Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver,Canada

samll room and not friendly reception

Posted Jul 27, 2017
we faced a stricted receptionest when arrived and been reqested to summit each personal ID or passport to make copies even though I booked two rooms under my name. one of the rooms is small that equipped with a double mattress and narrow space on the both side of the bed. Be alert, no air conditioner. Also, we were asked to pay cash plus 12%tax, instead of 6%. In the tiny lobby aera, I was charging my electronic gadgets and moved the sitting chair closer to the outlet when nobody around at 10pm. The receptionest pushed the chair back to the original place and insisted that the layout of the sitting aera can not be shifted. I said I would moved it back when I am finished. He ignored me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It was a nightmare...

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: More friendly to the customers
Since the hotel does not provide shuttle transportation between the airport and the hotel, my family and I took a train (it took us 40 minutes) and then walked about 20 minutes to get to the hotel. I booked a room for two adults through Expedia.com and I have a 10 years old daughter with us. According to the booking policy of Expedia, one child under 11 years old should not be charged for staying with the parents in a room, but they charged us 30 Euros extra for my daughter to stay with us in the same room, making the total charge over 100 Euros!. Obviously, they robbed us. There was a jucuzzi hot tub in the bathroom, but it was leaking and the floor was very wet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Just some mans house. Extremely far away from everything including airport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, AB

Location in city center.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Better directions from train station to the hotel are needed.
Location: Right on main street. Close to city center and shops as well as near by parks.
This location is on the main street close to shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room in small village setting

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The owners were wonderful and very helpful. They went out of their way even though we were a very late arrival..
We had a wonderful time at this location. The balcony attached to the room was very relaxing which was just what we needed. Their outside garden area was wonderful with a gate leading to the playground and a walking path. We were able to get everything we needed around the corner with several stores and an added plus was the man selling fresh fish and fried fish in the morning, right around the corner. I would recommend this location to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Nice and clean but far from the public transport

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and clean room.
Location: Located in a residential area, not much around expect for a few shops that open late and close early. So I never saw them open.
First, notice that if you are a tourist without a car trying to stay out and do as much as possible don't stay here ! It is a small house turned into a hotel in the middle of a residential area that has a few businesses around, most closes around 9 pm. It is at least a 15 minute walk to the station from the hotel, or 11 minutes to the closest bus which at the end makes about a 30-40 minute trip to the Amsterdam downtown. However, the staff was friendly and the room looked clean and nice. The bed was comfortable, the shower was clean always, and the bed was comfortable. One last thing to mention was that the room smelled funny, I never notified it because I rarely saw the manager as I left early and got back late. Overall it was a good experience the main problem with it is the location, other than that everything is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alvin, TX

Definitely recommend for the traveling couple!

Posted May 6, 2017
Alex Rooms had the cleanest beds I've ever seen at a hotel. Very pleasant stay. Everything was great and the staff was very friendly. On our first day we got lost and we called Alex and he recommended a taxi. It should have been around 200€ for the trip but we were only charges 35€. Bus station was literally 5 minutes walking up the road and it takes you to central Amsterdam. Over all very nice and perfect for our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Comfortable hotel, close to public transport

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: I was impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of my room, and with the helpfulness of the one staff member that I met.
Cons: My main criticism is that although a coffee machine was listed on the amenities, there wasn't one in the room.
Location: It's quiet and pretty, pleasant to walk around.
I needed a good place to stay near the airport, and was happy to find this small hotel in a quiet, pleasant town. I didn't see many restaurants, but there are a couple of good stores very close by. It was a bit disappointing that although other reviewers mentioned an airport shuttle, I was told that there wasn't one. However, you can get to the train station by bus, or walk there in about 20 minutes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely Avoid!

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Freezing cold. No heating with 4 degree weather outside at night. Horrible experience caused me to get sick. Asked the manager several times to turn on the central heating and he invented some story about the city controlling the heating and shrugged his shoulders. Asked him for an electrical heater and he refused also. In the room was probably around 10 to 8 degrees celsius. Really uncomfortable. Big balcony but useless in the cold. Fresh towels everyday because in the freezing cold they didn´t dry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great hotel close to Amsterdam and Airport

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The room was brilliant and the owner was very friendly from start to finish. We felt very welcome here and had access to a range of facikities, including a private balcony from our room. Although no food facilities within the hotel, 2 supermarkets and a good selection of restaurants are within less than 5 minutes walk, with the owner offering advice with this if needed. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet, with fresh towels and a neatly made bed each day. Family Guy, in English is also available on the TV in the room. Would stay again if visiting Amsterdam, only 2 stops from centraal station and 3 stops from airport, however buy tickets in advance at a service desk at centraal or airport as the machines at halfweg station only accept card or coins, Not notes and inspectors were seen on the trains most days.