Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Stephen R

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
by Beth

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
I booked this hotel because it was located under "Hallstatt." In the description, it says 11 miles from Hallstatt. That is as the crow flies. Driving, it was about 80 kilometers. Having said that, the hotel was spacious with a good kitchen. After several days of travel, we appreciated the washer and dryer in the hotel. There are two washers and dryers in the basement of the hotel. Having read previous reviews, I knew we would pay for WiFi. The Alpine Club was a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017
Hallstatt is 70 km away from Schladming / Rohrmoos and not 11 miles - where did you read this information? I assume who ever entered this distance had the air distaine in mind this information was not posted from the resort.
1 out of 5
by Henri

Forget about pictures, it is so bad condition.

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Forget about pictures in the webpage. It is too far away with those nice pictures. They are under construction, and condition of room was so bad. That is why we have just left even before checking out date. I think this is a kind of cheating people with wrong information.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations. We have a programme of continuous development and improvement and this is for the benefit for all guests visiting the resort. We would advise that refurbishment information is communicated to a guest at the time of making a booking. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of your allocated apartment. We will be more than happy to look into this further and you can contact us directly with more information via contact us form on our website or you can send us a private message. We do appreciate your feedback and we wish you all the best on your future travels. Doris Moessinger Resort Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
no free wifi, no spa as stated, poor service, rude staff
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the service received during your holiday. We would advise that Wi-Fi and leisure facilities are in addition to the price paid and this would have been noted at time of booking. We are truly sorry if the team gave the impression of being rude. We do not want you to feel like you were not a valued guest and you can be assured that Diamond Resorts International® is absolutely committed to the highest standards of guest satisfaction and hospitality. We would reiterate that we are genuinely sorry that you experienced disappointment with our service. We do appreciate your feedback and we wish you all the best on your future travels. Doris Moessinger Resort Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Alps!

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
A great place to relax!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, great accomodation

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: huge bedrooms, very large balcony and nice gameroom.
Cons: most facilities are charged, even the wifi.
Location: not a very convenient place, but if you dont mind driving 1-2 hours you can go to hallstatt or attersee, where you go alongside the beautiful lakes.
It has great facilities and is very quiet.The room is very clean and spacious. However, we wish that it could provide breakfast, and wifi or other facilities should not be charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found the resort offered good facilities and and large accommodations. We do hope you consider staying with us again in the future. We would love to welcome you back to our resort. Doris Moessinger Resort Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely place. Lovely staff. Lovely price A++
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay for family trip

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately no free wifi n paid laundry machines/service is a distant from room
5 out of 5
by Roman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels