Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Comfortable stay

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Cons: Shuttle bus runs every 1/2 hour, which makes the waiting a bit long, shorter waits will be much appreciated.
Location: Hotel is at 15 minutes shuttle bus from Schiphol airport, convenient for those who have connection flights
Hotel is nice, clean and comfortable, staff is helpful and friendly. I had an inconvenient since the invoice from the hotel covers only what I pay in the hotel (i.e. city tax) so had to do a lot of convincing to claim expenses to my company without printed and stamped invoice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by AMSAS, Hotel Management
Dear Juan, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding your invoice, we understand that it might be inconvenient for you. However, the hotel can not provide an invoice for a charge which has not be paid in the hotel but via the travel agent. Therefor we were only able to provide you the city tax invoice. To avoid this kind of inconvenience in the future, please contact us directly and we will be more than happy to assist you. With kind regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
I was surprised to see how nice this place was! For a quick airport transfer, the hotel was very nice and would go again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/madam, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. This gives us clear information about the services and facilities you are satisfied and not-satisfied about. We are pleased to read you had a pleasant and efficient stay in our property. We look forward to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very convenient

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Easy shuttle to/from airport. Shopping center and restaurants a short walk away. Quiet area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Overall a very convenient spot For an overnight layover.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by AMSAS, Hotel Management
Dear Jen, Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you had a comfortable stay with us. Hope to see you again! With warm regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Art deco hotel with a Hostel style bed

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Art deco and breakfast variety of foods was excellent.
Cons: MATTRESSES need replacing PERIOD They are cheap and unfit for any hotel above a one star hotel. Train staff to offer solutions for their clients?
Location: Free Airport transportation and close to train station or even walk to a store in local suburb town center.
The owner seemed to spare no expense on decorating this hotel as the lobby, breakfast area, elevators, hallways, room baths are 5 stars. But when looked at the room mattress was in shock. A canvas covered metal spring mattress with absolutely zero padding. a thin sheet and a very thin cloth on top of mattress. Most hostels I remember had better mattresses. The staff at the from the front desk knows of this and offers no solutions which was frustrating as I have had spine surgery and had chosen this hotel for the sleep comfort. All hotel clients stay in a hotel is to sleep and the hotel bed is a priority. The Holiday Inn Express is well known for their comfortable pillow top mattresses as I have stayed in many over the last 7 years of business travel in the States. I had to return to the front desk staff to ask them for a spare comforter to put over the board like mattress to cushion it. They replied there was not one available in the whole hotel. Not one single spare? I mentioned what if a guest spills something or soils a comforter? There must be a spare somewhere. This seems unlikely to not have another? I asked them if they could retrieve one from another hotel room possibly and explained my spine and back situation? Where finally 1 of the 2 went to check for spare comforters in the hotel and provided one to my room after my request. I have traveled for business 7 years and spent well over 200 nights in hotels and can honestly say this was the worst mattress ever seen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by AMSAS, Hotel Management
Dear Mr./Mrs., Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. We value your feedback as it helps u to improve our service. I am sorry to hear you found our mattress uncomfortable. We will discuss this with the right department to have a look what we can do to improve this. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel. With warm regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smyrna, GA

Relatively close to the airport

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Shuttle service.
Cons: Accuracy of descriptions for beds in rooms.
Location: Located in a business neighborhood - not close to restaurants or pubs.
We chose this hotel due to the brand and the location - we were only in Amsterdam for a few hours and wanted to be close to the airport. The pros: shuttle service, clean rooms, free breakfast. The cons: small, uncomfortable bed for two, lack of restaurants nearby, and misleading information. When we checked in, we were asked if we wanted two beds or one - I asked the size of the single bed and the reply was "king". When we got to our room, however, it was a double bed. I called back to the desk and was informed that a king sized bed did not exist in the hotel...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by AMSAS, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We value your feedback as this will helps us improving our service for guests. Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future! With warm regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Not value for money

Posted Dec 2, 2017
1. No room service. 2. Giving Toothpaste & Shaving kit only upon request 3. Not giving at least 1 water bottle as complementary 4. No complementary machine for tea/coffee at reception area 5. Room size looks like suit size in snap but no actually it's very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Great hotel close to airport

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Comfortable beds, great breakfast, friendly staff, good internet, transfers on time
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cheri, Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Holiday Inn Express is my go-to place between flights in Amsterdam for several years running. Dependable airport shuttle, sumptuous Dutch breakfast buffet, amiable staff, fluffy pillows, great WiFi, modern bathroom... what’s not to like? Course, I still have to pack my adaptor for plug-ins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It was a pleasure having you here. We look forward to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel for short stay

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Overnight stay for flight connection. Clean, nice and efficient staff. Bed would be uncomfortable for longer stay for seniors. Easy shuttle connection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your stay with us. It seems like you experienced a wonderful stay with great service. That is great to read. We look forward to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to Schiphol, Airport Shuttle

Posted Nov 15, 2017
This is a nice property. I chose it because of its location for a flight out of Schiphol and it had good ratings--which it lived up to. The room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The lobby is very welcoming with areas for working or relaxing. Breakfast was a wide offering and very good--also a welcoming atmosphere. There was a free hotel shuttle to and from the airport--a large bus that serves a few hotels--with assistance with heavy luggage which is very welcome after a flight. I'd definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to welcome you back. With warm regards, Team Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol