Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Superior Room - Very smoky

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Restaurant Food and staff in restaurant were very good.
Cons: Rooms, Cleaning Staff, Management approach to taxi issue.
Location: Three or Four cable car trips, boating on lakes, nice variety of shops, scenery.
We paid extra for a Superior room, but the room was so smoky, that the smell was on our clothes some 5 days after leaving the hotel. Constantly had to ask for toiletries, and for the room to be vacuumed. Cleaners took our refundable water bottles which we were storing up to get refund at supermarket. Bathroom tile grout was black around shower, not nice. Bed linen and towels, not fresh, seemed a little worn out. Overall the Superior room could do with a makeover. Got ripped off by the taxi the hotel provided to take us to Tengensee bus station, 15km charged €50 !! Spoke to local cream coloured taxis at the bus station they said max €30, still awaiting refund from hotel. The hotel deny any connection with the taxi company, but he presented some local trips on the welcome evening, was seen drinking/eating with management, and eating the guest buffet provided when we came to collect us, so well know to the hotel, and yet they overcharge their guest, very disappointed, I thought the hotel should look after their guests?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff in a great location.

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location with amazing staffing. Everyone goes above and beyond to help you in every way. The people make the difference!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service!

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Employees were excellent. The property manager Dimitry and reservation manager Peia took a group to the Oktoberfest and back on the train. Great hosts the whole time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ireland

over priced!

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel was the most expensive on our holiday. but it was also the most disappointing. the hotel is in need of a refurbishment. the wifi is poor at best, and often non existent. we waited for 25 minutes in the restaurant to order a drink, which when ordered never arrived. the waitress in duty that evening was over worked covering the drinks and dinner service. for some strange reason the bar seems to close when the restaurant opens! this makes no sense to me! location-wise it's out of the town and remote unless you have a car to drive into town. I felt over charged, even though we used our free night with hotels.com to pay for some of the charge!
5 out of 5
by Janet Kutchka from Victoria Tx

Trip with spouse

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Love the hotel and the town. Always a great destination
5 out of 5
by GB from KS, USA

Lovely visit to Schliersee

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Alpenclub Schliersee. The rooms are large, and include a sitting area, a large bathroom with a tub, and we had a small balcony with a view of the foothills of the alps. The staff was polite and helpful. There's also a nice bar, a buffet style restaurant on site, and a spa that includes facials and massage treatments. Also available are an indoor pool, hot tub, pool table and a two lane bowling alley, so lots of activity onsite if you are bringing your family. There's a small lake that's about a 10 min walk from the facility. The small village is lovely, with several great dining options. If you're interested in hiking or biking Schliersee is a great spot with many hiking and biking trails through the lovely countryside.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul

MY thoughts

Posted Feb 22, 2013
Pros: The pool hot-tub
Cons: None
Location: A beautiful location with lost to offer
A charming hotel which has everything you would want for a stay, knowledgeable staff who can advice on things to do in and around the hotel, an excellent bar, with staff who know the drinks and services to match. Overall an inexpensive hotel which offers super service in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel/resort for anyone!

Posted Sep 3, 2012
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect
This place has everything, for everyone - oh and its right next to the Alps which is nice!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, not "stupendous" as per other reviews

Posted Aug 17, 2012
This hotel is OK. It is no earthly paradise (as some other reviewers seem to think), but it is (typically German) clean, comfortable and in a reasonable (but not A1) location in this beautiful but quiet area. Nothing wrong with it at all, but after my stay I did wonder about some of the really gushing reviews.