Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Hotel To Stay In

Posted Sep 10, 2017
I stayed for 3 nights and i am pretty happy with the facilities and amenities that i got with the price i paid. Hotel staff is pretty friendly and helpful, rooms are clean. It's in quite and calm neighborhood of Hoofdddorp but an easy access from the station. It's around 30 mints away from Amsterdam Centraal station and that's a plus being close to it. I would surely recommend it to the others fellow travelers :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcs, UK

A good value hotel not too far from the city

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Good location to public transport (about 15 - 20 mins to city)
Cons: Replenish drinks supply...but not much really 😀
Location: 20 min to city by public transport but lots of leafy green areas to explore if you want a stroll
Enjoyed our stay. The neighbourhood is quiet and pleasant to walk through but there is a busy road/motorway (?) near by. We travelled from the airport by train & bus (such an efficient public transport system) and the hotel was about a 5 minute walk from the station. You need to keep alert to the cycle lanes as they also have mopeds on them. Hotel staff speak excellent English and are very helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable and had a small fridge provided. We didn't have the tea/coffee replaced when room cleaned but front desk were more than happy to sort this out. I left feeling I had good value for money and would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

Good value...courteous and helpful staff...

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Stayed at the Bastion after leaving a TERRIBLE hotel near downtown Amsterdam...early... But...I am so glad I made the decision to switch...even though I had to pay a 1 night penalty! Great staff...room was clean and quiet...(unlike the previous hotel)... Would definitely recommend the Bastion...and will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Amsterdam...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cheaper than center hotels

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Service.
Cons: I would like to be advice of the shuttle before the trip. Also I didn't like to pay those extra taxes.
It was good overall. You can save by not being in the center.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very bad stuff and customer service . Unfriendly cleaning stuff . Every morning waking me up knocking on the door like it was their room !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria, UK

Half hour to airport by free shuttle bus.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
I got off the free shuttle bus at the Bastion Hotel but at reception, trying to check in, I was told that I was at the wrong hotel. There are three hotels, all called the Bastion Hotel. The free bus had left by then and as it was the last one at 11.30 pm, i had to get a taxi. That cost me 18.50 Euros. Apparently tourists are always going to the wrong place, not knowing there are three, all with the same name. How ridiculous is that? The first hotel was very smart and glamorous but I did not like the staff. Two young women were dealing with one client and the third one dealt with a man behind me. Then the three were just chatting and still ignoring me, until I said 'Excuse me, can I check in please'. The third girl looked very surprised, and said 'Oh, yes, of course', as if I had been invisible, or I had just been standing at the desk for no reason. I got no sympathy for having got the wrong hotel, and no offer of how to get to the correct one, until I asked her. So then she called a taxi for me. On arrival at the second hotel, the young man at reception could not have been nicer. Very pleasant, polite and helpful. Excellent. This hotel was a little older and a lot less glam than the other, but much more welcoming and comfortable. The only fault for me being that there was no lift, but there was only one more floor, and I was offered help with my bags. Great breakfast. It took an hour longer than necessary to get there. Not impressed with the company!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kington

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Clean, tidy and well looked after. The staff where very helpful
Cons: Not much
Location: It was a little do far from Amsterdam for my journey. But the shuttle buses and public transport was excellent
The staff where very helpful. The hotel was very clean and new looking. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel but it looked like there was a good selection. There is a mini bus shuttle every 30 mins to the airport. Then from the airport you can get trains quite easily to Amsterdam. The mini bus drivers where very helpful too. For my trip this hotel was a little to far out of Amsterdam central. But it was an excellent stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very Happy, Close to a buss stop and away big city

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: we really like everything about it. we definiteness will return if we can.
Cons: n/a
Location: we did not explore the neighborhood.
We love the location of the hotel, the size of the room and the staff's services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not near the airport at all

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Comfy room
Cons: Sweep and mop the floors
Location: Nothing to do nearby. Takes over an hour to get into central
I booked this hotel because I thought it was close to the airport but that wasn't to case it took us over an hour just to get to Amsterdam central everyday we were there the walks at long and the hotel is in the middle of no where. The room was an ok temperature the only thing I didn't like was That the floor was so dusty! As my black were black. I looked under the beds and I saw mountains of dust swept under the bed overall it was a ok stay and we had a ok sleep on our single beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet surroundings!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Overall, we are happy with our stay. If only the wash basin in the bathroom can be deeper! I will give top marks for what we pay for.