Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Paul

Unimpressed.

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Room was ridiculously hot. Fan only helped slightly. Wifi not working. TV not working. I would advise spending a little extra on a decent hotel for comfort.
5 out of 5
by robert

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good location. Near train and travel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Let us in!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
There's no accessible street entrance or even a doorbell to ring. Once you find the place, you then have to phone them and wait for them to let you in. There's no warning of this. Not very convenient for a foreign traveller without a telephone. i had to look for a public telephone after I arrived. Bloody annoying.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Stephanie from Nashville

Don't stay here

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
I do NOT recommend this place. We kept in touch with an employee of Pension Thomas before our arrival because we knew we would have to do a late check in. He promised us that someone would be manning the desk when we arrived to check us in. We got there, the building was locked, and no one was around to assist us. We called the number again and someone eventually showed up more than half an hour later to let us in. We stood outside on a sketchy street until this person got there. When we were shown our room the sheets and curtains were very stained and gross and the wi-fi was broken. We decided not to stay the other nights we had booked and when we tried to check out early the next morning we found that there was no guest services desk to speak of even in the main area of the building that was inaccessible the night before. We tried calling the same number a couple of times and no one ever picked up or called back so we just had to leave our key. Hotels.com did a great job of taking care of us after the fact but this "hotel" did a terrible job of fulfilling their side of the deal. I would not suggest anyone stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Decent stay

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Location: Location was pretty decent, as it is close to a bunch of busses and subway. There is also a swimming pool nearby, apparently, but we didn't go.
It wasn't bad! Great for our budget. Bathroom & kitchen are shared between other guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little place!

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived in Berlin far later than expected and actually missed check-in by one hour. The hotel staff were very understanding and came along to let us in and give us our key even though we were too late. The guy who gave us our key was helpful and friendly, and recommended some restaurants for us to go to that were open late. Relaxed vibe to the place. No corkscrew in the mini kitchen though, so if you're buying wine, get a screw top. The showers have good pressure and the water is plenty warm. The little kitchen area is well stocked with tea etc. Great for a short stay!
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Arrive on time

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay. Make sure you let them know if you arrive after 8. They have a lockbox for the key but you will be standing in the street if you don't know the code.
3 out of 5
by Killian from dublin

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Nice staff, clean rooms and bathrooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Room for improvement.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: Price, comfortable bed.
Cons: A reasonable entry system and a T.V. that was not all German programmes and you could watch without standing on a chair with the ariel in your hand!!.
Location: Very good location that's within easy walking distance of the S-Bahn. Cafes and restaurants' nearby.
Arrived in the afternoon during the "check in" period. Front door on the street was locked. After a wait wondering how to get in, a couple coming down the stairs, they let me in. At the top of the stairs there was a safe which I opened with a pin# which I had received by a text that morning.. I had no contact, or even saw a proprietor or staff during my six day stay. So much for the promised reception between 2/6pm. How others had gained entry, I don't know. I was told by a fellow guest on my last day that there was a phone number written on the front door. This turned out to be a small ball pen written number in the corner of a Wordart A4 sheet on the front door, but no indication to phone for entry if this is indeed the "method" Hope you have a charged phone! even if you see it. Otherwise the room was basic,though clean reflecting the cost. The free WiFi was dependable and a good welcome "extra" Total lack of contact and a " think on your feet" entry system my only, but important, concern.