Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great view of Ness River and Castle.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Loved my view...however only a few rooms have view of the river and Castle. Staff was friendly. Great location. No A.C.. had a small fan which made it tolerable as my 1st night was a bit warm. But 2nd and 3rd night the weather was cooler so it was comfortable. The windows only open a few inches so not much air flow. But overall a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l enfield london

Lovely hotel staff very helpful

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Had a wonderful 3 days not long enough so much to see and do breathtaking scenery had lovely wether will definitely come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted May 31, 2017
The hotel is older and a bit worn but the room was clean and the bed comfy. The halls are a bit odd in that they have some IPS and downs within a floor. We were at the end of a hall and had to drag our luggage up 6 steps after we took the elevator to the floor, which would be difficult for some. The hallway had a stale odour but the room was ok. The biggest plus for this hotel is the location right across from the castle in central Inverness. We were able to walk along the river path, shop and go for dinner without moving our car
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by The Columba Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you found our beds comfy and that hopefully you had a great sleep. The Hotel is indeed an old Hotel with lots of ups and downs to get to your room and I appreciate that this can be difficult to manoeuvre with suitcases. we most certainly would have been able to assist you int his by taking your luggage from you and putting it in your room. I do hope that you enjoyed Inverness and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotek close by Ness Walk

Posted May 23, 2017
The Hotel was central to shopping and dining. No air conditioning. Parking was unavailable on location. 5 pounds per day to park in public parking down two blocks down. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel was located on the Ness river. The front desk staff was nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that our staff were helpful, I will ensure our reception team are informed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Perfect location and comfortable stay

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Large Executive room with river/castle views. Location. Staff.
Cons: Wifi - particularly in the bar.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I was extremely lucky with my room which was an upgrade due to my Elite membership with Expedia. It was a river facing Executive room - extremely spacious with a roll top bath. Reception and breakfast waiting staff were particularly welcoming and helpful. Breakfast quality was very good, with extensive choice. Wifi coverage was a bit patchy as you might expect in an old building - best service seemed to be the restaurant and it was fine in my room. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location but a bit tired inside

Posted May 11, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located on the banks of the River Ness, less than 10 minutes walk from the station. Reception looked recently decorated but the corridors were shabby and in need of new carpeting and wallpaper. The room was ok, although double glazing may have kept some of the noise from outside down. Breakfast was ok. Altogether pretty average, especially for a 4* hotel and at £89 for a single room represented poor value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Expensive for what it is. No car Parking.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The view of River Ness and Inverness Castle, Central Location
Cons: Bistro Service
Location: Walks along River Ness.
Like many hotels in Inverness and the Highlands (Aveimore) they are expensive by comparison to other parts of Scotland including cities like Edinburgh and Aberdeen. The rooms were comfortable and as booked. The service provided felt laissez-faire and did not really reflect the prices charged. Columba is a lovely old hotel but lounges lacked the atmosphere that could have been provided by open fires for e.g.. Lovely view over the river Ness. We dined in the Bistro (McNabs). The food was lovely but the service was non existent. It was in fairness a Monday night but we had to help ourselves to the menus. We were not approached to place an order (group of six) and eventually went up to the bar to do so. The table was not cleared until we started clearing our own plates and we were not offered the desert menu or coffee. at 10.05.p.m. we were advised that it was last orders for drinks despite being residents and indeed just shortly after that two residents who had just arrived were refused a drink and advised to wait for the night porter at 11.p.m.. The Columba is not alone in this regard, I have frequented many hotels on the Highlands and conclude that many as my old mother would sat "Have a guid opinion o' themselves" and seem to take customers for granted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

A bit of history

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Older hotel sitting right on the river, close to center of town and good restaurants. Easy walk to train station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby and outdated with a view

Posted Apr 28, 2017
A disappointing place - dreadfully outdated and poorly maintained. Way too much money for this poor quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ross-shire

Convenient to town centre

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Convenience, good staff and good breakfast
Cons: Decor needs updated
Location: Town centre, theatre, supermarket
The Columba hotel is ideally situated near the town centre, theatre,etc. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful, check in was very quick. Room was on top floor overlooking the river. Decor was dated but everything was clean and room facilities were good. Bed was a bit hard but some might prefer that. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, and tasty. All staff were very pleasant and helpful