Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam, Netherlands

Comfortable, clean, good price.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
I stopped through here during a brief overnight stop. The place was comfortable, the rooms was quite large and the beds were nice, staff were good and got me checked in very quickly. Nothing amazing and to complain about. When I was booking I noticed a few people attack the decor, etc for it being out of date - welcome to a small regional town people. For me this only enhances the experience. My only suggestion would be to shut the windows before you go to bed - I left mine open and was woken up at 4am by some very loud seabirds nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Déception

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Le personnel était sympathique mais je ne peux pas dire que j'ai eu le service exceptionnel qu'on a généralement en Écosse.
Cons: Rénovations majeures et meilleur stationnement.
Location: Près du ferry pour Orkney! Ça vaut la peine d'y aller
J'ai choisit cet hôtel principalement parce qu'il y avait un stationnement. Il n'y a pas plus de 10 places de stationnement alors qu'il y a plus de 100 chambres. L'hôtel est vieux le lit peu confortable et les installations ont besoin de beaucoup de rénovations. Quand on prend une douce l'eau ne s'été ou le pas suffisamment rapidement bref on prend pratiquement un baîn même temps. Bref je trouve que j'ai payé trop cher pour ce que j'ai eu surtout si je compare avec d'autres endroits en Écosse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dumfries

Average

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Dated decor, basic accomodation,poor parking facilities. Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Arthur from Golspie Sutherland

Thurso Trip

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Just an overnight stay to hear a Band at a local club.
4 out of 5
by Jake

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff. Slightly worn down but lovely building. Patchy WiFi in the more far flung rooms, but you can go to the lobby/bar/lounge if you really need it (I spent a productive morning there)
1 out of 5
by James from Aberdeen

badly needing updated

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
If you ever choose a hotel in Thurso, book well in advance to avoid the royal hotel. It has so much potential if some money is spent on it but as it stands, it's awful. Rooms are clean enough but seriously outdated, it's like stepping back in time. I unfortunately get landed here all the time due to there being no other choice. Rooms are generally cold and require the heating on all the time. Windows dint close properly letting in cold air, the bathrooms are freezing, showers are often cold too. If you're lucky, you'll get one of the few rooms with an electric shower. I've even had bed sheets full of holes, it's just not a pleasant place to stay. On top of that, you have bit racers driving up the high street all night in their corsas with exhausts the size of the channel tunnel to ensure your sleep is broken. Food at the bar isn't great, burgers with grease dripping off it, deserts that leave a lot to be desired. Breakfasts aren't too bad but the room it's served in is disgusting and has the oddest atmosphere, it has to be experienced to be believed! The reception staff are nice and friendly, the only plus point to this hotel. Avoid if you can, if you can't, don't stay too long!
1 out of 5
by diane

bad

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Needs a good clean
3 out of 5
by Dimitar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Natalia from Edinburgh

do not recommend

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
poor quality service, we had a room facing the main street, it was very noisy; breakfast was just fine..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Been a nice hotel in its time

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: the staff were ok
Cons: the actual building, furnishings and carpets desperately need renewing
The staff were good the food was good, the breakfast and breakfast staff were very good. Unfortunately this hotel was about 50 years out of date. Desperately needs a complete refurbish