Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north east england.

Can't comment as we never got to stay

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Location: Very helpful hotel called the Ballahoulich who put us up at 6.45 pm thank goodness
Booked online with Expedia and as we approached hotel received a phone call to say they had overbooked and there was no room. Very busy area took ages to find another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We overpaid for a tiny room.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
terrible. The room was not what we asked for . Breakfast service was the definition of horrendous. 50 characters is not enough to describe this poor experience we had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Good location. Great breakfast! Great coffee!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Everything was clean. Worth the money. Coffee is great. Hard to find in Scotland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in beautiful surroundings

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Difficult to drag wheeled luggage through gravel parking lot.
Location: Great location. Lots of hiking nearby. About an hour and half from Loch Ness.
Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent service overall! Our family took up 3 rooms, and each room was very different. Make sure to find out about the different rooms available. The views are amazing, and the food in the restaurant was top-notch. Hotel is in a great location to explore all jaw-dropping areas of the Scottish Highlands. Ask the staff to direct you to the area where James Bond Skyfall was filmed. It's a short drive from the hotel, and is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pleasant stay, food was good, however rooms was a little warm at times. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, terrible bed

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: no comment
Location: no comment
Did not enjoy sleeping in build-in double bed up against the wall with bunk bed overhead.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For the price, look further.

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: The view
The hotel is easy to locate and in the heart of the highlands. Check in was a bit delayed and they didn't have the keys to our room because someone was doing an inspection? Had to haul our luggage up some very narrow stairs and halls to find our room. Couldn't see the door lock to get the key in to unlock it because the hall light was burnt out. Once in the room we found some upgrades to the room and a great view! There is restaurant next door with okay but very over priced food. Breakfast was good. This place needs some help and attention to detail.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service und Sauberkeit wohl nicht erforderlich

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Die Lage
Cons: Sauberkeit und Service
Sehr gute Lage, so dass wegen hoher Auslastung scheinbar auf Sauberkeit und Service verzichtet werden kann. Die Zimmer sind sehr klein und recht sparsam ausgestattet. Sich mit 2 Personen im Badezimmer aufzuhalten, ist eher schwierig. Bei Ankunft im Zimmer haben wir zunächst einmal das Badezimmer säubern müssen, da von den Gästen vorher noch sämtliche Haare und Shampoo-Reste vorhanden waren. Insgesamt besteht hoher Renovierungsstau in den Zimmern / Badezimmern und Fluren. Der Service beim Frühstück lässt ebenfalls ziemlich zu wünschen übrig, wobei das Essen als solches in Ordnung ist und den englischen Frühstücksgewohnheiten entspricht.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very basic hotel

Posted May 15, 2016
The hotel is right off the road, so easy to locate. There is also a small restaurant next door with okay food. The hotel itself is very basic, with no extras. The room only had toilet paper --- no tissues, soap, shampoo, or lotion. We asked for an iron and ironing board, which they provided---but the iron didn't work properly. There are tons of B&B's in the area, that will be our choice next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Made me feel at home

Posted May 15, 2016
I cannot say enough good things about the owner, Kathleen. She was incredibly friendly, put on a great breakfast and gave us a lot of solid information on local things/areas to explore. Thanks again!