Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Location with great view. Away from towns. Great atmosphere. Rooms a bit small but nice. Great place to stay for one two nights while you travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia , Usa

Beautiful place in the mountains

Posted May 28, 2016
This place is awesome ! Nature is refreshing, room was comfortable and food was excellent (of course is not a luxury hotel) but I will recommend this place for everyone who wants to have a great experience with nature and Italian food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: It's a quiet and peaceful. Even the chicken cooperate and don't crow at 5 am.
Cons: Given where and what it is, nothing.
This property is a working farm, but the family that owns/runs it also rent out rooms as a B&B. The room we had was small, but clean and reasonably comfortable. It's a ways out from everything, so one needs a car to get from place to place. Food was good, albeit somewhat pricey, but we knew that going in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orrville, OH

Great get away

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: We especially enjoyed Room 14 with a wonderful porch/balcony. We were able to do a lot of reading. Loved having our own bathroom.
Cons: The pillows needed refreshed.
Location: Located high in the mountain in the Lake Como area. Enjoyed visiting smaller villages for lunch each day. Plan on renting a car in order to access it.
This was a great place to get away from the crowds and traffic. Hotel was rustic, but loved the view and the staff there was friendly and helpful. Wonderful breakfast included and supper menu was yummy as well. They raise many of the fruits and veggies, and make their own cheese and jams.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mela from birmingham, uk

great view, great food

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: i love the view...nature in it's grand beauty
Cons: to add staff who can speak english and provide transport for non-driving visitors
Location: trek the mountain and experience the mini- cruise to Lake Como....fantastico!
I had a wonderful time at Agriturismo Al Marnich. It's a homey feeling and the view is great. I usually wake-up w/ a panoramic view of the mountain. If u like to trek and enjoy the view, this is the place. Food is great. They make their own cheese, salami and all the foods were harvested from their farm. The only setback is the transport. Since it's on top of the mountain, transport is difficult. It's good that Antonio is very accomodating and sent me to town w/ his car. There was supposed to be an airport shuttle which should have cost me 180 euros return trip but was not available. I hired a taxi instead for a return trip to the airport which costs me 280 euro. Most of the staffs can't speak english as well, so they ring Antonio if I've got a message or passed me on to the lovely lady chef. Regardless of transport and non-english speaking staffs...i will still come back to the place! <3
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Isolated and Rustic for Us

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: A sign at the fountain. More and better signs.
I found the location extremely difficult to find and am sure that even Sir Edmond Hillery's sherpa JAMLING would be confused and lost finding his way. My GPS kept saying " I'm lost too!" If you eat in their restaurant the food is disappointing and the prices are high. The morning breakfast was disappointing also. The only good thing at breakfast was the home made bread and the raspberry torte.We stayed 4 nights, would have left earlier but they would not allow us to shorten our stay without a full charge. It was 9.5 k's down to lake Como on a treacherous road. Our room was big enough but the bathroom was very poorly designed. I think that the bathroom sink was added as an after thought. The sink was right in front of the toilet and you had to slide sideways into the toilet. I found it difficult as they wanted to run a tab for everything. I would not recommend this place. Stayed Sept. 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lee from maidstone

Might be in the mountains...

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Log fire, restaurant
Cons: Breakfast offer could have more variety
Location: Supermarket about 2 mins drive, useful. Lake como, como is nice itself, but bellagio is beautiful. Make sure you use the boats to speed up a drive.
A nice hotel, which is about 10 mins drive up the hill, but has spectacular views over the hills to lake como. The staff are all very pleasant and work hard. The rooms are all clean and very well equipped. The restaurant was well priced and did a limited but excellent menu which changes each night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda

Fantastic Service

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Unsurpassed customer service to rectify a hiccough.
Cons: When people are this helpful and efficient, it's hard to find fault.
Considering that we didn't stay at this place on this occasion, the review may seem odd...but hear me out. We booked through Expedia for the second time in three weeks (traveling through to southern Italy). The first time I've already reviewed. This time, sadly, despite paying there was an overbooking. Unlike other places where we have been overbooked via Expedia, these people were really helpful. Other places have always said "We've no room, sorry" and left you to your peril. Not these people. They offered us a choice of three possible alternatives in the area. We chose one in the same road and they took care of everything else - transferred the booking, the payment and ensuring that the breakfast was included too - all of this while remaining very pleasant. Despite the overbooking, the experience turned out to be great and I left with an even better opinion of the owners than I had following our previous stay. It really is the people that make a difference in so many cases. Following their actions here, we will seek them out whenever we are passing through. Can't recommend them highly enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from London

Typical Agriturismo

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff and great views.
Having stayed here, the reviews seen on Trip Advisor etc were put into perspective. People really shouldn't moan about a working farm having a cockerel that crows early in the morning or a slightly bumpy bit of road at the front of it. As for people who complain that it's up a mountain, I can only assume they have no idea of the area of Como. So, what is this place like for those who do know the area and understand what happens on a working farm? Pretty typical really, with one notable exception: the views. Being high up, the views over the hills is stunning and on a sunny day, lounging in one of their chairs is a real pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimmy Wak from Surrey, UK

Sad to leave=(

Posted Sep 26, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff and home cooked/grown food.
Cons: Road surface for the last 1km of the climb there.
Location: 9km up a mountain, but the views make up for that. As a racing cyclist... perfect.
Honestly don't have a bad thing to say about this find of a retreat... and as a keen racing cyclist, having my bike with me to enjoy the awesome Lombardia riding territory was fantastic. My fiancee also enjoyed the experience too; the views from the room and the friendly warm reception from the staff was incredible. The meals consisted of farm grown and local produce , so although we had a hire car, most nights chose to eat there. My only reservation about giving this review is that more people will find out about it and the money will go up=)