Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel to stay in and this was my thi

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Lovely area to visit and Fort George was most interesting.
Room very comfortable and clean and loung bar basic but welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff Lora was very helpful .

Posted Sep 27, 2016
I couldn't walk good and they helped me with everything including putting jewelry on for a wedding thank you dornoch staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas

Fun being in a castle

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Location right in the center of town was great. Lots of things to see and nice shops all around.
Cons: As a couple, we sleep in the middle of the bed, together. With two beds stuck together, that doesn't work. Hate straddling the gap.
Location: We were shopping for a tam for our neighbor and found it at a woolens shop to the left from the hotel. Lots of nice shops in the area.
We enjoyed staying at the Dornoch Castle Hotel. The room was very nice -- great shower! Bed was a disappointment since it was two stuck together -- but for Europe it is a plague we put up with. Fortunately, more places going with double beds rather than trying to do queen beds which Europe just never produced. Anyway, the room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was lovely, in a large dinning room. I had kippers and Fred had full Scottish. Both tasty and well done. The bar at the hotel was exceptional with a great barkeeper who was expert at Whiskeys. Huge stone fireplace (original to the castle we think) and old castle archway into the dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Good stay on quaint Dornoch

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Good hotel on the beautiful links course. Great view from dining room. Helpful staff and good breakfast. Common areas a bit tired but nice updated bathroom. Would recommend as the place to stay in Dornoch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Lovely food in the restaurant. Great location.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: The staff, location and food.
Cons: The bed.
Location: Great cafes, cathedral where Madonna had her child rocco baptised. Nearby golf and ski I castle, great gift shop near the hotel.
My husband booked this hotel for me. Whilst it us not like a castle in the rooms. The exterior and bar are from the old world. The food was excellent as were the staff. The food for dinner was one of the nicest I've had in Scotland. If I had one criticism, it would be that the king bed was really two singles on top with a gap in the middle, not overly romantic. However, the hotel us in a great village which is really interesting and pretty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dornoch Castle

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Very enjoyable except for the light above the dressing table not working.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overstated hotel,in a great location.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Food and the bar and catering staff.
Cons: To meet the standard of your companies expectations the quality of the of the accommodation requires major upgrading .
Location: Great location in the Scottish Highlands,plenty of attractions.
Hotel staff,and catering very good,accommodation very poor.Overall a disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings

A great stop-over on the way home

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Ate in the hotel's restaurant in the evening; service and food very good, as was breakfast the next morning.
Location: Convenient place to stay if visiting Dunrobin Castle and gardens. Local pipe band rehearse outside the hotel on summer Saturday evenings at 8.00 p.m.
We stayed here on the last night of our week in Scotland, on our way back to Inverness airport. Hotel centrally situated in pretty quiet town, staff very welcoming and room comfortably furnished overlooking the garden at the rear of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Royal Dornoch GC

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Location, bar, tradition, staff, food
Cons: Decor slightly tired (roof of restaurant), but only a minor issue, it's a very good place overall
Location: Close to golf & beach (lovely for walks)
Staff were excellent, in particular bar manager & waiter Food was superb
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Aberdeen

A bargain Castle stay

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Food, drink, staff, ambience.
Cons: The breakfast waitress could of been cheerier but it was early! Some of the games had bits missing.
Location: We didn't venture out of the castle, didn't feel the need. But the town seemed peaceful and well catered for.
I looked online for accomodation in the Golspie area, to find that the majority where around average and around £80/night with breakfast. When I found Dornoch Castle for only £10 more, but considerably better quality. So decided to splash out on the extra tenner. I was not dissappointed. The Castle was splendid, with it's original features, huge fire in the bar, excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits. Very welcoming staff. Delicous Al a cart food. Comfortable, spacious rooms all en suite. A varied and substantial breakfast. It's also in the town centre, so plenty of parking, and options for eating/drinking/shopping on the door step. I stayed there with my 9 year old son, and we enjoyed the use of the residents lounge, with it's own open fire, comfy chairs, games and free wifi. Couldn't of been happier.