Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by JRT from Illinois

Hotel Alpengluck

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Room was very comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.There was an issue with the information on the Hotels.com website. The website states that each room comes with a washer and dryer. Since we were going tobe in the middle of our vacation, we booked the hotel, so we could do laundry. When we got to the hotel we asked about the washer and dryer and were greeted with a blank stare. The information is not correct, and no washers and dryers exist. However, Daniel and Utte stepped up and had our clothes washed in the hotel's own laundry, at no charge. We were very appreciative. In fact Utte did the actual washing.The restaurant was good, but not great. My trout dinner contained a few bones, and my wife's goolash was tough, but tasty.Overall, a pleasant stay, which could have been upsetting, but the staff rescued us. By the way, Utte said she will get the information on the website fixed
4 out of 5
by K from K

Beautiful location in the mountains

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels
Beautiful place to stay and clean room. Used as a base to travel to Salzburg and mountain areas. A little remote so limited options for dinner, but found we were able to make do just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alejandro from Montreal

Nice hotel in Berchtesgaden

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: The staff was and friendly helpfull. The premises were very well kept.
Location: THe hotel is by the main road driving out of Berchtesgaden. THe surroundings are very beautiful. The terasse has a nice view of the mountains.
The staff is excellent and friendly. We arrived in the evening and had dinner on the terasse. The restaurant is good. The room was clean and spacious. There's attention to detail.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mariana from Fl

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels
We head a great stay at this place and would return back any chance we have. We checked in very late but we asked if we can still get something to eat, the kitchen was closed but the lady put something together for us within few minutes. We couldn't have asked for a better place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful spot in mountains near Berchtesgaden

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels
Great spot to stay in the mountains on the way to Berchtesgaden. A beautiful setting and nice clean facility. But no elevator. Great breakfast. We had the best dinner meal of our two week trip at small restaurant across the street. A little out of the way but worth it for beautiful scenery.
5 out of 5
by Shirley from Wisconsin

European vacation

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels
Excellent, friendly staff ,, great breakfast
5 out of 5
by Egon

excellent

Posted Jan 3, 2013 on Hotels
excellent location and the room and food were excellent. Only issue was the address which our GPS had a difficult time to find...we finally had to inquire at a private home to see if they knew where the hotel was located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Europtripman from Utah

Quiet hotel but poor service.

Posted Oct 19, 2012
Pros: The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: The shower did not drain properly and flooded and the promised computer with internet did not work.
Location: In a quiet tiny village on a main road, easy to find with NAV but hard without.
This hotel has a good price and comfortable beds and is conveniently located to Salzburg and Berchtesgaden. Staff is kept at a minimum. You have to check in by 9 p.m., which became very stressful for us coming from Neuschwanstein Castle. We left in plenty of time after seeing the castle but rain and small country roads with heavy traffic delayed us far beyond what we thought. This was the only place I have stayed that had a check in deadline. We ended up arriving 7 minutes before the dead line and since it was pre-paid online we were stressed about that. The staff welcomed us at the deadline but soon afterward gave us a key, locked up and went home for the evening (they give you a key to get in and out). The computer at the computer station didn't work and our drain in the bathroom wouldn't drain and the floor flooded. There was no one to contact in the hotel until the next morning so we just dealt with it. The next morning we asked a staff member to fix the computer so we could get on the internet, but he couldn't fix it and just said sorry and walked away. Check out on our online paperwork was for 11 a.m. but at 10 a.m. maids were roughly knocking on our door and telling us check out was at 10 a.m. When we showed them the paperwork they yelled for a manager who apologized somewhat, but we still felt rushed out as the maids proceeded to sit on a couch outside our room and wait for us to leave. It is a beautiful little place in the country but the service needs help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely maintained albeit a bit out of the way

Posted Aug 1, 2012 on Hotels
This is a very nice place to stay with good German breakfasts (with an excellent variety of jams available). It is a bit out of the way for some things - but close to Salzburg and other local attractions. Just be aware that there is not a lot to do right in the little town of the hotel. The hotel is right along the highway and the road noise was a bit loud at first, but not enough to keep me up at night.