Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town centre

Posted Jul 26, 2016
70s style Council flat conversion. No air con. Nice Enough otherwise. It seems they rail Road any families into this hotel rather than the others that look nicer. Information was wrong about times of breakfast almost missed on the Monday as shuts earlier.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

MacDonald Hotels are dated and overpriced.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing. The place is so dated. We had to change our door swipes on many occasions due to not working.
Cons: Everything.
MacDonald Hotels are dated and overpriced. Facilities are terrible. Took my 6 year old daughter who loves swimming to the pool at 8am in the morning. Pool temperature was that low that my daughter's lips were going blue after 40min. WE spend nearly the same time in the shower warming her up. Flume was closed, and the wave machine was broken. Never heard anything so ridiculous by advising us that I couldn't take her in the jacuzzi as she was too young due to H&S reasons (we were the only people in the swimming area). Aviemore itself is fantastic, but I'd advise to search for other hotels where you can get better value for money. I wouldn't be surprised that it was a cost saving issue with the wave machine as the resort wasn't that busy. Very poor show MacDonald Hotels.
4 out of 5
by Naina from Uk

Nice place to stay

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
I would recommend to stay at this resort.The location is really nice, it's near to Aviemore station..Restraunt, Tourist information Centre, taxi services,shops..etc are near by the resort..There are plenty of options within Resort itself(sauna, gym, swimming pool, play area for kids,cinema, restraunt, shopping). Overall good place to spend time..l
1 out of 5
by Penny

DREADFUL EXPERIENCE

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was really awful the room was so small we couldn't move. At breakfast we had to keep asking for more tea, butter, and toast (which arrived with half a slice each). To top it all off the lift packed up but no one was interested I got stuck on the 2nd floor because the doors were jammed. They were still jammed in the morning no notice no the doors we reported it there times (perhaps we should learn polish then the message might have got through NEVER AGAIN
5 out of 5
by Caroline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Stuart from Edinburgh

disappointed

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Room was sold as family room but was to small
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livingston, Scotland

Nice hotel if you can find it........

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Got a good deal at the last minute for an overnight stay in Aviemore. First issue I had was that I would be arriving after dark and I had never been to the hotel or resort before. Why is this a problem? Well, upon driving into the resort I noticed that the road signs were unlit so I couldn't see directions to the hotel. Also when I stopped to see the signs that were there it still wasn't obvious where my hotel was! Eventually found it only to discover it closed! Tried phoning the contact number from Expedia which didn't work. Found the resort number on line and was told I was booked into a different hotel in the resort (which was also difficult to find due to lighting/signage/one way system issues). Hotel check in was fine and room itself was very nice. Down to on-site restaurant for an evening meal which was nice but expensive. Service was slow so be prepared to wait a while. As a price reference a bottle of Bulmer cider was £5.00. Next morning had a good breakfast from a substantial hot and cold buffet service. Even got gluten free toast! Check out was quick due to having no additional costs although the receipt I got indicated a total cost £20.00 less than the Expedia charge. Queried this to be told by the receptionist that the £20.00 must be the Expedia fee. Unsure if this is true but don't remember having this issue before. Overall a nice hotel but difficult to navigate resort and restaurant is expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Very clean room with large king-size bed and comfortable chairs. Excellent large bathroom with good bath/shower. Could perhaps do with lit mirror in bedroom as this room is quite dimly lit and our room looked over car park. Minor traffic noise from nearby bypass. Staff very attentive. Breakfast buffet with excellent choice and quality. Evening meal in steakhouse restaurant also good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aviemore in Winter

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Marvellous spot with superb leisure complex