Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

OK hotel close to everything (small village)

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Get actual queen/king size beds (don't just push them together). Train staff to think about making guest stays more pleasant.
The room was small (funny enough the bathroom was nearly as large as the rest of the room). "King" meant 2 twin beds put together. Carpeting felt worn. Worst of all - the service. We had car trouble on the way in, had to wait 2 hours in the rain for a tow truck. I called to make sure our room would not be given away - was informed they do not practice giving away room (great policy, they did deliver). I asked how late the restaurant would be open since I'll have 2 hungry kids - was told it was open until 8:30pm. When we finally arrived (at 6:30 pm instead of 4), went downstairs to eat, only to be told THEY DON'T HAVE ANY TABLES! Reaction I would have expected "Hey, I'm running late and will be hungry. - No problems sir, and let me make a reservation for you since the restaurant does get full. - Thank you!" Instead had to go to a crowded bar with tired, hungry kids. For a pricey 4-star wannabe hotel in the middle of nowhere - poor service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Loch Ness.

Posted May 22, 2017
Beautiful food, amenities, and service. We were in a garden studio room, which was luxurious, despite being small and outside the hotel, proper. Dinner and breakfast in the Brasserie were first-rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north yorkshire

Beautiful hotel and made some great memories

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very central as a base. We travelled to some fanatastic places. We also liked the staff, the comfortable beds and of course the food.
Cons: We can only think of the wifi. Faultless otherwise.
Location: Of course there is Loch Ness on the doorstep. We drove to Fort William, Kyle of Lochalsh, Skye and Mallaig. Over to Spey Valley and Aviemore.
We stayed at The Lovat for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. Lovely, comfortable hotel which was run by some very helpful and efficient staff. Breakfasts and dinner where fantastic. We ate in different places throughout our stay and the hotel food was definitely the best in comparison. Our only bug bear was that the wifi in the garden room, where we stayed, was poor. We had to go into the hotel to use it. However it's good to switch off from Facebook and the like now and again so we weren't too bothered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place in the Highlands

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Excellent hotel with great staff and a wonderful restaurant in a beautiful setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Northwest

Would stay here again

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great experience Staff very attentive Good location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Graham

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in one of the studios. Perfect for us and our dog.
5 out of 5
by K M

Fabulous and would recommend

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous food and friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ho Chi Minh

Beautiful hotel, lovely view down the loch.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Easy check in. Staff are friendly and helpful. Quickly highlighted all the sights and places to eat in town. Very much enjoyed sitting in the drawing room by the fire and window talking with the locals over a pot of tea and free hotel made cookies. Great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Slightly disappointed

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Well placed and easy to find, the staff were very pleasant.
Cons: Easier heating control and they need to replace the carpet on the stairs, especially as it's one of the first things you notice while at the reception
Location: Explore the area around Loch Ness, it is very beautiful with lovely walks.
The hotel is well placed for exploring Loch Ness but the facilities were rather disappointing, no tea or coffee facilities in the bedroom and the breakfast was very expensive, however much you wanted to eat, ie. a tea and a piece of toast, there was no small/cheap option. It was all lovely and clean but rather tatty and there was no control over the heating in the bedroom, you have to contact reception for that, which I found odd and subsequently coulndn't heat the bath towels to re-use them.