Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

never again

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
The only good thing about this guesthouse was that it was close to town centre the room itself was dirty and broken, the walls were covered in what looked like dried blood,dirt, poo even maybe, the bed had wee bugs in it, the hot tap in the bathroom was loose and moved around when touched, the bed was unsteady, the wardrobe and chest of drawers were broken, socket loose in the wall
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Basic but I liked it

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Shower, central location, being left alone to come and go by staff
Cons: Decor and facilities are ancient though everything works.
Location: It's smack bang in the city center but quiet as it's a few roads away from the action.
If you're looking for the Ritz this certainly isn't it but I was quite comfortable here. Furniture and facilities were basic and ancient but all worked properly. TV was ancient but worked, shower was really good. Tea and coffee was basic too. Location is a few streets from the center but quiet. The service was as I like it; I was left alone to do my thing rather than having some snooty lord-type looking over my shoulder.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell in the room

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Ebookers
The room smeld like it's mildewed all over. Can't recommend this place for anyone
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from morayshire

what can we say

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: nothing wish i had taken photos
Cons: everything
mattress totally done,no protectors on mattress or pillows,curtains very creased,windows filthy,mat in shower room dirty,half of wooden headboard missing, nobody there when you get there you have to phone a number what more can we say if we got somewhere else we would of left
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Appalling place to stay. Was greeted by a fellow guest who could hardly speak any English. Can only think the place is used to house asylum seekers. The room was in the basement with one tiny window, it was like being in a cave. The entire basement had an awful drains smell, so bad that I woke up the following morning with a sore throat. The bed was so uncomfortable. The electrics were a death trap, exposed live connections above the shower! The smoke detector head on my room had been removed, not that this would have made any difference anyway as the fire alarm panel for the whole property wasn't powered up. The place is accident waiting to happen and should be shutdown!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Airdrie

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
I booked two rooms and paid a rate equivalent of 4* hotels outside London. This 'hotel' is no more than a bedsit with questionable hygiene and security. I not going to waste any more time on this accommodation and advise you to do the same. Move on. Avoid. Last comment. UK TV Channel 4 has a program/gameshow where the contestants stay in a hotel and value the experience by paying what they thought it was worth. I'd want to be PAID for staying there.... it was simply horrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

review

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
basic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

My stay in City Guesthouse

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
The only niggle I had was there was no loo roll and no rubbish bin. The staff I spoke to on phone were friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oldsmar, FL

Terrible guest house

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Have English speaking receptionist,. CLEAN THE SHOWERS! Have beds not cots with springs poking through.
Location: Fair location and in walking distance if you do not have a disability
Non English speaking at registration, very difficult. No free parking (unless you call hunting the local streets for a spot free!) and no breakfast although Expedia description show breakfast & free parking. Filthy showers, grubby everything, short of towels, damp basement rooms, mould in the showers, worst experience ever with a guest house.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room was basic, bed was broken, shower was dirty, window wouldn't shut so was cold and noisy at night.