Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Joseph J from Bristol

Most wonderful staff!

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
The staff made dinner for me even though I arrived very late to the hotel. The food was wonderful, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They represent their country very well. I am from America and they did everything possible to make me feel welcome. I highly recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
by vinay neturi from Frankfurt am Main

hotel review

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels
The Stay at Falken was food and memorable.
5 out of 5
by L. H. from Canada

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
Not much English spoken but they certainly tried. Comfortable quirky hotel. We enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
by JH from NH

Top of the Mountain

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels
Great staff, great restaurant, english spoken. Lots of kitsch. Room was PINK everywhere. Comfortable beds. Bathroom shower very cozy. Bring your own bath amenities including washcloth as washcloths are not standard in German hotels. Hard to find in the dark - signs not illuminated. Only stayed one night as we were passing thru the Black Forest on whirlwind trip thru southern Germany. Schoenwald is a sleepy place in December.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Orn from Iceland

Excellent for the price!

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Condition, cleanliness, and service was better than what we dared to hope for given how cheap it was. The staff/owners really went out of their wake to provide excellent service. Food, both the dinner and the breakfast, was superb! Free parking with easy access for luggage from behind the place. Make sure you have cash, as I don't think they take credit cards. Only problem was that the bed squeaked as you rotated / adjusted yourself. Wouldn't have been an issue, except we had a small child with us which awokened easily.
4 out of 5
by TK

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels
A very nice place to stay for the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tal from Israel

Comfortably situated, cozy and friendly.

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Overall no complaints.
Cons: Would be better if payment could be made with credit card (only cash was accepted).
We stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is located in a central location, stuff is very friendly. Overall a very enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
by Klaus from American Living in Switzerland

Very, Very Nice Little Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay here. It's a very typical German hotel room, and I mean that in a good way. The room was immaculate, as you would expect. Not large by any means, but certainly not small either, especially compared to other European hotel rooms. We were quite comfortable, and breakfast out on the patio was very special and the food was very good, including an egg cooked to order, just the way you like it. If the location suits you, I think this is a great hotel and offers very good value for money. I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice get away

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable. Bar and restaurant at hotel. The hotel has the feel of a B and B
5 out of 5
by Michael from USA

A Great Bavarian Experience

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel/restaurant has a lot of character and a very home-like feel. The service was excellent from check-in that evening through breakfast out on the patio the next morning. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. The local town has a lot of charm and made for a pleasant walk. The nearby church stops chiming its bells at 10pm, but they started the next morning at 6am--not the worst thing in the world, just be prepared for it. We would definitely return to this hotel the next time we are in the Black Forest!