Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great stay -- close to the Neuschwanstein castle

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Close to the famous Neuschwanstein castle. You caan walk there if you want to ( 3.5KM away ). Also close to a supermarket ( REWE ) if want to get som
Great stay . The room was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was good . Ample .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Friendly and great service.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Lots to see and do for the outdoor loving people.
Very clean, comfortable and tidy. Avery good breakfast. Hi-Fi could be better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Guintessential German Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The Zur Post was your perfect, quaint, German Hotel! Just what you would expect and hope for while touring Germany. The room was perfect. I loved how the bathroom was separate from the bedroom/sitting area. The sitting area was also separated by a small divider. The decor was cute and not outdated. Lots of natural light colored woods. Just lovely! I will say though we were quite worried that we wouldn't be able to get in because we were going to check in late, and we tried to call several times without an answer. When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk had in fact closed but they did leave the key to our room at the front desk with a letter explaining check in, breakfast hours, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Disappointing

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Hohenschwangau and the castles.
Cons: Room looked tired and in need of a refresh. No reception meant guests had to fend for themselves.
We booked two nights here, having had a pleasant stay at the same hotel four years earlier. Reception was not open when we arrived around 6pm and our key was left on the counter. Unfortunately this meant no wifi as a ticket has to be purchased from reception. The beds were very firm and the large fluffy pillows collapsed to almost nothing when laid on. There were no extra pillows and reception could not be contacted for more. We formally checked in next morning after an uncomfortable night. We were promised extra pillows would be delivered during the day. When we returned at midday, the room had been made up but no extra pillows had been provided. Reception was closed already and could not be contacted again. We purchased our own pillows from a local store.
3 out of 5
by Katherine

Budget hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Budget hotel with ok amenities but far away from the castles and no direct view of them. We had a balcony that faced the castles but couldn't see them because other homes were in the way. The pillows were also terrible. Front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to castle in quaint town.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Overall pleased with stay, our room had a wonderful view of the castle but overlooked the main road so was noisy until about 11 pm and again at 6 am.
5 out of 5
by Olaf from Hawaii

Super

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent Hotel. Excellent staff. And food
4 out of 5
by Rosemarie from Adelaide / australia

Perfect stopover to visit Neuschwanstein

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is on the main road and easy to find in this small pretty village We were given a room with a small but adequate balcony with a direct view to Schloss Neuschwanstein 2km away The only thing lacking was that wifi was NOT free in rooms but was for public use in the lobby on their computer Staff were very courteous and friendly and breakfast was continental and great Yes we would certainly recommend Hotel zur Post
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent small hotel near castles.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Some "old world" charm, friendly proprietors, excellent rooms, breakfast area. Even had a small kids area with books, etc, near reception.
Location: Easy to get to Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein castles.
Fantastic experience. Very nice folks at hotel, classic experience. While hotel does not have elevator (and our room was on 4th floor), it was easily worth the climb. Staying with our child, our room for three was essentially a two bedroom suite with a balcony and a view over Schwangau and the castles. Breakfast was excellent and well worth the additional cost - especially compared to what we received at other hotels in Europe during a trip for 2 or 3 times the cost.