Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced with a good location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
As the title suggests. It's overpriced, noisy at night and early morning. It took the front desk 40 minutes to check me in and blamed it on the system. Same issue at check out. They did try to help but for those rates I would expect better service. Location is great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perthshire

Good central location

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Central location
Cons: Our room was listed as superior, basic was my view
Location: All central
Hotel close to railway and bus stations. Friendly staff. Nice outdoor area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City Centre hotel but nothing else to recommend it

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything - starting with customer care
Location: Near the railway station which is why we picked it. Nearby are down-at-heel shops and bars and take-aways.
Arrived travel-weary at 4.30pm to find the reception doubled as a bar and was occupied by a large raucous hen party. Only one staff member was there trying - and failing - to cope. We waited half an hour before we were finally checked in. The room was sparse and basic, the bathroom walls damaged. The bed creaked and was too hard to be comfortable. When we checked out there were 3 members of staff chatting at the bar. One dealt with us as briefly as possible. All were very casually dressed. This hotel was not cheap but it should have been. Very poor value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2016
We arrived at the hotel after a long exhausting day on a bus tour. The lobby and check in desk is a bar. My main complaint about the lobby is the heavily perfumed smell. The clerks were polite and friendly. Upon arrival to the room we realized they put us in a handicap accessible room. I'm not quite sure why... The room was a little on the dirty side and was musty and sour smelling. The beds were extremely hard and very low to the ground. All and all not overly impressed with this hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location for bus and rail but that's about it

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Location to transport and local restaurants, hotel food seemed a bit too pricey.
Cons: Put a shirt an tie on the hotel staff as a start, have a safe and a fridge in the room, have a proper towel rail in the bathroom, comfortable pillows.
Location: Not a great deal to do in Inverness itself but excursions to Loch Ness and the Cairngorm's national park worth a visit. Jacobite tours very good.
Hotel is located very close to the bus station and rail station so is ideal if you don't plan to use a car to explore the region. I wouldn't class this as a 4* hotel, rather a basic 3*. There was no safe in the room, no cupboard to hang clothes (just a few hooks and hangers to hang a few by the door) the bathroom was very small and the room looked like it needed a bit of renovating. The pillows and bed were not very comfortable and didn't give you a good night's sleep. The reception staff although attentive if you approached them, could have been dressed a bit more professionally so that you could easily identify them from possible tourists....they all wore t shirts and jeans! The reception desk is a bar which is fine if that's what you would like. Plus the walls are thin....say no more! Breakfast was very expensive so I bought food elsewhere. There's not much to see in Inverness itself, you can do a walk by the river which is nice. If time allows, go on an excursion to the Isle of Skye or the Orkneys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lyon

Pas mal, mais un peu déçu des chambres.

Posted May 14, 2016
Notre nuit a été bonne, et le personnel très aimable. Le bémol vient de la qualité des chambres : assez sonores (lino par terre au lieu d'une moquette qui étouffe les bruits de pas), et une double porte qui mène à la chambre d'à côté, ce qui nous a donné l'impression de dormir dans la meme pièce que nos voisins (charmants au demeurant). Sinon, très bien, propre, service de films a la demande a la télé...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Slightly more form over function, but we liked it

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Location, general vibe
Cons: Appearance, particularly the bathrooms
Location: Several pubs nearby--try Blackfriars and the Phoenix Ale House which are practically next door.
The lobby and bar/lounge areas are pretty cool and a fun place to just hang out at the end of the day. Staff was attentive and we checked in very easily--as others have mentioned, you walk up to the bar to check in which seems odd but it worked just fine. The room was comfortable and clean, so no complaints there. The bathroom had a few appearance issues which are a bit hard to describe. The wall in the back of the shower looked like it had been kicked in and cracked, but it actually wasn't--it was what appeared to be wallpaper stuck behind some clear shower glass that had started to peel away from behind the glass. The same thing was happening by the sink. Our guess is that when the hotel was designed, some ideas worked in theory but in actual practice were pretty impractical. Again, these were just appearance issues as the glass in the shower was intact, but it just didn't look very nice. The hotel does offer free movies, which was a nice perk, and location was extremely convenient.
4 out of 5
by Mats

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Martyn from UK

An untidy, slightly odd hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Whilst the hotel looks nice in the pictures, the slow service at Reception, or The Bar as it actually is was rather slow. The staff got sniffy when we wanted to use one of the cots in one of the rooms. The bathroom again on the surface looked ok, but desperately needs some repair, it looks like it was coming apart at the seams. Plus the bathroom floods when you take a shower. A very disappointing experience indeed.