Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel of our Germany trip!

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
I highly recommend this hotel. The room was large and the internet good. We had a tasteful and enjoyable meal at the hotel restaurant in the evening, and enjoyed our morning breakfast. Viewing the photos of all the famous people that have stayed here in the past was interesting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Chalet

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is high up on a mountain, but is very charming with a restaurant and huge glass windows overlooking a garden. The breakfast is great and the amenities like the pool and sauna were a pleasant surprise. We were put on the top floor with no elevator, so three flights of stairs was not fun. This would be a great hotel for a romantic getaway and a short drive to town. The room that we had was located at the end of the hallway, so our frosted bathroom window next to the sink was visible to others in the hallway. Unfortunately we did not understand why we had a crowd outside our room until we saw the visibility that apparently was given of me topless drying my hair. They should probably put curtains or blinds on the bathroom window.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago area

Everything Bavaria is just there.

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Everything is generously presented in very Bavarian style
Cons: English translation for everything in vicinity would be the must. For some reason Germany in whole just ignoring everything English....
Location: Hiking, seeing, feeling, eating, talking to enormously wonderful people, visiting small German villages or go to Salzburg and get cultured.
Better to have car to see more. Hiking in the lake area exceptional, but get ready for the rough terrain. Only several miles away are Bad Reichenhall with Rupertus Therme-for the very unusual spa experience. Plus Salt mines museum.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WiFi Limitations!

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
On a one night stay, the food was great, both for breakfast and dinner (complimentary salad). But... WiFi only works near the reception AND is limited to two devices! So if you are like me, have a laptop, iPad and iPhone, only two of them will work on the hotel WiFi. If you get put in the newer building (the one that doesn't have reception) then WiFi won't work from your room at all. By modern standards, that's terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Max Stoll, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We meanwhile offer free High-speed WiFi in the whole hotel, as rooms, facilitie-areas, garden etc. We would be glad to welcome you again and remain Sincerely yours Stoll's Hotel Alpina Max Stoll
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average quality hotel..

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Little bit far from Berchtesgaden station.(20 min. by foot) Service : Some were friendly. Some were not or so so. Room : some walking sound are heard from upper floor at night breakfast : just so so.. ham, eggs, some salad & fruit. But coffee was nice So, overall, just average service & facility.. a bit far from the nearby station.. If you have car, it will be ok..by the way They provide some transportation card and with this you can use bus for free just showing to the driver(and some discount for eagle's nest ticket when buying tickets. just bring it and show to the ticket clerk) Around the hotel, scenery is very beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Fabulous setting our room had balcony with mountain view. Great breakfast, Wi-Fi, garden area and pool.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in the room
Location: Few minutes drive from Berctesgarten and lakes. Short walk to local village. Access to cycle and walking paths.
The hotel was perfect for our three night stay. It was a few minutes drive away from the busy centre of Berchesgarden and a short walk from a great Brauhaus for a more traditional eating and drinking experience. The hotel was set in a beautiful location with surrounding mountains which allowed you sit in the big garden or swim in the outdoor pool. Hotel facilities were good, with sauna area, kids room and plenty of free parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dan from London, UK

Great hotel for a family skiing holiday

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Spacious hotel with sauna, steam room, spa treatment. Indoor pool, table tennis, football room to entertain the kids. Very friendly family staff !
Cons: Mix of old and new furnitures. Big rooms but no sofa in the living room. Bigger choice of meals in the restaurant.
Location: Close to Salzburg airport (20 minutes), trains and buses in walking distance. Great location to go skiing in in nearby German and Austrian resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Dublin

Lovely hotel in perfect location!

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: The location, garden, pool, sauna, rooms, staff... I liked everything!
Location: Great location with the bus stop just off the road with connection to Berchtesgarden and Koenigssee. Perfect for hiking!
Had a fantastic stay. Room was big and clean and even the bathroom was spacious! On arrival I got a free upgrade to a better room which was a very nice touch! Garden is big and very well kept, the pool was clean and the sauna a nice relaxing place to be after a day of hiking. Had a massage and was very happy with it! Lounge very comfortable and the drinks very nice, I can recommend the Cocktail Alpina. The Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and made me very welcome. The breakfast buffet was lovely and had a wide variety of cheeses, meat, breads, cereals, fruit, and warm food on demand. The dinner was very delicious! I would definately stay here again! Thanks for a wonderful stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granbury, TX

Would Stay Here Again

Posted Aug 9, 2006
Very nice hotel, comfortable beds and room, friendly staff, meals in restaurant were excellent. Two drawbacks - There is not a lift for getting to rooms. Had to carry heavy luggage up two flights of stairs to our room on the second floor. Although hotel provided internet connections for guests with laptops, we do not travel with a computer. It would be helpful if the hotel would provide a computer for guest use, especially for e-mails.