Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blackpool

Overnight stay

Posted May 12, 2017
Very helpful staff cheap room lift ok offroad parking good size ensuite would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Hotel suited my needs for location and work.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Everything was ok with the hotel and location was good.
Cons: Can't think of anything in particular.
Location: I was working in the area so it was convienent for my requirements.
Was working in the area on business. I needed a hotel that was close to where I needed to travel to and this suited my requirements for the 3 days I stayed here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit shabby & needs updating. Can get a bit noisy

Posted May 9, 2017
Taking ferry to Stromness needed nearby hotel for night before. Booked this hotel based on price and short journey to ferry terminal. Provided details that I had mobility issues and preferred room with shower. Room on ground floor with shower over bath (not easy for me to manage as walk in shower) provided. Unable to change as hotel full. It was quite a trek from reception, located along a series of several corridors and included a flight of stairs. Room was fine and it faced back (quiet) side of hotel even if you had to close curtains immediately as there were no blinds and offered direct view to customers of petrol station directly behind hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Scotland

Never stay there again

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Horrible, dirty, old, tired, cold, unsafe. Hotel was disgusting, I only stayed as it was the cheapest and I had no choice. A female alone with my child I was forced to pile my luggage behind the bedroom door as I felt unsafe. The door lock was the round door handle with the little twist lock in the centre that you sometimes get on bathroom doors, no chain or bolt. The walls were like cardboard. The room and bathroom was dirty, the bath had a ring of dirt around it, the toilet cistern was cracked the bathroom suite was a horrible yellow colour, there was hard toothpaste on the wall next to the sink,there were stains on the ceiling, stains on the wall above both headboards and stains on the carpet. There was no double glazing and there was wind whistling through the rotten window frames. The floorboards were uneven and creaking with every step. In the morning we went to breakfast, there was a huge silent restaurant with 3 couples eating. The table had crumbs on it and the cutlery was dusty. We had orange juice which was fine but then served tea and toast. Then they took the breakfast order, the boiled eggs were served in egg cups that were too large for the eggs and impossible to use. The cooked breakfast was undercooked bacon, hard eggs, burnt sausage, grilled/fried tomato that was impossible to cut, dry black pudding and greasy potato scone. The tea and toast was cold by the time we were served this. I would never set foot in this hotel again and would never recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Very tired hotel and overpriced

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Had to move rooms twice due to shower not working and then no WiFi, hotel blurb stated WiFi in all rooms
4 out of 5
by Debbie

Perfect stopover, well priced hotel.

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly welcome upon arrival, with a smooth check in - though I was told I had been upgraded to a twin room as they were nicer than the singles : / I arrived just as the kitchen was closing, but advised that there were plenty of takeaways nearby if I wanted to eat. My room (14) was through a myriad of corridors, upstairs and then downstairs again, but was quiet and away from any busy areas. The decor is quite traditional / dated, but clearly advertised as such - no hidden surprises! The room was clean and fresh, and only let down by the bathroom decor - very depressing looking, but saved by the most amazing shower - don't judge a book by its cover! Breakfast was delicious. I was the only person dining in essentially a banqueting hall, and the staff hovered close by which was slightly uncomfortable, but almost glad of the company! Perhaps a radio or some background music would provide some atmosphere. Smooth checkout with recommendations for things to do locally.
2 out of 5
by Stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by jane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels