Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Great view of Loch Ness!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Enjoyed the view from our room and the restaurants. Relaxing drinks from the bar were perfect after a long travel day. Appreciated the breakfast, included. Nice to have the gift shop on site to pick up a few memories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Right on Loch Ness, across from Jacobite Boat Tour

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The Cobb restaurant both for dinner and breakfast. Good quality flavourful food served hot. Wait staff was friendly, attentive ,unexpected.
Cons: Rooms were a bit intimate and a little stuffy. Ventilation good be improved. Decor is serviceable but a bit dated.
Location: Right on highway to Inverness and on Loch Ness. Jacobite Boat Tours right across the highway accessed by a tunnel under highway. .
Warm and friendly reception. Rooms were easy to access. Our family room was a bit intimate but fine. Bed was a little too soft for our liking, however we did sleep well after a long day. The Cobb restaurant on site was welcome as the hotel is a little out of the way. Knowing this I had researched options prior to our trip, but not necessary as the hotel restaurant is very good. The hotel should talk up the restaurant more. Food and service was excellent and the view of the loch was a bonus. The hotel is clean and well kept, but could use a refresh for the decor. Staff was friendly. Parking was easy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffs

Lovely location

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The location of the hotel is perfect and boasts beautiful views. The rooms are quite small with little in except for a bed. The bathroom is very small and compact. The meals were beautiful. The car parking is limited and often serves as a day car park for the boat trips on the Loch. For what we wanted on the trip it was perfect a place to sleep after a drive but the hotel is very busy in the day for the tours. Our room did not have a very good view either just the side of a cliff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Delusions of Grandeur - a one time stay...

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Leaving it. The food was fairly good but that is the only positive.
Cons: The hotel needs a solid renovation using quality materials. The staff needs to be sacked immediately & replaced with hospitable employees.
Location: Beautiful location - great view of Loch Ness and conveniently located. Lots to do in the area...
Inattentive and rude staff act as though they are doing their customers a favor. Two of us were scolded for sitting at a table of three when the restaurant was empty because the server "did not want to reset the table." The food was quite good but the staff hounded us to eat and leave when again, there were a number of empty tables. The hotel offers one depressing and barren side room for relaxing with fellow guests; however, guests are chased out at the restaruant's closing time and the doors are locked leaving no place to socialize. My cold water faucet did not work, the shower door was broken, and the mattress was old ,hard and lumpy. The entire hotel is tired, terribly dated and poorly staffed. It has a lovely view, it's on the main road and there is a huge opportunity for it to do well but the owner has opted for cheap Formica wainscoting and other chintzy materials throughout the establishment. The aloof staff seem to think they are operating an exclusive resort and have delusions of adequacy. Breakfast is served at their whim and the receptionist doesn't appear until nearly 9, thereby determining the guests' checkout time. Truly the worst accommodations I've seen in many years. Such a shame. I will not be back...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little old, but the view makes it worth it.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Updating needed
Location: Right on the loch
The hotel was a little old, but the view was worth it. The restaurant was good, and right in front is a kick off point for a lock sailing tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice views, caters for tourists, busy road

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Very pleasant staff and clean basic room. You pay for the aspect on the Loch. Would recommend looking elsewhere locally for food options, but breakfast nice
4 out of 5
by Kunal

Average stay..will look for new stuff

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Stay at hotel was average. Reason given below. 1.Location was perfect so full points. 2.Hotel comfort was also good not very great. 3.Hospitality was poor - tea kettle was black stinking,no one bothered that already at time of check in should have water in room .although kettle got replaced but not better than earlier. Breakfast not much stuff if ask something more , staff will give you rude response like kitchen is getting close,can't have or no time. Not at all professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darwin, Northern Territory Australia

Great views of Loch Ness

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Staff were lovely. Room spacious & had great views of Loch Ness. Food was good. Bed was a bit hard for us but that may be ok for others. Lift will only take you to 1st floor so if you have difficulty ask for 1st floor room but I'm not sure if those have Loch views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed Highlander

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
My room was much smaller that I expected for the price, with the bed taking up the bulk of the floor space and limited room for manoeuvre around it. It was listed as a double room but I was luckily on my own, as I believe that it would have been too cramped for two persons. It was also dark despite a reasonably sized window, due to the presence of an almost vertical hill and rock face only a few feet away from the window. There was therefore no appreciable view as such and reduced natural light in the room. The shower room was also small and the shower cabinet was restricted to opening to only about halfway by the presence of a wash-hand basin and this meant accessing the shower cubicle was difficult. Inside the cubicle was also very small and once the door was shut, it fitted like a coffin. There was nowhere to place shower gel or shampoo and bending to place it on the floor was not an option. Dinner was very reasonable but at breakfast I had to ask for a plate for the fresh fruit etc as there were none present. I ordered porridge followed by a cooked, plated breakfast. No toast was offered. When the porridge arrived, the cooked breakfast was served at the same time. The porridge was very good but by the time I had finished enjoying it, the elements of the cooked breakfast were luke-warm or cold. I felt that what was provided was really poor value for the money and would suggest that if you intend to stay there, check the shower room configuration and floor space first.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels