Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

surprisingly nice!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: the employees, the atmosphere
Cons: the softness of the beds and additional pillows
Location: This is inverness, no explanation required.
We were on a tour of Scotland with our daughter and new son-in-law. After booking this hotel I read some bad reviews and so was not anticipating much, even apologised to our daughter beforehand as it was her birthday night. Well, lesson learned, not all reviews are correct. These lochness view rooms were very nice. Clean, comfortable. The restaurant had great service and good food. The bar the night we arrived was very accomadating. Those massage chairs in the lobby were used by us and very much needed after days and days of treking up every hill and every stair. Don't listen to bad reviews, go and enjoy yourself and this very nice hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Nice views, get a room with a view of the loch. Across a busy two land highway from the water, but set up so the views are nice. Hotel bar area have great Windows and views too. Good food. Room was older, kinda run down, septic smell. Recommend top floor because we couldn't keep our windows open at night because we were on ground level and there was an open patio.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT AS NICE AS I EXPECTED...

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
The room was small and cold and we had to ask for extra heating. The bathroom was cold and could not be heated properly and the shower was dreadful. The hotel is quite shabby but ALL the staff were lovely. So many signs everywhere telling you what NOT to do - I find that quite off putting. The bar shuts at 10.00pm every night.
4 out of 5
by Gazza

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gaz from Birmingham

excellent food

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
On the whole a pleasant stay
3 out of 5
by Alma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Dawn from Oldham

Not good

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Won't ever go back
1 out of 5
by Karin from Park City, UT

Awful, horrible, rip off of a hotel.

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is a lie. Apart from being on the shores of Loch Ness, nothing else is true. This is hands down the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Without a doubt, it is a truck stop. I knew walking into the lobby with the coin operated massage chairs and the couple checking out saying they couldn't stay in such a dark place that I was in trouble. The rooms are cheap and they know it - the mattress was so bad that a week on, my back still aches. They advertise high-speed internet "in the common areas" but it does not work at all, and they will admit this. They say it's because it is free that it is so bad. Really? I've been on plenty of free hotel WIFI that worked great and were free. Come on. In my room, there was writing on the bathroom tile, and mold stains on the walls. The remote didn't work. The lamp wasn't plugged in, nor was there any outlet to plug it into! I brought an employee to the room at check out, and she said "Yes, that's been there a while - we can't get it off the floor" and "Oh, we just got new remotes. I know some of them don't work." They are not apologetic in the fact that they are ripping you off. Completely not worth the money! It's a terrible hotel. It's advertised as posh and fancy, but nothing can be more distanced from reality. It's horrible.
4 out of 5
by James from Dunfermline

Happy stay

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was worth every penny. It's was cheap but had all the functions of a top hotel. The only downside was the room was very small and the view was into the woods at the back of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON

Beautiful setting along the Loch Mess.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: The views are amazing.
Cons: Faster WiFi.
Location: You can book a cruise ship to take you on a tour of the Loch Ness. The monster is there, however elusive.
The hotel standards were above average and the staff were professional and helpful. The rooms were of adequate size and kept perfectly clean. I would definitely return. Great value for the dollar (pound).