Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but in the wrong city

Posted Jul 20, 2015
As indicated by my ratings, I was very pleased by this hotel. We had a nice, quite room with a decent size. The bath room was rather big with a nice shower and toilet. Staff was super friendly and helped us a lot. Breakfast was included and delicious. However, if you are a young couple/friends and look for a place to go out; Thurso is the wrong city. We were there on a Friday and it was disappointing. In short, totally recommend it if you are looking for a nice clean place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Engelskirchen

Treppen, lange Gänge und Uralt !

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Nichts, ehrlich gar nichts !
Cons: Alles, am besten mal mit einer Renovierung, nicht kaputten Festern, einem Anstrich und neuen Böden anfangen.
Location: Man kann essen gehen ja, und ach ja. Ich konnte von meinem Zimmer aus den Haupverkehr bewundern, inklusive allen LKW'
Was soll man sagen. Treppen ohne Ende. Das Hotel ist seit mindestens 50 Jahren oder länger nicht modernisiert worden. Die Gänge sind unendlich lang und das schlimmste von allem war, das man kaum zur Toilette kam, da diese von vorne verwinkelt war und man fast nur seitlich dorthin kam.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the top hotel in Scotland

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location in centre of town
Having been given the room furthest from reception - through many corridors, up & down many flights of stairs, overlooking a busy corner of the road to the supermarket, I made the long return journey to reception. My enquiry as to whether the hotel was fully booked was met with blank looks. I explained that for a booking made some time ago it should have been possible to allocate a better room. The hotel was far from full, and a better room was found, larger and not very far from reception and my stay was OK although the breakfast was basic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aalst

Centraal gelegen, maar zeer verouderd.

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Personeel was vriendeljk en behulpzaam
Cons: Heel veel te vernieuwen, maar zeker de wifi en het ontbijt
Oud hotel, geen wifi in een groot deel van de kamers, slechte staat van de deuren waardoor geluidsdichtheid en veiligheid ver te zoeken zijn. Ontbijt vrij pover, geen buffet en dus vrij lang wachten. Service was ok, de mensen deden hun best
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andrew from London

A nice hotel ,but needs some TLC

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
A Good hotel , but it is in need of a bit of refurbishment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by DAVID ERIC from Greater Nottinghamshire uk gb Robin Hood

master esq David eric Trussell

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
topsoftheworld very learning experianceing adventurousness the lot love greater Scotland uk gb etc ok
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Altes Hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Cons: Die Sauberkeit ist auf jeden Fall verbesserungswürdig.
Location: Es befindet sich mitten in Thurso und man kann alles fußläufig erreichen.
Das Personal war sehr freundlich und entgegenkommend. Jedoch benötigt dieses Hotel mal eine gründliche Sanierung. Obwohl unser Zimmer sauber war, hat man es in dem Frühstücksbereich sehr schleifen lasen. dort wurde man von nicht richtig gewaschenen Tassen und einem sehr speckigen Tischtuch begrüßt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Conveniently located hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
I stayed for 3 nights in a single room. Very good size for single with en-suite large bathroom. Some tired decor in halls and room but fine. Very good cleaning..not intrusive. Breakfast very nice. Was at quieter time of year. Even so, rooms would benefit from double glazing to limit noise of road. Hotel welcomed several builders on projects during week. Slightly noisy therefore at night and early mornings. Staff fine; mostly helpful and welcoming. Internet accessible everywhere it seemed...except my room....oh. and the lift. A carpeted wonder of debatable quality. It may be histrical etc...just... use the stairs. Great for a few days and great price just dont expect luxury accom for that price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Needs Work

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: General overhaul of the hotels condition, and the employment of a chef.
Room was shabby and slightly damp. The WiFi only worked intermittently at my rooms end of the hotel, when this was raised with the reception they seemed dismissive, almost indifferent. The food in the bar was overdone to the point where a beefburger was chewy, and inedible. They do an excellent breakfast.