Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
3 flights of stairs, room was hot even with windows open but lovely hotel for its age. Staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay with very friendly staff

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Excellent restaurant and staff made you feel at home - very unstuffy approach
Location: Good location in own grounds but still near other facilities and road to Inverness etc. Plenty of places to visit in the area if you like castles and
This hotel is an excellent choice if you like a country setting, fantastic food and friendly, informal staff who look after your every need. I definitely could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl

Stayed in a piece of history!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The setting is serene, the history makes you sit back and close your eyes and imagine.
We arrived to be called by name when getting out of our car, then we were upgraded to a suite! The staff was fantastic, from taking our heavy duffel upstairs, to providing me with a sealed ice pack for the knee I had injured. In the dining room, again, the service was excellent and the food tasty. Make sure you don't miss the walled garden!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

One of the Highlights of our Vacation

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The staff are exceptional and the hotel is an experience in itself.
Location: We were most interested in the history of the jacobites and visited the Culloden battlefield and visitor centre.
We spent three weeks traveling around Great Britain and instead of a stay in a castle I had booked a night at Culloden House. When I booked there was only one room available with a king size bed. We were traveling as a couple with a pre-teen. When we arrived there was a cancellation and we were upgraded for free to a suite and what a suite it was! We visited the Culloden battlefield and when we returned to Culloden House the staff gave us a historical overview of the house. Just a fabulous experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nicest hotel, ever

Posted Jul 25, 2016
In two decades of travel as an adult, the Culloden House Hotel is the nicest and most welcoming place I have ever stayed. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. My daughter caught a really nasty cold on the first day of our visit and they took special care of us and of her the whole time. What could have ended up as a terrible vacation was made amazing purely due to the staff of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Jan from Stockholm

Lantlig charm och skön service

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Culloden House är ett anrikt gods med anor från 1600-talet. Det har en lantlig charm och är väldigt trevlig. Servicen är mycket bra och själva hotellet är lantligt skotskt med stora ljusa rum, men där nivån på komforten har ett visst behov av uppdatering. Vi spenderade en mycket trivsam långhelg med allt från slott och whiskyprovningar till slagfältsbesök och lantliga utflykter.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Gorgeous Georgian Mansion, Perfect Stay

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: The service, the character, the comfort and the delicious food/beverages served onsite.
Cons: The bathroom is a little dated, but it did not in any way impact the quality of our stay. Perhaps better drainage would have been appreciated.
Location: The town of Inverness is closeby (driving distance) and Lochness too. We didn't mind the location one bit, but we did have a car.
We had such a magical time during our brief stay at Culloden House. The Mansion is located in the heart of Culloden, just outside of Inverness which is a short drive away. Culloden House is remote and so incredibly peaceful. Our room was a suite located on the second floor, which had beautiful decor an a lovely view. There was a fireplace that we kept burning throughout the night and wonderful amenities in our room too. The staff was incredibly helpful and assisted with all of our needs/restaurant recommendations/etc. The most wonderful part of the "hotel" was the fully stocked bar; there was every Scotch you could ever dream of and we had a lovely time chatting through the selection with our host. Breakfast was delicious too and very top notch! We were so pleased to stay here and would definitely visit again if we were in town. Culloden House is older, but the charm and service over delivered in our opinion.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Sunderland

Super classic hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Super hotel for either relaxation or visiting Culloden battlefield site or just shopping in Inverness
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Staff are magnificent.

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Staff are not stuffy and seem to have balanced genuine care of customers with top service. they are friendly and engaging. Lovely place.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Newark on Trent

Superb hotel in every respect

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay. We were made to feel most welcome - staff excellent throughout. Lovely rooms, being a country house from the 1700s, nice large bedroom, huge bed, the most comfortable of our 7 hotels on our tour. Restaurant food and service superb, a proper meal, not just a taster, yet cooked to fine dining standards. Lovely grounds and we were allowed to have our dogs with us both in the hotel and in the grounds. They even managed to stop the standard Scottish rain for us for a few hours. An excellent stay - we would stay there again without hesitation,