Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
The hotel staff were excellent very helpful and pleasant. It is situated in a beautiful location amongst the mountains and the water
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: They offered French toast for breakfast.
Location: Beautiful area
Clean, friendly staff, good breakfast. The restaurant next door had decent food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire uk.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Ok for a couple of nights. Bit functional & tired & abut noisy. The shower was temperamental & had poor pressure. However, everywhere was very clean & tidy & staff friendly & helpful, though the service at breakfast was a bit slow due to there only being one waitress on duty. That's a management issue though, she was not at fault & was cheerful & professional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Staff were exceptionally friendly.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
I would so much love to give this hotel a 5 star rating because the staff were so friendly and welcoming, but I just can't. I think I stayed in one of the smallest rooms in Scotland. Considering I booked the cheapest room available, I shouldn't be surprised. The room was very clean but the size would be difficult for more than one person traveling. I was solo so it was not an issue for me. The bathroom served it's purpose but the water pressure was almost non existent. Therefore, it took much longer to shower in the coffin size space than was necessary. There were nice toiletries available and again, everything was very clean. But the major drawback was that the entire room would shake when a vehicle would drive by out front. Which was all day and well into the night, then starting again at 6am. And the room was set back from the road. I'm from Southern California, land of earthquakes, and when I say shake, I mean shake. If you are awake early this may not be a problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e.g., ALABAMA

Not as glamous as the pic shows

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Room smelled of chemicals used to install a linulium floor. Had a VERY strong chemical oder. Pub is not attached to Hotel like the picture makes you think, its separated with a different outside entrance and the pub often times closes too early. Hotel staff was nice and friendly and breakfast was really good except it took over 30min after we ordered. All in all, i wont be back, I would stay elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by Emma

Really Disappointing

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
I booked this hotel because it seemed (from its pictures) to be one of the only modern-looking hotels I'd seen in the area within a reasonable price bracket. I came with my partner for a romantic getaway expecting to have a room that was pictured on hotels.com. Despite the staff being friendly, we were told we could not check in even an hour early, and then when our keys were handed to us, they told us we were getting a really nice, "cosy" room. Our room ended up being SO dated & dusty, and we had a double bed with bunk bed overhead. Everything was so old and shabby, and it honestly made me pretty depressed. It was such a disappointment. I wasn't angry so I didn't complain; but I really felt disappointed. The charm and romance of the trip went as soon as we were confronted with the room. While the setting is lovely, I will definitely stay elsewhere if I ever come back. Really wish we'd gotten what we thought we were paying for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable and clean.

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms.
Cons: I think it's fine as it is.
Location: Not much going on the way of a village there, but it is a good middle ground for adventuring and outdoor activities.
When you first drive up, you think it's not the correct hotel, because it looks much different that the photo on the Orbitz Web site. But then we figured out that the photo was taken from a side view and it is the correct place. Staff is wonderful, very helpful and friendly. Although you can tell it's an old building, the public areas are super nice and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Not much going on the way of a village there, but it is a good middle ground for adventuring and outdoor activities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms were very small. Food in Gathering not up to much
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doesnt look anything like the photos

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: The scenery
Cons: Rooms need upgrading. Dirty.
Location: Good location
Paid for superior room. Shown to tiny attic double with lake view (take binoculars). I went to reception who said that when people book superior rooms they give them a double with lake view. I said that our room was definately not a superior room. Was given another room which was bigger but i dont think hotel has superior rooms. Toilet dirty lots of hair left in shower from previous guests! Definately not value for money and dont waste more money booking a superior room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westminster, MD, USA

Good Stay

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Nice hotel, found staff to be friendly and customer oriented.