special and normally much appreciated....). The price i have also correctly communicate to you in advance, that is always...: 25.00 Euro per person (Buffet + Main Grilled Menu), drinks excluded. Kind Regards, Agriturismo Al-Marnich - Antonino Bonfiglio - Sales & Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing view from this place and so worth it for the excellent price. Dinner variety is limited, but good. Room was quite warm so either a fan or air con would be have been useful.
4 out of 5
by Brent from usa

overnight

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
nice atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: It's a quiet and peaceful. Even the chicken cooperate and don't crow at 5 am.
Cons: Given where and what it is, nothing.
This property is a working farm, but the family that owns/runs it also rent out rooms as a B&B. The room we had was small, but clean and reasonably comfortable. It's a ways out from everything, so one needs a car to get from place to place. Food was good, albeit somewhat pricey, but we knew that going in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orrville, OH

Great get away

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: We especially enjoyed Room 14 with a wonderful porch/balcony. We were able to do a lot of reading. Loved having our own bathroom.
Cons: The pillows needed refreshed.
Location: Located high in the mountain in the Lake Como area. Enjoyed visiting smaller villages for lunch each day. Plan on renting a car in order to access it.
This was a great place to get away from the crowds and traffic. Hotel was rustic, but loved the view and the staff there was friendly and helpful. Wonderful breakfast included and supper menu was yummy as well. They raise many of the fruits and veggies, and make their own cheese and jams.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mela from birmingham, uk

great view, great food

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: i love the view...nature in it's grand beauty
Cons: to add staff who can speak english and provide transport for non-driving visitors
Location: trek the mountain and experience the mini- cruise to Lake Como....fantastico!
I had a wonderful time at Agriturismo Al Marnich. It's a homey feeling and the view is great. I usually wake-up w/ a panoramic view of the mountain. If u like to trek and enjoy the view, this is the place. Food is great. They make their own cheese, salami and all the foods were harvested from their farm. The only setback is the transport. Since it's on top of the mountain, transport is difficult. It's good that Antonio is very accomodating and sent me to town w/ his car. There was supposed to be an airport shuttle which should have cost me 180 euros return trip but was not available. I hired a taxi instead for a return trip to the airport which costs me 280 euro. Most of the staffs can't speak english as well, so they ring Antonio if I've got a message or passed me on to the lovely lady chef. Regardless of transport and non-english speaking staffs...i will still come back to the place! <3