Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Good position great sleep in a lovely big bed
Cons: Needs updating and a bit of tlc
Location: St Augustus and Loch Ness just a stroll away
Made very welcome on arrival, hotel very nice needs a bit of updating, very friendly and helpful staff who made our stay a very pleasant one nice log fire and comfortable couches to relax in after a stroll. St August a 10/15 stroll though no pavements so need to be aware of the traffic. A nice breakfast to set us up for the day ahead. Had a very nice meal in the restaurant all in all a very pleasant stay..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beloeil, QC

Amazing, perfect, charming ...etc

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Everything !
Location: Walk in Fort Augustus, take a cruise on the Loch Ness and enjoy it all
The most amazing place we've ever stayed at ! Everything is perfect, charming and dreamy. We were welcomed by the most friendliest people, our room was cosy, comfortable and clean. The lodge is like a post card no matter where you look. We were so sad to only be there one night, would go back there if I could, we can't stop talking about how incredible it was to be there. Thank you so much !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from West Midlands

Superb

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
What a wonderful place ! Of course the location is splendid, perched overlooking the loch. The rooms are generously proportioned, well-equipped, comfortable, and the food is great. What makes the place really special is the team of exceptionally friendly and helpful staff who provide a most welcoming atmosphere. We had a thoroughly relaxing 3 days and will certainly return when next in the area. Anyone travelling with a dog should stay here, fantastic walks along the Great Glen way straight from the hotel. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth, wa

Nicely renovated

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Lovely family room, much improved since our last visit 9 years ago!:) fab staff, good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dagfinn Emil from Stavanger . Norge

Avslappende atmosfære .

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Ett hjemmekoselig hotell med behagelig atmosfære i flotte omgivelser . Trivelig personale og en nydelig frokost .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Holly from Texas

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly, and helpful. We decided to go into town to eat dinner, and they guided us to a wonderful restaurant. Our room was BIG, the bed was comfortable, the internet worked well in our room. The entire place is quaint and clean. Our breakfast was good as well. I would definitely stay here again! AND recommend it to you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Hunting Lodge on Loch Ness

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Absolutely everything. Room size. Meals. Staff. View. Location. Price. Everything.
Cons: The only thing might be a fan in the rooms. We opened the windows at night which cooled the rooms off but perhaps something to move the air.
Location: Loch Ness. Scottish Highlands. Inverness. Fort Augustus.
From beginning to end an excellent stay. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Location can't be better. Room was actually a two room family suite (I got my own bed!). I had a view of Loch Ness out my window .... and with a bright moon I could just look for Nessie for hours! The kids had their own room - attached to mine by a door. There was a living room area in my room with a fireplace - I don't know if it works but if it does I can imagine the room in winter being nice and toasty. Bathroom was clean and larger than I expected. Breakfast was included in price and was wonderful. Beds were comfortable. The room was on the top floor but that just made the view better. We decided to eat dinner at the hotel rather than walk into town. It was a great choice. Our meals were excellent. Dessert was fantastic. I love the fact that they give you drinks in a separate room where you can lounge until your meal is ready. The kids got to play chess which kept them occupied. Once dinner is ready you move to the dining room. And to top it off they played Josh Groban during dinner - which made this Grobanite feel like it was Heaven. They also have a bar area if you want drinks of any kind. My parents seem to think we stayed in this place when I went to Loch Ness as a child - don't know if that is true - but I certainly will stay there again if we are ever in the area. Wonderful choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Monica from California

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic staff at this cozy lodge. We felt we were absolutely doted upon by Jane the Manager. Great place