Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Nice friendly hotel.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly ,clean ,nice views from our room. Not to far from the centre of the town.
Cons: Blind in the bathroom ,even though the glass is frosted but happy with everything.
Location: Our room overlooked the cathedral and river. Very clean city with a nice little art gallery and museum. Visited the Glen Ord distillery Excellent.
Nice room ,very comfortable. Friendly staff and helpful. Good breakfast and enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caithness

Thoroughly enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Value for money and location .
Cons: Shower in room was bit dated but did not affect our overall stay.
Location: Delightful hotel on riverbank, near all shops, pubs and especially Eden Court.
Got the hotel on a very good deal and was not expecting too much. What a surprise, we were allocated a room in the Struan apartment block and could not fault it. Bedroom was warm and cosy, great view over the river, bed was super comfy, so slept very well. Hairdryer, iron, hospitality tray all provided. Breakfast was excellent. Cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, pastries as well as the usual hot options, porridge, bacon, sausage etc. Ate in the restaurant on a pre theatre deal, again, excellent value for money and as a hotel guest, a complementary glass of wine was included. Food was well presented and very tasty. All staff we encountered were very welcoming. Hotel location is excellent for shops, pubs and especially Eden Court . Definitely recommend a stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The view. Front desk staff.
Cons: An update.
Location: Great location.
Nice view from our room and beautiful place from the outside. Our coffee pot/ hot water pot had not been cleaned from the previous guests. The comforter was thin and small for the bed. When we tried to pull it up our feet stuck out. The couple we were traveling with said they had the same problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ullapool

Lovely hotel near the amenities.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Everything, it's a very friendly place to stay. Very clean and welcoming.
Cons: Nothing, why change it when nothing is wrong.
Location: Just up the road is all the shops, restaurants and bars .
Stayed with my partner. Had dinner in Nicky Tams, lovely food served by fantastic, friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great restaurant, disappointing hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
No internet in the room, hard bed (actually, two single beds pushed together - that does not make a queen bed, Glen Mohr!) There aren't very many hotel options in Inverness, I gather, but next time we'll probably find a B&B and come dine at the Glen Mohr's restaurant instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Close to Town Centre

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Large accommodation and close to center of city. Also free parking lot off the street.
Location: Town Center is an easy walk: dining and shopping plentiful, castle is a short walk.
Stayed in one of the apartment-style rooms in annex. Very spacious room: 2-story with full kitchen downstairs, bedroom, bathroom upstairs. Easy walk from front of room to castle and the Town Center where eating, shopping and Tourist Information was close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penfield, NY

Nice location on the River Ness

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location and staff. Also a very nice full Scottish breakfast served daily in the dining room.
Cons: Bathrooms are quite small, but not easily fixed.
Location: River walks, pubs & restaurants, and shopping
Townhouse style units right on the river and a couple block from the City center. Lovely area for walking. Good pubs nearby and Inverness Castle just up the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Poor facilities but great location.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
A wonderful location along the River Less looking at St Andrews. Once you walk in it is Abigail let down. The double twin bed room in the attic hardly had room to open the door. It would have been a small single twin bed room. With two, it was silly. The shower did not have water. The cord to the coffee machine was so short that it could only reach an outlet on the other side of them room from the coffee station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

run down and very noisy

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was good . Lots of selection of hot and cold items.
Cons: Staff was not particularly friendly .
Location: Only stayed one night. Quick stopover.
I honestly don't like giving a negative review but our room was quite run down. Floor tiles in the bathroom were cracked, carpets with big stains and chairs with obvious warn fabrics. The room had an overall grubby feel . On top of everything there is a pub very close by that played very loud music until 1am! (last song played was "for he's a jolly good fellow, if anyone is interested). Our room was to be a "river view" . It did have a view of the river but first you had to look past the table and chairs on the patio directly in front of our window (with strangers sitting at it) and then across a roadway with parked cars on both sides in order to see the river. I would add that the breakfast was good. Lots of hot and cold choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dump with no actual breakfast

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Good water pressure
Cons: see review
Location: inverness
This place sucked bad enough that we checked out a day early (after pre-paying totally absurd prices. The rooms were generally clean and the particular bathroom we had was updated. The hair dryer was nice and powerful. There was an iron and ironing board. And the heat worked well. So I can't say the room was really unacceptable (though the housekeeping left dirty glasses out and the towels were Motel-6 level quality). THe issue is the total incompetence and carelessness of the breakfast situation. What. A. Nightmare. You think you are paying for a B&B but you're not really, because breakfast is a picked over, half-effort, low quality disaster. The first day, it was so mobbed that there was no food left, and they simply didn't restock it the entire time they were there. So day 1: OUt of coffee. Out of eggs. Out of toast. Out of Juice. We asked the staff and they said "i'm not sure if more is coming, the chef is kind of slow." So we got nothing to eat. The next day: "The chef forgot to make porridge or they forgot to deliver it. There is no cheese today." So there are like three straggling items and no one helping you.On the second day, most tables were empty, sitting with dirty dishes. They always claim to be understaffed, but any rational hotel manager would call all hands on deck for 20 minutes, clean up the tables, and go slice up some darn cheese (or put a pot of porridge on). I was so turned off by this and the rickety old place in general. We left early.